Please select your home edition

2023 Harken International Youth Match Racing Championship at Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club Overall

by R.P.A.Y.C. Sailing Office 8 Dec 2023 03:01 PST 4-8 December 2023

Congratulations to Zac West with his team Jameson Prescott, James Hayhoe, Emily Keg, Brooke Wilson, (RSYS), 29th Champion of the HARKEN International Youth Match Racing Championship 2023.

In a thrilling final between Ben Tylecote from GBR representing Rutland Sailing Club and Zac West from AUS representing the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, West took the first 2 wins in a best-of-five finals showdown. Tylecote returned with true determination in a neck-and-neck race to take race 3. Race 4 had both teams switching positions, West with a 2-point lead only needed 1 more race win to take the championship. Every decision counted!

West inched ahead to take the win and the celebrations started!

Both West and Tylecote fought hard throughout today's races winning by the smallest of margins through their respective Semi-Final matches with straight wins against Frewin from NZL and Kemp from Australia to make it to the final.

Pittwater stayed true to its form making racing tricky for all competitors with its flickty weather. Competition was close across all teams with the smallest of errors costing them the win.

Principle Race Officer, Ted Anderson claimed the 29th Harken International Youth Championship as his best event ever, not from just the skill of the teams, the quality of umpires, and his champion team on water but from the comradery and mateship of all involved in the event.

Chief Umpire Richard Slater who umpires America Cup events, Sail GP and advisers many classes on rules stated that "Ümpiring for the Harken Event this week with his fellow umpires has been an absolute joy, all the teams showed exceptional sportsmanship, took on our feedback and rulings without dispute. Truly made it a pleasure to be a part of the event".

Harken Managing Director Australasia Grant Pellew with his daughter Chloe assisted with presenting the top 3 placegetters with this year's awards. Pellew said "It was great to see you all competing today, each year the level of competition grows and to see new countries compete has been fantastic. "Harken has been supporting this event for 24 years, with the event in 2024 the 30th and Harken's 25th year of support it's going to be bigger and better".

RPAYC Commodore, Robert McClelland presented the Rockin'-Robin Perptual Trophy' on behalf of Robyn Wiltshire. Robyn specifically sent her best wishes to congratulate all competitors, and, to toast our newest Champion.

The 2023 Harken International Youth Match Racing Championship is wrapped up for another year and what an amazing week we've had here in Pittwater.

Thank you to the Race Management team for making the event possible and to the umpires and competitors who've travelled far and wide to be a part of the event.

Congratulations again to Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron for their win and to the rest of the competitors. The standard of racing this week was extremely high and the calibre of talent in the teams was amazing.

The Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club looks forward to seeing you all again next year for the 30th edition of the Harken International Youth Match Racing Championship.

Visit the website to view the full lineup of teams and umpires:

Follow the regatta on social media:

2023 Final Standings:

10th Place:
   Hugo Butterworth (AUS)
   Bayley Taylor
   Walter Tuite
   Josh Paulson
   Annabelle Sampson

9th Place:
   Mia Lovelady (AUS)
   Matilda Rowell
   Rosie Rowell
   Drina Bucktin
   Sophie Townes

8th Place:
   Rory Sims (NZL)
   Ella Arnold
   Ethan Fong
   Harry McMullen
   Sam Scott

7th Place:
   Richard Rychlik Jr (CAN)
   Jack Porter
   Cameron Bruce
   Rachel Green
   Josh Hyde

6th Place:
   Nicolas Bernal (BRA)
   Marcos Arndt
   Bruna Patricio
   Carolina Witsiers
   Gabriel Michaelis

5th Place:
   Tom Higgins (IRL)
   Jamie McMahon
   Fiona Ferguson
   Xavier McLachlan
   Riley Evans

4th Place:
   Jack Frewin (NZL)
   Oliver Gilmour
   Oliver Lloyd
   Sofia Higgott

3rd Place:
   Daniel Kemp (AUS)
   William Hough
   Lachlan Wallace
   Charlie Verity
   Isabella Holdsworth

2nd Place:
   Ben Tylecote (GBR)
   Freya Pembury
   Jamie Tylecote
   Finian Morris
   Terry Hacker

1st Place & Champions
   Zac West (AUS)
   Jameson Prescott
   James Hayhoe
   Emily Keg
   Katina Casimaty

Related Articles

Interest mounting in 2024 Pittwater to Coffs Race
The east coast classic is open to monohull, two-handed and multihulls The Pittwater to Coffs Harbour Yacht Race has always attracted an extensive array of seasoned offshore yachts and sailors from NSW and other ports, including this year Posted on 21 Feb
J/Teams Silver in ORC New South Wales Championship
Enjoying the challenging conditions, earning their fair share of silverware at the Pittwater Regatta Over the February 9th to 11th, 2024 weekend, the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club hosted a combination of the ORC New South Wales Championship and their annual Pittwater Regatta. Posted on 20 Feb
ORC NSW Championship overall
A mix of conditions and races throughout gave everyone a thorough workout A light weather day on the water helped decide the final outcomes of both the ORC NSW Championship, supported by Sydney Marine Brokerage and the Pittwater Regatta, organised by Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club (RPAYC). Posted on 11 Feb
ORC NSW Championship day 2
Pittwater Regatta in full swing with spectacular conditions and wild rides Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club's (RPAYC) ORC NSW Championship, supported by Sydney Marine Brokerage, entered its second day today, while the Pittwater Regatta got under way in full swing at Pittwater on the Northern Beaches of NSW Posted on 10 Feb
ORC NSW Championship day 1
Conditions test the best at Royal Prince Alfred YC with a Passage Race Day 1 of the ORC NSW Championship conducted by Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club (RPAYC), was a testing Passage Race; competitors describing conditions as lumpy, bumpy, and shifty with plenty of current. Posted on 9 Feb
RPAYC head to the DF65 Worlds
With fast growing fleet of DF65 racers The Dragonforce 65 (DF65) is arguably the fastest growing fleet at RPAYC. The RPAYC fleet started on 24 November 2022 with 10 boats and has grown to almost 40, with 15-20 racing each week. Posted on 7 Feb
2023/24 WASZP Australian Slalom Championship
An exhilarating final day of racing on Pittwater The highly anticipated 2023/24 WASZP Australian Slalom Championship continued on Pittwater today with an exhilarating final day of racing. Posted on 25 Jan
2024 Pittwater to Coffs Harbour Yacht Race preview
Early entries start the ball rolling Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club (RPAYC) has opened entries to eligible monohull, multihull and two-handed boats for the 2024 Pittwater to Coffs Harbour Yacht Race to start at 1pm on Friday 22 March. Posted on 23 Jan
Competitors ready for 2024 Pittwater Regatta
February event incorporating the ORC NSW Championship and a new Super 40 division Organisers at Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club (RPAYC) are pleased to announce a new Super 40 division for their Pittwater Regatta, to be held from 9-11 February, 2024 and incorporating the ORC NSW Championship. Posted on 18 Jan
The growing Excess fleet in Australia
Flagstaff Marine showcased the Excess 11 at Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club in December From December 1st to 2nd, 2023, our dealer in Australia, Flagstaff Marine, proudly presented Excess Tour at Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club in Pittwater. Posted on 3 Jan