Rolex Sydney Hobart: BNC penalised, Min River wins Tattersall Cup
by Richard Gladwell/Sail-World.com/nz 30 Dec 16:59 PST

BNC running to the finish of the Rolex Sydney Hobart Race - December 30, 2025 © CYCATV
The protest by the Race Committee versus BNC – my::NET / LEON following the 2025 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race has been upheld by the International Jury. A time penalty has been imposed which is greater than BNC's provisional win margin.
According to a subsequent comment by the Race Committee Chairman, Min River withdrew their protest after they became aware of the race Committee's intention to place the matter before the International Jury.
The International Jury has imposed a time penalty of one hour and five minutes (1hr 5min) to the elapsed time against BNC – my::NET / LEON.
In assessing the penalty, the Jury has ensured that any possible performance gains are accounted for and a proportionate penalty for a rule breach is also applied.
The result of the protest and penalty means Min River is now the Overall winner of the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.
The full decision is here:
ROLEX SYDNEY HOBART YACHT RACE 2025 INTERNATIONAL JURY DECISION HEARING 2
CASE 3 – Race Committee v BNC My Net Leon (FRA 39337)
Parties:
Lee Goddard representing the Race Committee
Michel Quintin and Yann Rigal representing the boat BNC My Net Leon
Hearing Date: 31 December 2025
1. Procedural Matters:
1.1. The Race Committee received a report from BNC My Net Leon (‘Leon’) declaring that it did not comply with ‘art 55.3 of RRS on the last 2NM downwind towards finishing line’.
1.2. From this report, the Race Committee promptly informed them of their intention to protest and lodged a protest against Leon.
2. Facts Found:
2.1. On the last 2 nm of the 628 nm race, Leon set and used its A1.5 asymmetric spinnaker, with the tack connected to the boat’s bowsprit and a spar connected to the sheet at one end and the mast at the other end. The spar exerted outward pressure on the sheet at a point from which, with the boat upright, a vertical line would fall outside the hull or deck.
2.2. Leon only set the sail in this manner in the last 2 nm of the race.
2.3. Compared to the previous 2 nm Leon sailed before this incident the boat gained 3 to 5 minutes compared to sailing in compliance with the rules.
2.4. The image was broadcast, showing the way the sail was set. This photo was taken of Leon in the Derwent River.
3. Conclusions and Rules:
3.1. The spar is a device that exerting outward pressure on the sheet of the spinnaker. This breaks rule 55.3 and none of the exceptions to this rule apply.
3.2. The Jury is satisfied that the boat did not deliberately break rule 55.3. This is based on the report made and the evidence presented, re-enforced by the fact that the crew set the sail in this manner, in full knowledge that press and onlookers would be watching.
3.3. Sailing Instruction 21.1 allows the International Jury the option to apply a discretionary scoring or time penalty in lieu of disqualification for an infringement of rule 55.3. Satisfied that the boat did not deliberately break a rule, the Jury has decided to apply a discretionary penalty.
3.4. In assessing the penalty, the Jury has ensured that any possible performance gains are accounted for and a proportionate penalty for a rule breach is also applied.
3.5. The Jury is satisfied that the circumstances of this case are comparable to a boat breaking a rule of Part 2 and taking a 1 hour penalty as detailed in SI 20.2.
4. Decisions:
4.1. 1 hour and 5 minutes is to be added to the elapsed time of Leon.
Decision Published: 10:50, 31 December 2025.
David Tillett AM AUS NJ (Chair), Jamie Sutherland NZL IJ, Philippe Mazard FRA IJ, Russell Green NZL IU, Richard Slater AUS IJ/IU