Please select your home edition
Selden 2020 - LEADERBOARD

World Sailing invite nominations for 2023 Rolex World Sailor of the Year

by World Sailing 21 Sep 10:00 PDT
World Sailing invite nominations for 2023 Rolex World Sailor of the Year © World Sailing

Nominations for individuals for the Rolex World Sailor of the Year, for teams in the Team of the Year, and the most innovative design in Boat of the Year are now open for the 2023 World Sailing Awards.

Rolex World Sailor of the Year

World Sailing and Rolex are inviting the global sailing community, whether a Member National Authority, class association, event organiser, coach, instructor, competitor, or sailing fan to nominate high achieving male and female sailors from any country, region, class, team or event.

Nominate your 2023 Rolex Sailor of the Year here.

Nominations for the men's and women's categories in the 2023 Rolex World Sailor of the Year must be received by World Sailing no later than 19.00 UTC on Thursday 5 October 2023.

This has been an all-action year for sailing with the World Cup Series, Allianz Sailing World Championships, and a full schedule of World Sailing Special Events including the America's Cup, The Ocean Race, SailGP, the World Match Racing Tour, PAW World Windsurfing Tour, GKA Kite World Tour, GWA World Wingfoil Tour, IWSA WingFoil Racing World Tour, Star Sailors League, and Foiling Week.

With so many exceptional athletes at the peak of their performance and inspirational tales to tell, there are a lot of potential winners of this year's Rolex World Sailor of the Year awards.

The Rolex World Sailor of the Year is the most prestigious award of recognition in the dynamic sport of sailing. This year's award recognises outstanding achievement in the sport of sailing between 1 October 2022 to 5 October 2023.

An expert judging panel comprising of influential figures from the sailing world will draw up a shortlist to decide which of the inspirational sailors proceed to a public vote to decide this year's Rolex World Sailor of the Year.

Launched in 1994, the Rolex World Sailor of the Year is recognised as the highest award a sailor can receive in recognition of their outstanding achievements by the world of sailing. Past winners of the award include some of the most famous names the sport has ever seen. From the inaugural winners Sir Peter Blake and Sir Robin Knox-Johnston to such luminaries as Sir Ben Ainslie and Dame Ellen Macarthur, as well as Olympic gold medalists and America's Cup winners, the roll of honour reads like a who's who of sailing.

Team of the Year

Nominations are also invited for Team of the Year to honour crews of two or more sailors from any category of sailing. The award celebrates teams who personify the sporting values of integrity, ambition, resilience and resourcefulness. Past winners include three-time SailGP winners, Team Australia, multi-time offshore champions Wizard, and the Dongfeng Racing Team, winners of The Ocean Race in 2017-18.

Nominate your 2023 Team of the Year here.

Boat of the Year

The World Sailing Boat of the Year Award recognises outstanding boat design, innovative concepts and groundbreaking technological advancements that have advanced the sport of sailing, inspired a more sustainable approach to boat building and the lifespan of materials, or introduced a radical new design that will pioneer change across the world.

In 2022, the Vortex Pod Racer won the award for its aerodynamic design and carbon fibre construction which successfully combined high performance with safety to make the sport more accessible to a larger audience. The F50 Catamaran won the award in 2019 as it increased performance by 15% and was launched for SailGP as the successor to the AC50. The inaugural winner was the Ran VII-Fast 40 in 2018 which introduced a technologically advanced electric sail drive system ad unique shape before showing its capabilities by winning the One Ton Cup with an unprecedented six firsts and two second places.

Nominate your 2023 Boat of the Year here.

The World Sailing Awards

Alongside Rolex World Sailor of the Year, the World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award, Team of the Year and Boat of the Year, the Beppe Croce Trophy and President Development Award will also be presented to the winners at a live gala award ceremony on 14 November 2023 in Málaga, Spain, as part of the World Sailing Annual Conference.

Related Articles

World Sailing names Paris 2024 Race Officials
With 50-50 gender split in key positions World Sailing, the world governing body of the sport, is pleased to announce the names of the Race Officials who have been appointed for the Paris 2024 Olympic Sailing Competition. Posted today at 5:10 pm
World Sailing Council update
Council supports next steps in Governance Reform and approves Olympic Vision document World Sailing Council met on the final day of the 2023 World Sailing Annual Conference in Málaga to receive a series of reports from each of the committees and address members regarding the direction of the sport and its priorities in the coming year. Posted on 20 Nov
Sailors of the Year: Neuschäfer and Slingsby
2023 Rolex World Sailor of the Year awards were presented to Tom Slingsby and Kirsten Neuschäfer Sailing's highest achievers were honoured at a glittering World Sailing Awards ceremony in Málaga. The 2023 Rolex World Sailor of the Year awards were presented to Tom Slingsby and Kirsten Neuschäfer. The AC40 won Boat of the Year. Posted on 14 Nov
World Sailing Awards recognise highest achievers
Also being presented will be the World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award The World Sailing Awards 2023, celebrating excellence and achievement in sailing, will take place on Tuesday 14 November 2023, starting from 19.30 UTC in Málaga, Spain. Posted on 13 Nov
World Sailing Championships bids now open
The seventh World Sailing Championships will now bring a new opportunity for potential event hosts World Sailing is inviting bids to host the next World Sailing Championships, hot on the heels of the outstanding success of the 2023 edition in The Hague. Posted on 1 Nov
Nominees for World Sailing Awards 2023 revealed
Representing the very highest achievement in the sport over the past year World Sailing is proud to announce the nominees in this year's Rolex World Sailor of the Year, 11th Hour Racing Sustainability and Team of the Year awards. Posted on 17 Oct
World Sailing launches Sustainability Sessions
Will be free, open to anyone, expert-led and cover wide topics World Sailing is launching a ground-breaking six-month series of webinars designed to empower Member National Authorities, classes, event organisers, sailing clubs and anyone involved in the sport to improve their sustainability. Posted on 11 Oct
Steering the Course returns
With a focus on empowering female coaches in sailing The second Steering the Course global women's sailing festival of 2023 officially gets under way on Friday 29 September as sailing clubs, Member National Authorities and volunteers around the world showcase the range of opportunities within the sport. Posted on 1 Oct
Six more Paris 2024 sailing places claimed
Singapore, Malaysia, China, Hong Kong and Thailand secure slots during the 19th Asian Games The sailing competition at the 19th Asian Games in Hangzhou saw six more places claimed for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games. Posted on 28 Sep
Sustainability Award judging panel announced
World Sailing to celebrate delivery of high-impact, highly replicable initiatives A judging panel drawing in expertise from across sailing, sustainability and the maritime industries has been named for the 2023 World Sailing 11th Hour Racing Sustainability Award. Posted on 19 Sep
Rooster 2023 - Aquafleece Robe - FOOTERSelden 2020 - FOOTERNorth Sails Performance 2023 - FOOTER