Please select your home edition
Ocean Elements 2018

Derwent Sailing Squadron Racing - Doctor Who still winning

by Peter Campbell on 14 Nov 2010
Doctor Who - Derwent Sailing Squadron Racing Andrea Francolini Photography
Derwent Sailing Squadron Racing - Twenty years ago this December, Hobart racing yacht Doctor Who and her owner Roger Jackman, added their names to ocean racing history when the yacht became only the second handicap winner of the Sydney Hobart Race under the then new IMS rating system.

No other Tasmanian yacht has done so well under handicap in the ocean classic since Doctor Who’s IMS division win in 1990.

Today, Doctor Who showed she is still a most competitive boat by winning Division 1 of the Derwent Sailing Squadron’s pennant race on the Derwent.

Back in 1990, Doctor Who also placed 11th overall in the IOR division, the then rating system that determined the Overall Winner of the race and winner of the Tattersalls Cup.

IOR and IMS have long since been replaced by the current IRC system, and Doctor Who win’s today was determined under the PHS handicap system, an arbitrary handicap as against a measured rating system. For DSS pennant racing, results are calculated on PHS, IRC and the more recently introduced AMS system.

Today, Doctor Who took Division 1 PHS from Jeff Cordell’s Host Plus Executive and Don Calvert’s Intrigue, which won under IRC handicaps from Dump Truck (Edward Fader) and Sally Rattle’s Archie. Under AMS handicaps, the results saw a win for Invincible (Harold Clark) from Intrigue and Dump Truck.

Division 1 boats sailed a long harbour course, while the one-design classes contested two windward/leeward courses and the cruiser/racer divisions sailed a course around river marks in a 10-15 knot east-south-easterly breeze.

There were two winners in the Farr 40s, with War Games (Wayne Banks-Smith) getting the gun in the first race by 22 seconds from Voodoo Chile (Andrew Hunn). The order changed in race two with Voodoo Chile beating War Games by 1 minute 40 seconds.

Champion helmsman Nick Rogers had two wins in the International Dragon class with Karabos IX, as did Storm Petrel (Nick Males) in the International J24 class.

In the 9m class, Footloose, skippered by Steward Geeves, won both line and handicap honours, while Innovator (Ian Smith) achieved the same result in Division 3. Division 2 saw Mem (Peter Boutchard) take line honours but relegated to second on corrected time by third to finish Wings Three (Peter Haros).

SOUTHERN-SPARS-OFFICIAL-SUPPLIER-52-SS728-X-90 BottomZhik 2018 Kollition 728x90 BOTTOMVaikobi 2019 - Footer 3

Related Articles

Hempel World Cup Series Genoa day 4
Hat-trick puts Dutch 49erFX team in pole position Odile van Aanholt and Marieke Jongens (NED) snapped up a hat trick of race wins in the 49erFX to propel themselves into pole position at the Hempel World Cup Series event in Genoa, Italy.
Posted today at 5:52 pm
IMOCA annual general meeting: a thriving class
Antoine Mermod was reappointed as President The IMOCA class annual general meeting was held in Lorient on Tuesday 16th April in the presence of the skippers and their representatives. It was an opportunity to look at the measures that have been taken and to talk about current matters
Posted today at 5:04 pm
Meet the Clipper Race skippers: Seumas Kellock
He will race around the world for the second time With all eleven Clipper 2019-20 Race Skippers now revealed, it's time to find out more about them as individuals.
Posted today at 4:00 pm
Rooster Zest RS400 Sprints at Queen Mary
Six races were run with no place safe from front to back Day 1 of the Rooster Zest Southern tour sprints started off with quite light winds and some rain clouds popping around the course. A M-shaped course right up against the windward side of the reservoir to keep things interesting.
Posted today at 2:53 pm
707 Galbraith Edinburgh Cup at Port Edgar
Familiar faces and new contenders Sixteen 707s descended on the Forth for the 2019 edition of the Edinburgh Cup, kindly hosted by Port Edgar YC and sponsored by Galbraith. Due to popular demand this season opener for the 707 Traveller Series was extended to a full weekend regatta.
Posted today at 11:54 am
RS800 Rooster National Tour at Stokes Bay
Never mind Game of Thrones Despite winter returning for the weekend, a mighty fleet of 22 RS800s braved the cold south easterly wind and headed out into the angry jaws of the Solent for the first race on Saturday.
Posted today at 11:21 am
'This is a special race'
The Ocean Race means so much to New Zealand Kiwi Race veteran Tony Rae on working with Bianca Cook's NZ-flagged campaign – and why The Ocean Race means so much to New Zealand.
Posted today at 9:27 am
Allen Brothers gains ISO 9001 accreditation
Recognition for British company from the United Kingdom Accreditation Service The UK's leading manufacturer of performance sailing hardware, Allen Brothers, has recently undergone an audit to gain ISO 9001 certification, and as a result, the British company now has accreditation.
Posted today at 8:00 am
Etchells Southern Area Championship
A closely fought event in Cowes On the weekend of the 13th and 14th April, the Cowes Etchells fleet competed in the Royal Thames Yacht Club's Southern Area Championships, an excellently run and closely fought over regatta.
Posted today at 6:44 am
Antigua Classic Yacht Regatta: Ready about
Thirteen nations with oceans of blue water between them The 2019 fleet is in, representing thirteen nations with oceans of blue water between them. Every boat making its way to the contest has a story, some of which we've yet to hear.
Posted today at 6:25 am