Please select your home edition
Rooster 2023 - LEADERBOARD

Peace, love, & the Dutch Shoe Marathon

by San Diego Yacht Club 21 Jul 20:37 PDT 21 July 2023
2023 Dutch Shoe Marathon © Simone Staff

The Dutch Shoe Marathon has always been the anticipated race of the summer. It invites hundreds of juniors and adults to more than just a regatta. It celebrates tradition, it fosters generational sailing, and it promotes the future of the sport we all love. This year, San Diego Yacht Club and Coronado Yacht Club were able to co-host the event with even more pride while looking back over 50 years of the Dutch Shoe Marathon.

The 50th anniversary of the race makes it even more special to win. Tyler Sinks in the Senior Fleet was the overall winner of the regatta. "I thought my window for winning the Dutch Shoe had closed twenty-five years ago," Sinks joked. Sinks grew up in SDYC's Junior Sailing program and continues to be a role model for our juniors.

Congratulations for the first Junior finisher goes to MBYC's Loki Barrett in the A fleet. First place in the B fleet goes to BCYC's Abel Berge, and C fleet goes to SDYC's Emmanuel Smith.

Every year, there are several more unique trophies handed out at the Awards Ceremony, like First to Capsize and First to the Weather Mark. The Dutch Shoe was established in the '70s, so this year co-chairs Julie and David Servais awarded the "Best Dressed '70s Sailor." Congratulations goes to C fleet's Chloe Schuh!

Similar to, well, the 50 years prior, this year's Dutch Shoe Marathon started at SDYC in La Playa and finished at CYC in Glorietta Bay. The wind was light and patchy between 4-8 knots with lots of commercial traffic needing to pass through the fleet as they traversed the bay -- a frustrating, yet challenging aspect of the regatta that tests the skills of our young sailors!

As over 160 boats crossed under the Coronado Bridge and into Glorietta Bay, spectator boats honked and roared with excitement. Those that don't race can be found year after year enjoying the rainbow of Sabots flocking the Bay. Post-racing, competitors and families enjoyed Coronado Yacht Club at a barbecue, awards, and of course...'70s music.

San Diego Yacht Club was thrilled to see such a great turnout at this legacy flagship Junior event. The Club plans to host the next 50 Dutch Shoe Marathons, so go ahead and save the date for 2073's 100th anniversary!

50th Annual Dutch Shoe Marathon results available here.

For more information visit

Related Articles

Hot Rum Series 2023 Race 2 at San Diego Yacht Club
The biggest challenge is always getting off the starting line in the inner harbor Again, despite the challenging conditions, the J/Teams across the spectrum from J/22s up to the J/145s sailed well enough to hang onto positions at the top of the leaderboard. Posted on 25 Nov
Women's Invitational Regatta returns to San Diego
Sailing will be directly off the docks in La Playa in February 2024 San Diego YC's annual Women's Winter Invitational Regatta returns this upcoming winter, February 16-18, 2024. Recently having won the US Sailing One Design Regatta Award, this all-woman, three-day competition attracts sailors from all over the world. Posted on 2 Nov
2023 Lipton Cup at San Diego Yacht Club overall
The defending champs were determined to hold tight to the cup San Diego Yacht Club has won the 108th Sir Thomas Lipton Challenge Cup! The defending champs were determined to hold tight to the cup and they did just that in final moments of the regatta. Posted on 30 Oct
2023 Lipton Cup at San Diego Yacht Club day 2
A new leader emerges As day two of the Sir Thomas Lipton Cup Challenge commenced, everyone was hopeful that today would be their day. With two thirds of the regatta left to sail, Posted on 29 Oct
2023 Lipton Cup at San Diego Yacht Club day 1
Twelve distinguished teams from around the country are competing The San Diego Yacht Club welcomed twelve distinguished teams from around the country to compete in J/105's, in a rotating format, as they vie for the 108th Sir Thomas Lipton Cup. Posted on 28 Oct
2023 International Masters Regatta overall
Scott Harris wins at San Diego Yacht Club As we headed in to the final day of racing at the International Masters Regatta, one thing was clear, everyone had tasted moments of victory and they all were salivating for more. Posted on 23 Oct
2023 International Masters Regatta day 2
Anyone's game after the second day of racing One look at the daily firsts will prove our invited skippers are truly Masters of this sport. After the second day of sailing we have completed nine races and each of those races has been won by a different skipper. Posted on 22 Oct
2023 International Masters Regatta day 1
Adaptability and consistency prove key Day one of the 2023 International Masters Regatta put this talented group of seasoned sailors to the test. Of the 12 accomplished veteran skippers at this year's event, none have yet to win the title. Posted on 21 Oct
Twelve teams set to compete for the Lipton Cup
San Diego Yacht Club's signature fall regatta returns The 108th Challenge for the Sir Thomas Lipton Challenge Cup, San Diego Yacht Club's signature fall regatta, returns October 27-29, 2023. Posted on 7 Oct
World's Best Master Sailors set to compete
At 2023 International Masters Regatta in San Diego The 41st running of the International Masters Regatta returns to San Diego YC October 20-22, 2023. This year's slate of twelve competitors brings together a truly international cast of Master skippers from Canada, Germany, Mexico, and the United States. Posted on 28 Sep
Hyde Sails 2022 One Design FOOTERC-Tech 2021 America's Cup 728x90 BOTTOMArmstrong-A-Wing-728x90 gif BOTTOM