Please select your home edition
Barton Marine 2019 728x90

Slater named NZ Sailor of the Year at Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards

by Yachting New Zealand 8 Nov 2019 13:08 PST 8 November 2019
Dan Slater on his way to winning the 2019 OK Worlds, Wakatere Boating Club © Richard Gladwell /

Former Olympian Dan Slater was the big winner at the annual Volvo Yachting Excellence Awards after scooping the Sailor of the Year trophy tonight.

Slater started the year by finishing on top in a fleet of 110 boats at the OK Dinghy world championships in Auckland and backed it up by being tactician for the winning team at the 12m world championships in England. He was also tactician for the second-placed team at the 8m world championships to round out an outstanding 2019.

The three-time Olympian collected the prestigious Sir Bernard Fergusson Trophy as the Orbit World Travel Sailor of the Year at a gala dinner attended by more than 250 people at the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron.

Promising duo Seb Menzies and Blake McGlashan were named the Volvo Young Sailors of the Year after dominating the fleet to win the boy’s 420 at this year’s youth sailing world championships and the pair were also second at the 420 world championships.

A raft of awards were handed out tonight, from those involved at the highest level like Peter Burling and Blair Tuke, Alex Maloney and Molly Meech, Phil Robertson and Nick Egnot-Johnson through to club volunteers who operate at the grassroots of the sport.

“It’s wonderful to be able to celebrate the brilliant achievements of sailors from all over New Zealand on the world stage,” Yachting New Zealand chief executive David Abercrombie said. “It’s also important to recognise the tremendous efforts of clubs and their volunteers who make the sport possible for thousands of Kiwis.

“Dan has been a consistently high performer for many years and the judges were unanimous in their decision. It’s a fantastic achievement to win two world titles in a year and his success at the OK Dinghy world championships was something he had been working towards for some time.”

“We’re also excited to see what the future holds for Seb and Blake who have been turning out a series of world-beating performances at such a young age.”

Three new awards were handed out tonight – the Lucke Youth Leadership Award, North Sails Sportsmanship Award, and Propspeed Sustainability Award - and a feature of the evening was a panel discussion with Burling and Tuke about Emirates Team New Zealand’s America’s Cup campaign. The pair had earlier picked up a Performance Award.

The 2021 America’s Cup is just one of a number of highlights for sailing in this country over the next couple of years.

“Yachting is in a really good space with healthy clubs and good numbers across the country,” Abercrombie said. “We are looking forward to an exciting two years coming up with the likes of next month’s Hyundai 49er, 49erFX and Nacra 17 world championships, the Tokyo Olympics and America’s Cup.”

2019 Volvo Yachting Excellence Award winners

Orbit World Travel Sailor of the Year: Dan Slater
Volvo Young Sailor of the Year: Seb Menzies & Blake McGlashan
Aon Emerging Talent: Ted Houry
Lucke Youth Leadership Award: Serena Goodall
North Sails Sportsmanship Award: Harry Edwards & Emily Overend
Propspeed Sustainability Award: Wakatere Boating Club
Lawson’s Dry Hills President’s Award: NZL Sailing Trust
Zhik Official of the Year: Ian Clouston

Performance Awards supported by Zhik: Peter Burling & Blair Tuke; Logan Dunning Beck & Oscar Gunn; George Gautrey; Knots Racing (Nick Egnot-Johnson, Sam Barnett, Bradley McLaughlin, Zak Merton & Tim Snedden); Honda Marine (David McDiarmid, Matt Steven & Bradley Collins); Alex Maloney & Molly Meech; Andy Maloney; Sam Meech; Phil Robertson; Dave Shaw; Dan Slater.

Youth Performance Awards supported by Harken: Brayden Hamilton & Pat Morgan; Blake Hinsley & Nicholas Drummond; Ted Houry; Seb Menzies & Blake McGlashan; Helena Sanderson & Jack Honey; Vento Racing (Jordan Stevenson; Mitch Jackson; George Angus & Jake Erson).
Cruising Award supported by Wichard, by Kiwi Yachting: Sara and Josh Tucker.

Service Awards supported by Boating New Zealand: Alastair Burgess, Jocelyn & Nigel Humphreys (Pleasant Point Yacht Club); Paddy Charles (French Bay Yacht Club); Marc Frewin (Howick Sailing Club); Chantal Grass (Panmure Lagoon Sailing Club); Vern Hall (Otago Yacht Club); Colin Lock (Naval Point Club Lyttelton); Johnny Malthus & Simon Novak (Worser Bay Boating Club); Simon Probert (Wakatere Boating Club); Fiona Rist (Manly Sailing Club); Richard Wingfield (Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron); Peter Withall (Pigeon Bay Boating Club).

Related Articles

Yachting NZ creates new path for women in sailing
Yachting NZ's wants to maintain participation through equal opportunities for success. Yachting New Zealand have developed a wide-ranging women and girls in sailing strategy to attract more female participants, retain those already sailing and advance equal opportunities. Posted on 27 Mar
Coach-led racing to replace NZL Sailing Regatta
Regatta cancelled due to concerns about transmission of Covid-19. Yachting New Zealand have made the difficult decision to cancel next weekend's Oceanbridge NZL Sailing Regatta due to the Covid-19 virus but will look to run some coach-led racing instead. Posted on 22 Mar
Covid-19 information for NZ Sailing Clubs
Find all the latest information here and what it might mean for your club. Find all the latest information here about the Covid-19 outbreak and what it might mean for your club, class association, course or regatta. Posted on 22 Mar
Yachting NZ issues COVID-19 guidelines
Major dinghy regattas can continue under COVID-19 guidelines issued by Yachting NZ Yachting New Zealand has issued a note to clubs and classes outlining a framework which will allow several major dinghy regattas to proceed with some changes ashore. Posted on 16 Mar
Olympics 2024: Gearing up for offshore sailing
Top Kiwi sailors weigh in on the new offshore yachting event joining the Olympic program. A mixed two-handed offshore keelboat event has been added onto the programme for the 2024 Olympics but there are still a lot of unknowns, not least of which, what class of boat will be used. Posted on 11 Mar
Tokyo2020: Seven named for Tokyo
Seven sailors selected in four events for Tokyo Seven sailors selected today in the 49er, 49erFX, Nacra 17 and Laser classes for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics Posted on 3 Mar
Laser Worlds: Meech finishes as top Kiwi
The Olympic bronze medallist was eighth and, even then, it wasn't a result he was satisfied with. For a group of sailors who pride themselves on being near the front of the fleet, the Laser world championships in Melbourne did not turn out as hoped for New Zealand's top three sailors. Posted on 16 Feb
49erFX: Injury forces Kiwis out of Worlds
Alex Maloney and Molly Meech have withdrawn from the upcoming 49er, 49erFX and Nacra 17 world champs Alex Maloney and Molly Meech have withdrawn from the upcoming 49er, 49erFX and Nacra 17 world championships in Melbourne after Maloney fractured her foot in training two days ago. Posted on 9 Feb
Father and daughter have the Wright stuff
Father and daughter Greg and Polly Wright make it a family affair at Queen Charlotte YC. It was a family affair at the Zephyr national championships at the Queen Charlotte Yacht Club this week, with Greg Wright claiming his second title and daughter Polly picking up the women's trophy. Posted on 7 Feb
Snow-Hansen and Willcox claim 470 nationals
Two DNC scores cost the pair the overall regatta win but still proved their pace. Paul Snow-Hansen and Dan Willcox claimed another 470 national title at the weekend but a couple of big scores in the middle of their regatta cost them the chance to win the regatta overall. Posted on 7 Feb
Sydney to Auckland 2021 - FOOTERRS Sailing 2019 - FooterGul 2020 FOOTER