Please select your home edition
Barton Marine 2019 728x90

2020 CCA awards to Australian, French, British and American sailors

by Cruising Club of America 10 Feb 2021 01:42 PST
Novara in a high latitude anchorage © Andrew Cassels

An extraordinary group of sailors have been named winners of the Cruising Club of America most prestigious annual awards: Christian Charalambous, of Australia, receives the Rod Stephens Seamanship Trophy; Calypso Romero and Adrien Koller, of Ushuaia, Argentina, the Young Voyager Award; and Stephen Brown, of Carleon, South Wales, the Far Horizons Award. In January, the recipient of the CCA's iconic Blue Water Medal was announced as Randall Reeves, of Oakland, California.

Christian Charalambous, of Sydney, Australia earns the Rod Stephens Seamanship Trophy for heroic actions after the yacht Showtime inverted upon losing its keel on a very rough night in the Tasman Sea. Aboard the boat as one of its delivery crewmembers, Charalambous dove under the boat despite the dangerous wave conditions and used a knife to free the life raft, thereby saving the entire crew.

An adventuresome French couple, Calypso Romero and Adrien Koller, are the 2020 recipients of the Young Voyager Award. Established in 2016, the award recognizes "a young sailor who has made one or more exceptional voyages." Only in their early 30s, Romero and Koller have already made multiple exceptional voyages in the last eight years, taking in challenging high-latitude waters, including Antarctica, and visiting places seldom reached by bluewater sailors.

Stephen Brown, a citizen of the UK and a member of the CCA, receives the 2020 Far Horizons Medal in recognition of his five-year series of cruises. Sailing aboard his current expedition yacht, Novara, an AeroRig Besteaver 60, Brown sailed the Northwest Passage, Alaska, the Chilean Channels, South Georgia, Antarctica, and returned to Maine, completing a circumnavigation of the Americas. Brown was a mountaineer, climber, and "land" adventurer before becoming a sailor, and included in his climbing are first ascents in the Himalayas. Sailing came to him in much the same way it came to H.W. Tillman, as an adventurous way to approach more remote, unclimbed peaks.

In a first for the CCA, a Special Recognition Award has been presented to another sailing organization, the Salty Dawg Sailing Association, for its contributions to the cruising community during a period of international border closings in 2020. Using their management structure with a willingness to assist sailors who became isolated, the Salty Dawgs made it possible for more than 180 boats to sail safely from the Caribbean to North America in the spring of 2020.

Simon and Sally Currin, of Powys, UK, are the recipients of the CCA's 2020 Royal Cruising Club Trophy, awarded to a member of the Club for "the most interesting cruise of singular merit and moderate duration." The couple spent more than a month cruising on the rarely visited Scoresby Sound, Greenland, above 70N.

Alan K. Forsythe, of Kent, Washington, is the winner of the CCA's 2020 Charles H. Vilas Literary Prize for his article in the club's Voyages magazine, "The Essex and the Easterling: Two Whale Attacks in the Pacific."

Peter L. Chandler, of Portland, Maine, has been named winner of the CCA's 2020 Richard S. Nye Trophy, awarded to a club member for his 20 years of service as the CCA Treasurer. John "Jay" Gowell and Jeffrey S. Wisch received CCA Commodore's Awards for their extraordinary service to the club this year as Newport Bermuda Race chairman and CCA Fleet Surgeon, respectively.

The 2020 CCA awards will be presented at a members-only virtual awards ceremony on March 7.

Related Articles

Randall Reeves on his successful Figure 8 Voyage
Solo and non-stop around the Americas (to port) and Antarctica (to starboard) For most singlehanded blue-water cruising sailors, crossing the Altantic or sailing alone to Hawaii would be an adventure of a lifetime. Not so for Randall Reeves. Posted on 8 Apr 2021
First Virtual CCA Awards ceremony
Honoring a pantheon of greats In early March in a normal year, Cruising Club of America members visit the New York Yacht Club in Manhattan for a weekend of meetings featuring an Awards dinner to recognize more than half a dozen worthy sailors as recipients of the club's major awards. Posted on 29 Mar 2021
2020 Newport Bermuda Race cancelled
The biennial race was due to start on June 19 The Bermuda Race Organizing Committee (BROC) has cancelled the 2020 Newport Bermuda Race due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The biennial race, founded in 1906, had 200 entries and was due to start for the 52nd time on June 19. Posted on 24 Mar 2020
Annual Cruising Club of America Awards at NYYC
The gala awards presentation took place at the New York Yacht Club The Cruising Club of America recognizes outstanding achievement internationally in making its annual awards, a tradition dating back nearly a century. Recipients typically comprise both CCA members and non-members, and this year was no exception. Posted on 10 Mar 2020
Celebrating offshore success and the CCA's awards
Latest Sail-World newsletter from David Schmidt in the USA The Cruising Club of America's annual awards are a great opportunity to celebrate offshore sailing in the depths of winter. Posted on 25 Feb 2020
Two Golden Globe Race sailors honoured
Recognised by the Cruising Club of America The Cruising Club of America awarded GGR 2018-2019 winner Jean-Luc Van den Heede with the 2019 Blue Water Medal for his achievements in single-handed sailing, notably six solo circumnavigations. Posted on 19 Feb 2020
CCA announces winner of 2019 Blue Water Medal
Six-time solo circumnavigator to receive the Cruising Club of America's most prestigious medal Jean-Luc Van Den Heede is the recipient of the Cruising Club of America's 2019 Blue Water Medal, awarded for his achievements in single-handed sailing. Posted on 13 Feb 2020
Cruising Club of America names award recipients
Bruce Halabisky and Tiffany Loney, Ellen and Seth Leonard, and Stan Honey The Cruising Club of America (CCA) today announced the 2018 recipients of the international organization's most prestigious awards, including Bruce Halabisky and Tiffany Loney of Orcas Island, Wash., Stan Honey of Palo Alto, Calif. Posted on 3 Mar 2019
Lighthouse Trophies and 100-plus other awards
A diverse, multi-generational group of sailors awarded The St. David's Lighthouse Trophy, Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy, and 100-plus more awards were presented to conclude the 2018 Newport Bermuda Race. Posted on 25 Jun 2018
51st Newport Bermuda Race winners named
The division winners of the 2018 Newport Bermuda Race were finalized The division winners of the 2018 Newport Bermuda Race were finalized today with the arrival of the remainder of the fleet, after a slow but strategically challenging race. Posted on 22 Jun 2018
Marine Resources 2022 - FOOTERHenr-Lloyd 2021 For the love of foul weather FOOTERASB21-SW-1456x180-Banner-Bottom-2