Please select your home edition
Sailing Raceboats 2016/17 RS Feva 728x90

Team Aschenbrenner wins EUROSAF Match Racing Open Europeans

by Dan Ibsen on 15 Aug 2016
Spectators could watch the exiting races from a pier and promade just outside the hotel. Photo Gill Hagen Dan Ibsen
After four days of intense racing the Denmarks Joachim Aschenbrenner, Jeppe Ditlev, Jonas Funk and Kristian Kvid won the EUROSAF Match Racing Open European Championship in Svendborg, Denmark.

The Danish Team won the finals in a close match against the Estonian team with Mati Sepp, Karl Kolk, Janno Hooll and Ago Rebane. After 1-1 and 2-2 the Danish Team got the best start in the last race, and relatively quickly established a substantial lead, which the succeeded to defend the rest of the race in order to claim their first European Championship title.

The Danish and Estonian Team are also the highest ranked skippers at the World Rankings List, respectively nine and 11 at the last list published July 13th.

Only a couple of months ago Team Aschenbrenner won the EUROSAF Match Racing Youth Championship 2016 and the years before they have also won gold and silver in the Match Racing Youth World Championship. During the last year they have also had very good results from World Match Racing Tour events, and in the beginning of 2016 they became fifth in Malaysia. Now the young team have also started sailing M32 and have sailed their first event in the World Match Racing Tour this spring, and they are looking for a sponsor in order to campaign in the exiting M32 catamaran.

Mati Sepp and his crew came to the finals winning 3-0 over Valeiro Galati/Rafaello Perrin/Frederico Pasini/Ettore Botticini from Italy.

Team Aschenbrenner, who won 10 out of 11 races in the Round Robin, had a much harder fight in the semifinals against the French Team Pierre Rhimbault/Clement Pequin/ValentinBellet/Mattis Naud with 6 races, and Team Aschenbrenner had to win four of these in order to win with 3.25 points, as he was penalized for a collision in an incident where the French boat was penalized.

In the petit finale the Italian team won 2-0 over the French team, and Valeiro Galati/Rafaello Perrin/Frederico Pasini/Ettore Botticini took the bronze medals.
The races was conducted just outside the Hotel Christiansminde and a pier and promenade in front of the hotel, where spectators could follow the races with commentators the last two days.

The Championship took place in Svendborg at the Island Funen in Denmark, and was organized by Svendborg Sound Sailing Club and Royal Danish Yacht Club in conjunction. Both clubs have celebrated their 150 year anniversary this year, as the two oldest clubs in Denmark established in 1866, and thereby also among the oldest yacht clubs in Europe.

The European Championship have had strong support from the Svendborg Community/Svendborg Event, Sport Event Fyn and Sport Event Denmark. The lead sponsors of the event are Fynske Bank, AUDI and Hotel Christiansminde.

Royal Danish Yacht Clubs 150 years jubilee regatta program, including this European Match Racing Championship, has been supported by the A.P. Möller and Chastine McKinney Möller Foundation.

Final results:

Skipper Nation Place
J. Aschenbrenner DEN 1
M. Sepp EST 2
V. Galati ITA 3
P. Rhimbault FRA 4
M.Rönnberg FIN 5
A.Luhta FIN 6
M. Trippolt AUT 7
R. Siugzdinis LTU 8
K. Kling SWE 9
N. Mettraux SUI 10
M. Stanczyk POL 11
F. Oehme GER 12

Raymarine AUS Lighthouse 3 Annapolis 3.9 - BOTTOMRS Sailing 2019 - FooterVaikobi 2019 - Footer 2

Related Articles

Finn youth talk about Paris 2024 Olympic decision
Some sailors won't have an Olympic option after Tokyo 2020 During the 2019 U23 Finn World Championship for the Finn Silver Cup in Anzio, Italy, we spoke to various sailors about what it means to them personally not to have the option of the Finn after Tokyo 2020.
Posted today at 4:29 pm
North Sails Weekly Debrief
A week of World Champions North Sails is proud to add three new world champions to the #NSVictoryList. Beyond cleaning up on World Champ titles, North Sails outfitted the inventories on 12 of the 14 podium finishers.
Posted today at 4:00 pm
ACO 10th MUSTO Skiff Worlds wrap-up
Medemblik got a bit of everything The two double MUSTO Skiff World Champions Jon Newman (AUS) and Bruce Keen (GBR) were again the main players in the exciting finale of the ACO 10th MUSTO Skiff World Championship 2019 in Medemblik.
Posted today at 2:06 pm
RIO100 wins Merlin Trophy in Transpac 50
Fastest monohull without powered performance systems With a finish time of 19:34:25 HST today, Manouch Moshayedi's Bakewell-White 100 RIO100 has become the fastest monohull without powered performance systems to finish the 50th edition of the biennial 2225-mile LA-Honolulu Transpacific Yacht Race.
Posted today at 1:04 pm
Every day a nightmare for this "Plastic Village"
Race for Water takes us to Indonesia Two poignant films showing the painful reality of an innocent population drowning in the waste of the world.
Posted today at 10:56 am
Over 30 IMOCAs enter Transat Jacques Vabre
List of TJV duos revealed, and IMOCA is the biggest class Whilst Alan Roura (La Fabrique) hurtles across the Atlantic in a bid to secure the singlehanded North Atlantic record (50 miles in front with 666 miles to go), the list of duos signed up for the Transat Jacques Vabre 2019 was revealed yesterday
Posted today at 9:18 am
Dramatic conclusion to Youth Worlds
Competition was wide open for medals in the six fleets Littlewood and Butowski ended up locked on 63 points and the Australian claimed silver having won two races across the nine race series. Butowski, a resident of Gdynia, settled for bronze but it could have easily been gold.
Posted today at 5:53 am
Score a prize at Hamilton Island
4 weeks until Hamilton Island Race Week, we have now drastically reduced our vacant properties. An amazing fleet is set to be at the annual spectacle, and with only 4 weeks until Hamilton Island Race Week, we have now drastically reduced our vacant properties.
Posted today at 1:05 am
Marine Auctions Forthcoming Online Auctions
Download the brochure of boats to be auctioned Please see a copy of the August Online Auction Brochure of various Marina Berths and Vessels we have to offer along with our Best Buys. Please note Bidding will commence on Friday 9th August 2019 and will end on Thursday 15th August 2019 at 2pm.
Posted on 19 Jul
Finn Silver Cup day 4
Oskari Muhonen wins U23, and Liam Orel U19, both with a day to spare Muhonen was deep as well and followed, taking just enough boats to put 12 points between himself and Colaninno, enough to take the title with a day to space by just two points.
Posted on 19 Jul