Please select your home edition
Zhik 2022 Choice of Champions LEADERBOARD

100th Annivesary Star World Championship kicks off in one month

by ISCYRA 10 Aug 21:56 PDT 10-17 September 2022
Star World Championship © YCCS / Studio Borlenghi

90 entries from 14 nations with over 15 past World Champions and 15 U30 teams

It's shaping up to be an event to remember, the 2022 Star World Championship not only will be celebrating the 100th Anniversary Championship but will register a record number of participants after the Olympic years. There will be over 15 past Star World Champions and a good representation of the new generation with 15 U30 teams.

100 years ago, the first ever Star World Championship took place in Long Island, NY, USA, the boat was about 10 years old and its popularity was expanding from the American borders to the rest of the Globe. This year we celebrate one the most endured sailing classes, the International Star Class, with the 100th Anniversary Star World Championship, in Marblehead, MA, USA, not so distant from the venue of the first edition of the event. 90 entries 10 years after being cut from the Olympic Games, it is a testimony of the longstanding appeal of the boat designed in 1910 by Francis Sweisguth and as an Olympic sailing class for 80 years, from 1932 to 2012, more than any other class.

All of the sailing legends have won a title in the Star Class, from Lowell North, founder of North Sails, to Dennis Conner, Mister America's Cup, from the all-time hero Paul Elvstrom to three-time Olympic Star medalist Mark Reynolds, from Valentin Mankin, to Torben Grael, Paul Cayard, Robert Scheidt and Iain Percy. These are the sailors who have written the history of our sport and to them and all of the Star World Champions is dedicated '100 Years of Gold Stars', the book written by Carol Newman Cronin in which she interviews most of the living Champions and she captures the best memories of a century of global events.

To celebrate the Star World Champions, each team will have a sail number representing a year of their choice. Past World Champions will have the year in which they won, and other competitors have picked a memorable one for them. Bobby Lippincott chose 1950, when his grandfather Robert won the title in Chicago, and so did Danny Cayard by picking 1960, year in which his grandfather Pelle Petterson won in San Diego, and Larry Whipple 1922, the year of the first World Championship.

The 2022 Star World Championship will begin on September 10th with the official practice race, and will end on Saturday 17th, after seven days in which the traditional two-hour long six races will be finished. After that, a pair of new names - but not necessarily 'new' - will be written on the prestigious 100-year-old trophy, and the history of the International Star Class and its renowned World Championship will enter a new century.

For more information please visit

Related Articles

100th Anniversary Star Worlds overall
Standout performance rewards Diego Negri & Sergio Lambertenghi A solid third place in the final race from Italy's Diego Negri/Sergio Lambertenghi was more than enough to reward them with gold at the 2022 Star Worlds. Posted on 18 Sep
100th Anniversary Star Worlds day 6
Eric Doyle and Payson Infelise seize race 5 win Patience aplenty has been the pattern at the 100th Anniversary Star Worlds, as every day has featured postponements, general recalls and unpredictable conditions. Friday's race 5 was no different. Posted on 17 Sep
100th Anniversary Star Worlds day 5
Big breeze shakes up the racetrack Strong winds kept the Star fleet postponed ashore, before easing enough to get race 4 under way at 1509 hours in 18 knots with some gusts up to 25 knots. Posted on 16 Sep
100th Anniversary Star Worlds day 4
Diego Negri and Sergio Lambertenghi (ITA) retain pole position Wednesday day dawned sunny and breezy at the 100th Anniversary Star Worlds, in a perfect change of fortunes after Tuesday's fog, rain and lack of wind forced racing to be cancelled. Posted on 15 Sep
100th Anniversary Star Worlds day 2
Jørgen Schönherr & Markus Koy make no mistakes to win race 2 An impressive run of form gave the race 2 win to Jørgen Schönherr (DEN) and Markus Koy (GER) who controlled the fleet from start to finish and end the day in 4th overall. Posted on 13 Sep
100th Anniversary Star Worlds day 1
Dice roll conditions at Marblehead, USA The 2022 Star Class World Championship presented by Bacardi was officially declared open by Tom Londrigan, International Star Class President, on the morning of Sunday, September 11 accompanied by a parade of nations and gun salute at Eastern Yacht Club. Posted on 12 Sep
Stage is set to celebrate 100 years of achievement
At the 2022 Star Worlds on Boston's north shore The Eastern Yacht Club on Boston's north shore, one of the USA's most preeminent clubs, is home to the 2022 Star Class World Championship presented by Bacardi from September 8-17. Posted on 10 Sep
Bacardí celebrates 100th Star Class Worlds
his regatta will be making sailing history in Marblehead, Massachusetts Bacardí is very proud to be invited to support the Star Class World Championship. This regatta will be making sailing history with its 100th World Championship, September 8-17, 2022, in Marblehead, Massachusetts. Posted on 7 Sep
SSL Gold Cup - Change to Team Australia crew
Olympic Gold Medallist Matt Wearn has been replaced in the SSL Gold Cup Team Australia crew. Olympic Gold Medallist Matt Wearn has been replaced in the SSL Gold Cup Team Australia crew. Posted on 29 Aug
2022 Star Western Hemisphere Championships overall
Paul Cayard and Brad Nichol (USA) win the title on Lake Sunapee Yesterday was a forced lay day for the 33-boat fleet gathered on Lake Sunapee, New Hampshire, for the 2022 Star Western Hemisphere Championship. Posted on 28 Aug
Doyle Sails 2020 - Pure Brilliance 728x90 BOTTOMHyde Sails 2022 One Design FOOTERHella Dual Colour Floodlights - 728 x 90px - 002 gif Bottom