Please select your home edition

Northland duo dominate NZ Javelin Nationals

by Antje Muller on 9 Feb 2015
Phlipnhel reaching for the finish Takapuna Boating Club
In a range of conditions the Javelin Skiffs fought hard for the title of National Champion in Takapuna this weekend. Current Sanders Cup holders Phil McNeil and Craig Gilberd won all eight races in an undisputable display of skill.  

It did not look promising on Friday when racing was abandoned due to heavy winds, but the race committee team from the Takapuna Boating Club managed to hold eight races in a range of heavy to light conditions.

The fleet was very close together and every place was hard fought for.

Congratulations to our new National Champions Phil McNeil and Craig Gilberd from Northland. In second place were father and son team Ross and Colin Shanks who are now holding the record of winning the John Long Memorial Trophy the most times. Tied on same points in third place came David Brown and David Feek from Horowhenua Sailing Club. Best first-time skipper of the contest was Dara Watters who was putting Blundetbus on the right side of many of the shifts with Hamish Norton on the trapeze. The prestigious DFL Trophy went to brother and sister Antje and Kai Müller from Germany.

The fleet thanks the volunteers of the hosting club for putting on a great event.

Insun - AC ProgramYachtspot J121 660x82Kiwi Baltic - 660 - NZ Only