Please select your home edition

J/105 Midwinter Championship - Terry McLaughlin earns advantage

by J105 on 8 Mar 2014
Day 1 of the J/105 Midwinter Championship - J/105 Midwinter Championship John Lacy
Terry McLaughlin, recently named Sail Canada’s Rolex Sailor of the Year, has taken the lead after day one of the J/105 Midwinter Championship hosted by Lakewood Yacht Club in Seabrook, Texas. Sailing Avici with Paul Parsons, Kevin Taylor, Jeff Cooke, Emmett Dickheiser and Monica Parsons, McLaughlin won three of the day’s five races, and has a point total of 10. Locals Bill Lakenmacher on Radiance and Uzi Ozeri on Infinity hold the next two spots, with 15 and 20 points, respectively.

Winds on Galveston Bay held at a steady 10-16 knots throughout Friday. McLaughlin started the event with a bullet, as Greg Turman’s Horny Toad placed second, and Bee Bednar’s Stinger third. Avici again took first in the next contest, while Lakenmacher and Ozeri moved up to the silver and bronze positions. Mark Young’s Killer Rabbit earned the victory in race three, as again Lakenmacher and Ozeri rounded out the top three. McLaughlin returned to the highest mark in race four, followed by Young and Bednar. The closing battle was won by Lakenmacher, as McLaughlin settled for second and Ozeri for third.

Racing continues through Sunday.

TOG18_660x82Zhik 2018 Dongfeng 728x90 BOTTOMRS Sailing BOTTOM