Please select your home edition
North Sails Performance 2023 - LEADERBOARD

29th His Majesty King Juan Carlos Trophy

by Maria José Cardoso 23 Apr 01:29 PDT 19-21 April 2024

Provezza takes HMK Juan Carlos Trophy for the third time

From April 19th to 21st, Clube Naval de Cascais hosted the 29th consecutive edition of the HM King Juan Carlos Trophy, established in 1995 when His Majesty King Juan Carlos I of Spain donated a trophy to the club to honor the place where he learned to sail and compete.

The championship featured 20 teams from seven different countries, competing in a total of five races.

After 2017 and 2021, Provezza Dragon, by Andy Beadsworth, Simon Fry, and Enes Çaylak, secured the trophy for the third time in 2024. The Turkish team, double world champion in dragon class, 2017 and 2019, made a strong start to the championship, with two second-place finishes and one first, as highlighted by Simon Fry, the tactician for the Turkish team, who stated at the end of the first day of racing: "it was a great day for us at Cascais, we sailed cleanly and tidly with three good starts and had great results, which we are very happy with". Despite a less successful final day - with a seventh-place finish and a DNF -, the Turkish team maintained the championship lead with 12 points.

Sweden's Jan Secher, Richard Sydenham, and Gerard Mitchell, aboard Miss Behaviour, took second place, just three points behind, winning the Stavros Trophy by claiming victory in the final race of the event. The Scandinavian team was making its debut in Cascais, and Jan Secher commented at the end of his first visit: "The Race Committee did a very good job on making the best out of the conditions we had these days and the organization on land was great as well. We are super happy and looking forward coming back.".

The Scottish team Louise Racing, with Grant Gordon, Luke Patience (Silver Medalist in London 2012), Faye Chatterton, and Elliot Hanson, completed the podium with 15 points.

Also worth mentioning is the UK team Blue Haze, featuring Ivan Bradburry, Lars Hendriksen, and George Leonchuk (Athens 2004 silver medalist), which won the inaugural race and thus secured the Vincie Trophy, and the Belgian team White Pearl, consisting of Guy Celis, Steven Vermeire, and Dries Van Den Abbeele, which was the first Corinthian crew - the first crew with no professionals.

The championship was supported by Turismo de Portugal, Visit Cascais, Cascais City Council, Marina de Cascais, Sagres, Vista Alegre, Leitão & Irmão, and Petticrows.

Results can be found here.

Day 1 Video:

Day 2 Video:

Day 3 Video:

Related Articles

76th Edinburgh Cup at Abersoch overall
Lawrie Smith claims the trophy for the fourth time Lawrie Smith has claimed his fourth Edinburgh Cup win, surpassing Graham Bailey's three titles and, placing him within the prestigious group of most wins along with Tony O'Gorman, Poul-Richard Høj-Jensen and Rory Bowman. Posted on 14 Jul
76th Edinburgh Cup at Abersoch Day 3
Controlling double win for Alfie Wet and wild were the conditions on day three of the 76th Edinburgh Cup in Abersoch. A short postponement in racing allowed for the Northerly wind to arrive in Cardigan Bay, which brought with it more rain and bigger swell. Posted on 12 Jul
76th Edinburgh Cup at Abersoch Day 2
Autumnal conditions with a medium south westerly breeze and rain Day two of the 76th Edinburgh Cup greeted the Dragon fleet in Abersoch with Autumnal conditions with a medium South westerly breeze and rain. Posted on 11 Jul
76th Edinburgh Cup at Abersoch Day 1
30 boats from all across Great Britain, Ireland and visitors from Portugal and Japan taking part The 76th Edinburgh Cup hosted by the South Caernarvonshire Yacht Club (SCYC) in Abersoch, sponsored by The Warren Resort & Spa, got underway on Tuesday 9th July. Posted on 10 Jul
Historic win for Bluebottle in Deauville
Winning the Linkers French Dragon Nationals In 1949 Bluebottle sailed across the Channel to Deauville and won the Virginie Heriot Cup. 75 years later, in a truly unique moment, Bluebottle has won the Linkers French Dragon National Championship in the same waters. Posted on 1 Jul
Historic Edinburgh Cup and Centenary Celebrations
The picturesque coastal village of Abersoch is set to host a momentous event The picturesque coastal village of Abersoch is set to host a momentous event in the world of keelboat racing: the 76th Edinburgh Cup, the British Dragon Association National Championship. Posted on 18 Jun
Road to Gold: Richard Parslow
Multiple dinghy & keelboat champion Richard Parslow has stayed at the front of the fleet for more than 40 years. From winning the Fireball World Championships with Kim Slater in 1980, through many championship wins in other dinghies and small keelboats. Posted on 17 Jun
British Dragons Southern Championship at Cowes
Solent chop and strong, gusty conditions on the first day Over the weekend of 1st and 2nd June, nine Dragon teams completed five races on the Solent for the 2024 BDA Southern Championship. Hosted by the Cowes Corinthian YC, racing was organised by Solent Dragon Fleet Captain and Race Officer, Andrew Millband. Posted on 3 Jun
Big names line up for Dragon Gold Cup 2024
30 teams from around Europe set for the September event in Kinsale Already many of the big names from the world of Dragon sailing have confirmed their participation in the 2024 Dragon Gold Cup Kinsale sponsored by Astra Construction Services Ltd. Posted on 23 May
Nick Truman passes away
Dragon Class Gold Cup winner and Broads One Design boat builder We are very sad to inform you that Nick Truman died peacefully at home on Wednesday 15th May. He was 83 years old. Posted on 17 May
Hyde Sails 2022 One Design FOOTERMaritimo 2023 S-Series FOOTERETNZ-STORE-728X90 two BOTTOM