Please select your home edition
Hyde Sails 2017 Dinghy Show

Terry McLaughlin named Rolex Sailor of the Year 2013

by Sail Canada on 4 Mar 2014
2013 Rolex Sailor of the Year ~ Terry McLaughlin & RCYC ~ NYYC Invitational Team Sail Canada / Voile Canada
Sail Canada would like to congratulate Terry McLaughlin on claiming the most prestigious award in Canadian sailing, the Rolex Sailor of the Year for 2013. It was a night of celebration for Terry and friends as he celebrates the 30-year anniversary of his Olympic silver medal with Flying Dutchman crew Evert Bastet. Evert was thrilled to be in attendance saying, 'Terry is always proud to fly the Canadian flag and sail for Canada.'

McLaughlin - 'It was a great honor to be nominated with such fine Canadian Sailors. Congratulations to John, Jackie and Al, your achievements over the last year were fantastic, and we all deserved to be here.'

Executive Director of Sail Canada, Paddy Boyd - 'The Sail Canada 2013 Sailor of the Year event is a tribute to extraordinary endeavour by Canadians involved in sailing activity. It is important to recall the great contributions to Canadian sailing, whether through the individual brilliance of Al Clarke, Laser Masters World Champion or the team contributions represented by Sailor of the Year Terry McLaughlin, skipper of the successful RCYC Team at the New York Invitational, Volunteer of the Year Evert Bastet as leader of the group who ran the Canada Games regatta, and Skipper's Plan Team of the Year, John McRoberts and Jackie Gay, bronze medallist at the IFDS Worlds.

Congratulations to all of the finalists and award winners this past year! We look forward to celebrating new achievements in 2014!??

Rolex Finalists were Al Clark, and Team John McRoberts and Jackie Gay.

Skippers' Plan Female Athlete of the Year:?Isabella Bertold
Skippers' Plan Team of the Year: John McRoberts and Jackie Gay
Volunteer of the Year: Evert Bastet
Coach of the Year: ?Rob Frost
City of Kingston Regatta of the Year: Canadian Optimist Dinghy Championships, Royal St. Lawrence Yacht Club
Bill Burk Youth Elite Memorial: Male - Sandy Beatty; Female - Corinne Peters
Gerry Roufs Trophy: Eric Holden
Instructor of the Year: Jenn Grierson
Marvin McDill Memorial Award: Jacob Chaplin Saunders and Graeme Chaplin Saunders
Nathan Cowan Memorial Award:?Sam Gustin and Ian Woodbury??
William Abbott Sr. Trophy; ?Sail Training Program of the Year: Nepean Sailing Club
Recreation Event of the Year: ?Sail All - Lunenburg Yacht Club

Please contact for more Sail Canada
Jeanneau AUS SO349 - FOOTERBandG AUS Zeus3 FOOTERRaymarine AUS 2018 Aug - Axiom - Footer

Related Articles

Interview with Steve Cockerill and Kate Sargent
Rooster Sailing win DAME award for the Rooster Exofleece We talked to Steve Cockerill and Kate Sargent at the METS marine trade fair in Amsterdam, where Rooster Sailing have just won a DAME award in the clothing category for the Rooster Exofleece.
Posted today at 3:00 pm
Phil Robertson to skipper China SailGP
SailGP today unveiled the fifth team in its new global racing league – the China SailGP Team SailGP today unveiled the fifth team in its new global racing league – the China SailGP Team – with a bold ambition to drive the growth of high-performance sailing in China. The China SailGP Team takes to the water in February 2019
Posted today at 7:55 am
18ft Skiff Spring Champs - Races 5 and 6
Spring Championship 2018 Race 5 and 6 - Chris Webb Memorial Trophy - 3 Buoys There were two races sailed on Sunday in the Spring Championship for the Chris Webb Memorial Trophy. Sailing in 13-16kts ENE both races were dominated by end to end winners - Asko in Race 5 and Finport Finance in Race 6.
Posted today at 7:31 am
Standard entry cut-off extended
For the Sydney Short Ocean Racing Championship The deadline for standard entries to close in Middle Harbour Yacht Club's (MHYC) annual Sydney Short Ocean Racing Championship (SSORC) has been extended to Friday 16 November, with late entries extended to midnight on Wednesday 21November
Posted today at 6:42 am
Race record for IDEC Sport at 2018 Route du Rhum
Seven days, 14 hours, 21 minutes Francis Joyon has set a new race record and won the 2018 Route du Rhum, in what was the closest finish since the race began in 1978.
Posted on 12 Nov
Route du Rhum-Destination Guadeloupe day 9
François Gabart says he's happy with his second-placed finish At the moment, François Gabart says he's happy with his finish at Pointe-à-Pitre and to have been able to battle to the end, even though Francis Joyon stole the victory by taking the lead at the finishing line, just seven minutes ahead of him.
Posted on 12 Nov
Emirates Team NZ are first team in Cup Village
Long the Cinderella of America's Cup teams, Emirates Team NZ have now made it to the glass palace After years of being cooped up in a grimy, gritty base, America's Cup victors Emirates Team New Zealand finally have a sparkling new home on Auckland's waterfront. Suzanne McFadden takes a look inside
Posted on 12 Nov
Joyon sets course record in the Route du Rhum
Joyon sets course record in the Route du Rhum–Destination Guadeloupe France's Francis Joyon (62), sailing aboard IDEC Sport, crossed the Route du Rhum–Destination Guadeloupe's finishing line seven minutes and eight seconds ahead of Francois Gabart (FRA; 35), to set a new course record.
Posted on 12 Nov
Optimist Asian/Oceanian Championship practice day
Teams arrive in Myanmar Yesterday marked the opening day of the 2018 Optimist Asian and Oceanian Championship, hosted by the Ngwe Saung Yacht Club and Resort with the support of the Myanmar Yachting Federation.
Posted on 12 Nov
QLD 13 & 16ft Skiff State Championships heat 3 & 4
Mighty Mite took out the day with Esprit Electrical winning on handicap Heat 3 and 4 of the Queensland State Championships was raced on Sunday at Darling Point in glamour conditions. RW retail managed to take out the double win in the 16s with Fire Stopping keeping them on their toes close behind.
Posted on 12 Nov