Please select your home edition
Hella Dual Colour Floodlights - Top 728 x 90px - 1 jpg

Philosopher's magic in Maria Island Race

by Peter Campbell 18 Nov 2018 21:52 PST 18 November 2018
Philosopher, IRC and AMS winner of the TasPorts Maria Island Race over the weekend © Peter Campbell

Eleven nautical miles down the River Derwent from the finish of the 180 nautical miles Maria Island ocean race early Sunday morning it looked like a potential winning day for two of the smaller boats in the fleet, Off-Piste and Footloose.

Rounding the Iron Pot, the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania's race tracker computer placed Paul Einoder's Beneteau Oceanis 34 Off-Piste provisionally first on corrected times in both AMS and PHS categories.

Footloose, Stewart Geeves' Young 88 was second in IRC, with Philosopher, Shaun Tiedemann's Sydney 36cr, looking the likely IRC winner after a finish fourth in fleet in the early hours of the morning.

Mike Pritchard's Cookson 50, Oskana had already taken line honours, six hours earlier, pulling award from Greg Pritchard's modified Farr 40, 2Unlimited, and Filepro (Tim Gadsby) in Storm Bay and up the Derwent...before the wind began to die.

Fast, or rather slow-forward, and a near windless Sunday morning on the Derwent put paid to the hopes of both Off-Piste and Footloose. Off Long Beach, Sandy Bay, Off-Piste was literally sailed backwards – under spinnaker.

It was like watching grass grow, in this case seagrass as the two boats were just 50 metres offshore from the Long Beach restaurant of that name!

By the time the two crossed the finish line off Castray Esplanade in late morning, their handicap positions had crashed...the tracker showing Off-Piste dropping to 5th on AMS and PHS, 10th on IRC. Footloose had dropped to 10th on AMS, eighth on IRC, sixth on PHS.

The end result was a fine double victory for Philosopher and her crew of Sam Tiedemann, Tom Stearnes, Nicholas Wellard, Alec Bailey, Lewis Noye and owner Shaun Tiedemann.

Philosopher won IRC and AMS and placed second under PHS, owner Tiedemann commenting "Awesome crew effort!"

Philosopher's fine performance augers well for her major campaigns this summer: the Launceston to Hobart Race in late December and the Australian Yachting Championships on Port Phillip in January.

Philosopher won the premier IRC category from Whistler (David Aplin) and Filepro (Tim Gadsby), first and second were the same in AMS, with third placing going to Ultimate Challenge (Peter Jenkins).

Likewise for another L2H entrant, Filepro, the 1993 Sydney Hobart winner when named Micropay Cuckoo's Nest, which won PHS from Philosopher and Ultimate Challenge.

Oskana's line honours effort was an impressive preparation for its tilt at this year's Melbourne to Hobart Westcoaster and also for David Aplin's Whistler which is also contesting that race. Whistler finished second in both IRC and AMS in the Maria Island Race and should be a strong contender for top handicap honours for the Westcoaster.

A fleet of 25 has entered the Riversdale Estate Wines Launceston to Hobart race which starts on 27 December.

This was the 71st Maria Island Race, from around Tasmania's rugged south-east coast to the historic island off Orford, and return to Hobart. The return leg replicates the last 90 nautical miles of both the Sydney Hobart and Launceston to Hobart Race.

Related Articles

TasPorts Women's Keelboat Regatta
DSS crew take out Hobart Combined Clubs event for ladies Skipper Felicity Allison and crew Jill Abel, Jacinta Cooper and Emma Hooper representing the Derwent Sailing Squadron took out the annual TasPorts Women's Keelboat Regatta in March 2022. Posted on 10 Mar
Bruny Island Race 2022 at Royal YC of Tasmania
Ed Psaltis sailed his Sydney 36 Midnight Rambler to the win Midnight Rambler has once again stamped her dominance on the off-shore sailing scene in Hobart with a win in the IRC and AMS rating divisions of Saturday's Bruny Island Race. Posted on 14 Feb
Combined Clubs Harbour Series Hobart Races 5 & 6
The series is going down to the wire with only one race day left in the program Match racing from the Melges and some fancy footwork from Footloose were the highlights of racing in the Combined Clubs Harbour Series on Saturday. Posted on 8 Feb
Competition hots up in Combined Clubs Series
Hobart's racers set for race five on Saturday Hobart's Combined Clubs fleet will take to the water on Saturday for the second last day of the Harbour Series and the leading teams will be fighting it out to consolidate their spots in the point score. Posted on 4 Feb
Hobart Combined Clubs Harbour Series Races 3 & 4
Pressure mounts in Intrigue and Midnight Rambler contest While the world's cricket fans were focused on the Ashes at Blundstone arena, Midnight Rambler (Ed Psaltis) and Intrigue (David Calvert) were locked in their own fierce battle in Group 1 of the Combined Clubs Harbour Sailing Series on Saturday. Posted on 18 Jan
Hobart Combined Clubs Harbour Series update
Ballard, from the Bellerive Yacht Club, credits his success to the depth of experience onboard. Mark Ballard's 42 South is in a commanding position in Division Two of the Combined Clubs Harbour Series in Hobart leading on both AMS and PHS handicaps with two race days left in the series. Posted on 13 Jan
Close finish in the TasPorts Maria Island Race
Brent McKay's Jazz Player took the gun The first three boats in the TasPorts Maria Island Race crossed the finishing line at Castray Esplanade soon after midnight on Sunday morning within half an hour after a shade over 29 hours of close racing. Posted on 14 Nov 2021
Hobart Combined Clubs Summer Pennant Race 2
Gary Smith's Fork In The Road returns to her winning ways Gary Smith's Fork In The Road returned to her winning ways in race 2 of the Combined Clubs Summer Pennant on Saturday, taking out the PHS Division in Group 1. Posted on 7 Nov 2021
Hobart Combined Clubs Summer Pennant Race 1
A course that allowed the competitors to stretch their legs The Combined Clubs Summer Pennant kicked off on Saturday with the first race in the Long Race Series, conducted by the Derwent Sailing Squadron. Posted on 10 Oct 2021
Tasmanian Dragon Championship preview
The elegance class will be on show on the River Derwent this weekend The elegance of the International Dragon Class will be on show on the River Derwent this weekend as crews compete in the Tasmanian International Dragon Class Championship 2021. Posted on 9 Jul 2021
Henri-Lloyd 2022 August Summer Sale - SW FOOTERVaikobi 2021 Boots - FOOTERCyclops 2022 May FOOTER