Please select your home edition
Leaderboard FD July August September 2023

P Class Tauranga Cup: Two successful defences by Kohi sailors in Centenary regatta

by Gary Smith 9 Jan 01:33 PST 4-9 January 2024

Two Kohimaramara YC sailors have defended their National titles in the 100th Tauranga Cup.

Oli Stone has successfully defended the Tauranga Cup, and Bella Jenkins did the same in the Girls title (Naomi James Trophy) for a record breaking third time.

Oli Stone won Race 7 on Day 3 to start his day off to defend the Coombes Johnston BMW NZ P Class National Championship title, the Tauranga Cup. It was a tightly fought race with Finloe Gaites (P40) as these two cleared out from the fleet.

Race 8, took a General Recall, to get the race away. This time Callum Hyde (P404) with a decisive tack, lead the fleet from start to finish. Although Nelsen Meacham(P888) chased him hard and closed the lead down to 15 seconds at the finish. By this time Oli Stone had a reasonable overall lead as the competitors that were close on points leading into the day had started to find the Race Officers T3 courses to be quite long!!

The sea breeze was really pumping in for the final race. A clear start from the get go and this time Arthur Rebbeck (P30) had the fleet in the rear view mirror, but the ever present Oli Stone was just behind him. Three winners from three races today.

The gave Oli Stone back to back NZ P Class Championship titles, having won last year in Plimmerton. “Tauranga is such a great place to sail, with the seabreeze kicking in, and the tides to contend with” said Oli.

Bella Jenkins (P898) had a handy lead going into the final race for the Girls results. However Race 7 was the worst race of the contest for Jenkins and Sasha White (P959) had a 12th to grab the best result for the girls. Greta Hutton (P80) then had the best girls result for race 8. But in the final race Jenkins came back to cement her record breaking third win for the Naomi James Trophy for top Girl at the National P Class Champs. Her father Luke was heard to say “Bella might be keen to do one more yet!!”

The Prizegiving for the Centenary regatta was held at the Tauranga Yacht and Powerboat Club this afternoon. The huge effort put in by the volunteers to run this event was acknowledged by all the competitors and parents.

A special Celebration included some of the past champions. “Jimmy Gilpin was star of the event” said contest organizer Gary Smith. [S-W: Jimmy Gilpin is the only sailors to have done a three-peat winning the Tauranga Cup three successive years in 1951, 1952 and 1953. Seventy years later, Bella Jenkins has matched this feat with the Naomi James Trophy]

Everyone is already making plans for the next Contest to be held at Lyttleton next January.

Final Results:

Additional Images:

Related Articles

Wihau Shield concludes centenary year for P class
Murrays Bay sailor wins Wihau Shield - swap boat championship Without winning a race over the weekend Finloe Gaites (MBSC P40) has won the Wihau Shield sailed last weekend - May 4 & 5. Posted on 7 May
Nathan Soper leads in 23 strong Wihau Shield
Nathan Sopher leads strong P Class fleet at Mt Maunganui for Wihau Shield - Day 1 A great days sailing in Tauranga for the running of the Wihau Shield for P Class - Day 1. Nathan Soper CBYC,MBSC is leading the 23 boat fleet. Posted on 4 May
P Class Tauranga Cup: A tense Day 2
Again three different skippers won a race apiece. The title can be won by one of four sailors Again three different skippers won a race apiece. Overall leader Hamish Brown is the only sailor to have won two races. However Oli Stone, Nathan Soper and Nelsen Meacham have been very consistent, and the regatta is still wide open. Posted on 8 Jan
P Class Tauranga Cup: Three winners on Day 1
Mila Blundell became the first female sailor in a decade to win a race in the Tauranga Cup Mila Blundell from Charteris Bay stunned the fleet with a great start in the first race of the Tauranga Cup to be the first girl since Kate Stewart in 2014 to win a race at the Tauranga Cup. Posted on 7 Jan
P Class Centenary - Top sailors return
Several top America's Cup and Olympic sailors dropped in on the P Class fleet in Tauranga The P Class celebrated their Centenary today, with a race for the Centenary Trophy sponsored by RAM3D. Several top America's Cup and Olympic sailors who had started their sailing careers in the P Class spoke with the 50 competitors, and later sailed. Posted on 6 Jan
P Class Tanner Cup at Tauranga Day 2
Nathan Soper dominated the 2024 Coombes Johnston BMW Tanner Cup, winning three races Nathan Soper (MBSC/CBYC/QCSC), representing North Harbour, dominated the 2024 Coombes Johnston BMW Tanner Cup, winning three of the six races. Defending champion Oli Stone was second 5pts behind Soper. Posted on 5 Jan
P Class Tanner Cup at Tauranga Day 1
New Zealand's oldest class of yachts still being raced regularly The sparkling waters of Tauranga Harbour greeted the 21 Entries for the 81th Anniversary of the Coombes Johnston BMW Tanner Cup for 2024. Posted on 4 Jan
P Class Centenary to be celebrated in January
Love them or hate them the P Class has been around for 100 years Love them or hate them the P Class has been around for 100 years. Designed by Harry Highet in 1920, the plans were presented to the Tauranga Yacht & Powerboat Club in January 2024 and were originally known as 'Taurangas'. Posted on 27 Dec 2023
Oldest videos of sailing in P Class dinghies
A look back into our video archive We delve into the past, and round-up all videos which show sailing in the P Class dinghy. Posted on 1 Dec 2023
P Class: Tight finish at Tauranga Cup
Oli Stone (Kohimaramara YC) won the Tauranga Cup, after a tense contest between three sailors Oli Stone (Kohimaramara YC) won the Tauranga Cup, or NZ P Class Championship, after a tense contest between three competitors. The title was decided in strong winds on the final day, with Cook Strait living up to its fearsome reputation. Posted on 11 Jan 2023
C-Tech 2020 Battens 2 728x90 BOTTOMRooster SB1 Inshore RangeHenri-Lloyd Fathers Day 2024