Please select your home edition
Naiad/Oracle Supplier

Flying Dutchman World Championship prizegiving

by Richard Phillips on 2 Oct 2012
2012 Flying Dutchman World Championships Richard Phillips
At the 2012 Flying Dutchman World Championship, the final race (Race 9) was sailed in superb Santa Cruz sailing conditions with sunshine and 16 knots of wind. The race saw several changes in the top ten positions.

After racing the sailors, organisers and volunteers celebrated in the Championship Marquee.

Tim Sayles IFDCO US Class President welcomed everybody and thanked the many people who had helped make the Championship a success.

Charlie Roskosz (Regatta Chairman and an ex Commodore of the Santa Cruz Yacht Club) also paid tribute to the 60+ Santa Cruz Yacht Club volunteers and others who had assisted.

The members of the Measurement Team and Jury were given mementos as were others who had made special contributions to the event.

Alberto Barenghi (IFDCO President) presented the Santa Cruz Yacht Club with a half model of an FD in recognition and appreciation by the FD Class of the Club’s hosting of the FD World Championship.

Prizes were awarded to the Trophy winners and the top 10 boats overall by the Race Officer - Beau Vrolyk, IFDCO VP Championships - Jan Lechler, IFDCO President - Alberto Barenghi and IFDCO VP Technical - Peter Hinrichsen.

András Domokos(World Champion crew) profusely thanked everybody for a wonderful event.

Final Overall Results after Race 9 net of two discards:

1st Szabolcs Majthényi and András Domokos - HUN 70 - 15 pts
2nd Enno Krammer and Ard Geelkerken - NED 26 - 18 pts
3rd Kay-Uwe Lüdtke/Kai Schäfers - GER 88 - 21 pts
4th Nicola and Francesco Vespasiani - ITA 4 - 34 pts
5th Andrew McKee and Mathew Bismark - NZL 111 - 47 pts
6th Peggy Bahr/Torsten Bahr - GER 19 - 52 pts
7th Killian Konig and Johannes Brack - GER 113 - 54pts
8th Edward Cox and Peter Bevis - AUS 7 - 56pts
9th Ralph Jambor and Jens Schreiber - GER 135 - 60pts
10th Andras Suli and David Papp - HUN 13 - 60pts

Winners of the Mexican Hat:

Team with lowest points with no discards

Szabolcs Majthényi and András Domokos - HUN 70

First Woman:

Peggy Bahr - crew Torsten Bahr - GER 19 - (sixth Overall)

Winners of the 100+ Trophy:

Total age of helm + crew over 100 years

Paul Scoffin and Pavel Ruzicka - NZL 145 - (14th Overall)

Winners of Pizzorno Trophy:

Top team with helm under 26 years old

Nicola and Francesco Vespasiani - ITA4 - (fourth overall)

The next FD World Championship will be hosted by the Spartacus Yacht Club, Balatonfoldvar, Hungary from 24 May to 1 June 2014 - more details, click Flying Dutchman Worlds website

Nebo 660x82 1Fever-Tree 660x82Zhik 2018 Hyeres 728x90 BOTTOM