Please select your home edition
Lloyd Stevenson - Artnautica60 728x90px TOP

18ft Skiff Spring Championship on Sydney Harbour - Race 3

by Frank Quealey 30 Oct 2022 00:42 PDT 30 October 2022

Club Championship, Race 1
Today's Trophy: Mick Scully Memorial Trophy
Race Sponsor: Noakes

The first championship-style race of the 2022-23 Australian 18 Footers League season was sailed on Sydney Harbour today in a 10-15 knot North east breeze and was won by the classy Andoo team of John Winning Jr., Seve Jarvin and Sam Newton which led all the way after a great start from the pin end of the line.

Andoo quickly established a lead of 25s on the windward leg to the top mark at the Beashel Buoy and was never really threatened, despite a race-long challenge from the Lazarus team of Marcus Ashley-Jones, Jeronimo Harrison and Phil Marshall.

At the end of the three-lap race, Andoo crossed the finish line 1m11s ahead of Lazarus, with Rag & Famish Hotel (Harry Price, Josh McKnight and Harry Hall) just 6s further back in third place.

Yandoo (John Winning) finished in fourth place, ahead of Shaw and Partners Financial Services (Jim Colley) and Smeg (Michael Coxon).

The 2022 JJ Giltinan Championship-winning Andoo showed the form to suggest that the team will be the benchmark for the major championship regattas later in the season but the brand new Rag & Famish Hotel skiff, which was having its first race, and the consistent Lazarus team are sure to be big improvers as the racing hots up over the coming months.

Lazarus, after trailing Andoo by 25s at the top mark on the first lap, was still 25s behind Andoo over the following lap of the course and it was only the final lap which saw the winner extend the margin out to more than one minute.

Rag & Famish Hotel was back in third place, along with Yandoo, for most of the race and over the final lap of the course came home strongly to finish just behind Lazarus in a very tight battle.

Race 3 of the Spring Championship, for the Mick Scully Memorial Trophy, was held in conjunction with the Club Championship and was won by the Birkenhead Point Marina team of Kirk Mitchell, Andrew Stevenson and Daniel Barnett.

The young Birkenhead Point Marina team sailed strongly from the start of the race and deserved its 5s victory over Andoo.

Rag & Famish Hotel again finished in third place, ahead of Yandoo, Lazarus and Burrawang-Young Henrys (Simon Nearn).

With four races still to be sailed in the Spring Championship, Yandoo leads the points table on 11 points, followed by Birkenhead Point Marina on 17, with Shaw and Partners and The Oak Double Bay-4 Pines (Alex Marinelli) level in third place on 18 points.

Ilve (Cam Gundy) is fifth on 21 points, followed by Lazarus and Burrawang-Young Henrys, tied on 22 points.

Race 4 of the Spring Championship, for the Eric Bowen Memorial Trophy, will be sailed next Sunday (November 6) over the regular 3-buoys style course.

Spectators can follow the action on board the club's spectator ferry, as they have done for the past 87 years, which leaves Double Bay Wharf alongside the clubhouse at 2pm.

Booking online through the club's website is essential,

For anyone who can't make it out onto the water, the League's live broadcast team will be out on Sydney Harbour to capture all the action. Live streaming is available at by clicking on the '18 Footers TV' link.

For anyone who wants to take a look at Sail Media's action videos from the 2021-22 season, including the 2022 JJ Giltinan Championship, go to and click on the '18 Footers TV' link.

Related Articles

18ft Skiffs: The Beashels
An incredible sailing family The 18 footer class has a rich tradition of family generational competition and one of the most prominent families in all skiff racing is the Beashel family which, for five generations, also has an incredible history right across the sailing world. Posted today at 11:58 am
Mark Foy, More than just the father of 18 footers
Retail businessman, entrepreneur, and a keen sportsman Mark Foy fathered the sport of 18 footer racing when he staged a regatta, featuring his spectator-driven concept, on Sydney Harbour in January 1892, but Foy was far more than a 'one-trick pony'. Posted on 14 May
18ft Skiffs: Team Barnabas
Father & son, champions together For the past 45 years in Australia, the name Barnabas has been at, or near, the top of 18ft skiff championship point scores and has produced a total of eleven World, six Australian and five international 18 footer victories. Posted on 1 May
Patrick Corrigan: Long-time 18ft Skiff sponsorship
Patrick's love of the sport benefited the 18s many years Anyone with an interest in sport knows that some level of sponsorship is essential for the success of an individual, a team, or an organising body. Posted on 19 Apr
Chris Webb, the first great 18 footer champion
The most famous skipper during the early period of the class Chris Webb was the most famous 18 footer skipper during the early period of the class. He was a legend and a major draw card every time he raced for the Sydney Flying Squadron (SFS), and won four 'official' Australian Championships. Posted on 12 Apr
Black Knight: Team Germany's JJ Giltinan challenge
Since the first regatta in 1938, twenty one countries have been represented at the event Since the first regatta in 1938, twenty one countries have been represented by some of their best sailing talent as they attempted to win the world's greatest 18ft skiff championship, the JJ Giltinan World's 18 footer Championship. Posted on 29 Mar
18ft Skiff Queen of the Harbour
Karly Zinga teams up with the Yandoo team for the win Karly Zinga became the Australian 18 Footers League's Queen of Sydney Harbour when she teamed with John Winning, Fang Warren and Josh Porebski on Yandoo to win the annual event today. Posted on 19 Mar
18ft Skiffs: Winning by name, a winner by nature
High achieving individual from a high achieving family It's never easy for a young man to follow in the footsteps of a famous father, but it's not impossible if you are John (Herman) Winning, the son of 18 Footer sailing world champion and legend, John (Woody) Winning. Posted on 15 Mar
Winning Group JJ Giltinan Championship overall
The defending champion Andoo team retain the trophy The defending champion Andoo team, John Winning Jr, Seve Jarvin and Sam Newton, retained the crown of world champion with an outstanding victory in the Winning Group JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship which concluded on Sydney Harbour today Posted on 12 Mar
Winning Group JJ Giltinan Championship Day 6
Andoo team lead from the start Defending champion Andoo team of John Winning Jr, Seve Jarvin and Sam Newton took the lead from the start and led the entire Race 8 of the Winning Group JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship on Sydney Harbour today. Posted on 11 Mar
SOUTHERN-SPARS-AGLAIA-SPARS_728X90 BottomHyde Sails 2022 One Design FOOTERSailGP_Technologies_Metal_1456x180 BOTTOM