Please select your home edition
Hyde Sails 2022 One Design LEADERBOARD

RS Feva Nationals: Hyde and Dickey's consistency seals title in NZ's biggest two-hander fleet

by Richard Gladwell, 16 Apr 16:44 PDT 17 April 2024
New Zealand RS Feva Nationals - Day 2 - April 14, 2024 -0 Maraetai Sailing Club © Suellen Hurling

The overnight leaders Youth crew of Callum Hyde (MBSC/WBC) and Jake Dickey (Napier SC) got off to a flying start on the final day of the RS Feva Nationals winning the first two races - setting themselves up for the Championship title.

Three races were completed on Day 3, the final day of the Nationals of the RS Feva - largest two-handed class in New Zealand.

Sailing from the Maraetai Sailing Club, in lighter breezes, the top five crews overall had a significant points break on rest of 47 boat fleet, and the title was set to be won by the most consistent crew. That proved to be the Youth crew of Hyde and Dickey, who put the contest out of reach with a third in the eighth and final race.

Father and son crew, David and Cameron Ferris (Bay of Islands) were also consistent posting a 3,2,1 scorecard on the Final day which secured them second overall, ahead of a second Youth crew Matteo Barker and Blake Batten (Murrays Bay SC), who placed 4,3,5 in the final three races sailed on the final day.

Gemma Hebberd/Gretel Satterwaite (Murrays Bay SC) retained their position as the top female crew but dropped two places to finish 11th in the overall Open fleet standings.

It was a similar story for the top international crew, from the Cook Islands - Maya and Olivia Postrzygacz from the Rarotonga Sailing Club dropping one place to 16th.

Top three by Division and Overall placings

1. Callum Hyde & Jack Dickey
2. David Ferris & Cameron Ferris
3. Matteo Barker & Blake Batten

Female Teams
1. Gemma Hebberd & Gretel Satterthwaite (11th overall)
2. Anna Dold & Lola-Jean Hutchens (14th overall)
3. Maya Postrzygacz & Olivia Postrzygacz (16th overall)

Youth Teams
1. Callum Hyde & Jack Dickey (1st overall)
2. Matteo Barker & Blake Batten (3rd overall)
3. Ashton Cooke & Marlon Porteous (4th overall)

Junior Teams
1. Nathan Soper & Lauchy Wills (5th overall)
2. Elisa Currie & Juliet White (18th overall)
3. James Currell & Charlie Haxton (20th overall)

Open Teams
1. David Ferris & Cameron Ferris (2nd overall)
2. Andrew Wills & Leo Wills (6th overall)
3. Andrew Child & Sol Douwes (12th overall)

International Teams
1. Maya Postrzygacz & Olivia Postrzygacz (16th overall – Cook Islands)
2. Sandy Alexandre & Matias Ghesquiere Benjamin (23rd overall – New Caledonia)
3. Matisse Bretegnier & Oscar Taleb (35th overall – New Caledonia)

Full results:

RS Sailing 2021 - FOOTERDoyle_SailWorld_728X90px-01 BOTTOMSOUTHERN-SPARS-OFFICIAL-SUPPLIER-52-SS728-X-90 Bottom