Please select your home edition
Hyde Sails 2017 Dinghy Show

17th Royal Langkawi International Regatta - Day 4

by Royal Langkawi Yacht Club 11 Jan 04:02 PST 8-12 January, 2019
17th Royal Langkawi International Regatta - Day 4 © Andy Leong / RLIR 2019

Sailing teams are closer to cementing their overall positions in different classes at the Day Four race of the 17th Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2019, after two races for the day.

The first race of the day took place on a shorter Kuah Harbour race course while the second race was at the gusty West Coast race course - only for the second time ever - along with the scenic Pantai Telaga and Pantai Cenang stretch. The plateau boats did three races in Kuah Harbour only and did not sail on the west course today.

Much drama was there nevertheless, with the sailing teams now and then.

Fugazi Racing managed 43.5 kilometres in just over two hours albeit it being a longer course, finishing faster than its round the island race. On the other hand, Phoenix under IRC2 clashed into the marine police boat (start boat) and its crew escaped unhurt.

Tayfun Koksal, RLIR 2019 Regatta Director said in the Racing Class, it is obvious that Team Hollywood is in firm control as they have won eight races out of eight so far and it appears that they will lift the Prime Minister's Challenge Trophy on the closing day of the regatta tomorrow.

"Unfortunately, IRC 1 contender Char Chan hit a rock yesterday during the around the island race and were stuck for 10 minutes, and later had to retire from the race due to damage to their boat."

"This is such a pity as they are a competitive team and had great potential. Hopefully, they will be back to challenge for this trophy next year. Mata Hari KL Registry stands a good chance to win under its class for the 5th year in a row,'' he said.

The 17th Royal Langkawi International Regatta (RLIR) 2019 is ongoing in Kuah, Kedah between 8 and 12 January 2019.

Organised by the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club (RLYC), the RLIR 2019 has 35 new entrants and the re-emergence of veteran sailors from 8 countries - Australia, United Kingdom, United States of America, Russia, Singapore, Malaysia, Japan, and Thailand.

Malaysia is represented by 19 sailing boats.

Participating teams compete in seven classes such as the Racing Class, IRC 1, IRC 2, Sportsboat, Club Cruising, Multihull, and White Sail.

Trophies and awards include the coveted Prime Minister's Challenge Trophy (Racing Class), the LADA-International Racing Class Challenge Trophy (IRC 1 Class), RLIR-International Racing Class Challenge Trophy (IRC 2 Class), the Commodore's Challenge Cup (Club Cruising Class), Langkawi Sports Trophy (Sportsboat Class), as well as the Malaysia Multihull Challenge Cup (Multihull Class).

RLIR 2019 is organised in partnership with Tourism Malaysia, the Ministry of Youth and Sports Malaysia, the Malaysia Sailing Association and the Langkawi Development Authority (LADA).

Overall standings after Race Day Four for all classes:

Racing Class (Prime Minister's Challenge Trophy)

  • Team Hollywood, skippered by Ray Roberts - score of 7
  • THA72, skippered by Kevin Whitcraft - score of 14
  • SCS Janda Baik, skippered by Mohd Khairul and Shahril Zakaria - score of 26
LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy (IRC 1 class)
  • Mata Hari KL Registry, skippered by Vincent Chan - score of 11
  • MegaZip, skippered by Alexey Mashkin - score of 15
  • East Marine Emagine, skippered by Scott Noel Bradley - score of 21
RLIR-IRC Challenge Trophy (IRC 2 class)
  • APW Endeavour of Whitby, skippered by Stuart Williamson - score of 10
  • Phoenix, skippered by Niels Degenkolw - score of 13
  • The Blue Angel, skippered by Jeremy Camps - score of 17
Commodore's Challenge Cup (Club Cruising class)
  • Marikh, skippered by Hasani Hassan - score of 9
  • Iseulta, skippered by Tristram Denyer - score of 11
  • VG Offshore, skippered by Rama Menon - score of 12
Langkawi Sports Trophy (Sportsboat class)
  • MSA Team, skippered by Muhd Uzzair Amin - score of 10
  • Navy 1, skippered by Harisfabillah Muhamat - score of 16
  • RSYC Team, skippered by Rizal Mahadi Sazli - score of 21
Malaysia Multihull Challenge Cup (Multihull class)
  • Fugazi, skippered by Dan Fidock - score of 9
  • Twin Sharks, skippered by John Newnham - score of 11
  • Allegro, skippered by Bob McIntyre - score of 21
White Sail
  • Chantique, skippered by A'dale Adham Ayahudin - score of 6
  • Eveline, skippered by Dato' Richard Curtis - score of 9
  • Linda, skippered by Woodrow Jack Christensen - score of 14
For more information, kindly visit

Related Articles

Royal Langkawi International Regatta overall
Team Hollywood lift the Prime Minister's Challenge Trophy The Tourism Malaysia Race Day Five for the 17th Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2019 saw Team Hollywood lifting the Prime Minister's Challenge Trophy, under the Racing Class today. Posted on 12 Jan
Royal Langkawi International Regatta day 3
Wind conditions in favour of sailing teams Wind conditions got even better at 17 knots for sailing teams for the Day Three race - the much anticipated around the island course - which offers a spectacular view of the surrounding islands and unique rock formations. Posted on 10 Jan
Royal Langkawi International Regatta day 2
Team Hollywood keeping up excellent performance Wind conditions were perfect at 13-16 knots, and Principal Race Officer of the 17th Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2019 Simon James had decided to set up the race course along the east of Langkawi Island. Posted on 9 Jan
Royal Langkawi International Regatta day 1
Sunny blue skies and favourable wind conditions Emerging victorious in the Racing Class was non-other than Team Hollywood, skippered by Ray Roberts - at the top spot with a score of two, and the team won both of the races, they participated in. Posted on 8 Jan
Royal Langkawi International Regatta Documentary
Defending champion THA72 won the Prime Minister's Challenge Trophy The regatta saw a very tight race between Mata Hari, skippered by Vincent Chan, a regular regatta participant and Char Chan, skippered by Kazuki Kihara in the IRC1 class. Posted on 31 Jan 2018
16th Royal Langkawi International Regatta - Day 5
The regatta saw a very tight race between Mata Hari and Char Chan The RLIR-IRC2 Challenge Trophy went to defending champion Phoenix. Old Pulteney Blue Angel settled for second place, ahead of RSYC Nijinsky. Posted on 13 Jan 2018
16th Royal Langkawi International Regatta - Day 4
No change in the IRC1 class with Mata Hari securing the first place again ahead of Char Chan Gerhard Pils' Fetz Ma, the smallest boat in the Multihull class, crossed the start line first. Fetz Ma was able to retain the lead and came first in the class, followed by Tantrum Too and Allegro. Fetz Ma is now topping the table after five races. Posted on 12 Jan 2018
16th Royal Langkawi International Regatta - Day 3
This race did not happen last year due to unfavorable wind conditions Salleh Ahmad's Uranus took top honours today in the racing class winning on corrected time by a mere 23 seconds ahead of THA72, Zuhal and Alive, the only class who finished the full course. Posted on 11 Jan 2018
16th Royal Langkawi International Regatta - Day 2
The favorable wind conditions allowed a second race in Kuah Harbour All classes started racing at Kuah Harbour between 10.25am and 10.45am with the wind picking up to eight knots gusting 12 making the sailing conditions fairly good on the second morning. Posted on 11 Jan 2018
16th Royal Langkawi International Regatta - Day 1
THA72 took top honours ahead of Uranus and Zuhal Newcomer Char Chan from Japan skippered by Kazuki Kihara took line honours in the IRC1 class followed by Mata Hari, Prime Factor and Insanity. Meraki did not finish the race. Posted on 10 Jan 2018
SOUTHERN-SPARS-MISSY-FURLING-BOOMS-728-X-90 BottomMarine Resources BOTTOMP&B Autumn Sale 2018 - Footer