Please select your home edition
North Sails 2021 Innovation - LEADERBOARD

75th Block Island Race - Third time was the charm

by Storm Trysail Club 2 Jun 2022 07:35 PDT 27 May 2022
Christopher Dragon - 75th Block Island Race © Allen Clark /

Commodore Ed Cesare said during the virtual weather briefing the night before racing: "Welcome to the third annual 75th Block Island Race, here's hoping third time's a charm."

Storm Trysail Club finally was able to run their May distance race in classic spring conditions.

77 boats started the race on Friday afternoon off Stamford, Conn., with most of the fleet opting for the 186nm Block Island Course, while 2 classes sailed the shorter 136nm Plum Island course. Divided among ORC and PHRF classes, the teams were treated to a strong southerly gradient making the racetrack a reach down Long Island Sound and around Block Island and back. Some teams reported isolated 50+ knot squalls complete with hail. By Saturday morning, most of the teams were making their way back into a foggy Sound in a light westerly beating to the finish line.

Ultimately, it was Wizard, Fred Detweiler and Bruce Aikens' R/P 69 who took line honors and the Governors Race West Trophy at 10:39 with a time of 19 hours 14 minutes and 27 seconds (still eight hours shy of the course record set in 2015 by 100-ft Comanche.) It was a very slow last few 15 miles taking nearly four hours to complete and the faster boats all compressing for a light beat to the finish.

Once the rest of the fleet finished and the ratings were applied, it was Rear Commodore Andrew Weiss' new Italia 11.98, Christopher Dragon, who took home the top ORC award, the William Tripp, Jr. Memorial Trophy for best corrected time.

In the PHRF fleet, the Bill and Jackie Baxter's J/111 Fireball has both the best elapsed and corrected times taking the Terrapin and Governors East Trophy respectively.

Other special trophies presented at the awards at Stamford Yacht Club went to Groupe 5, a Figaro2 sailed by, Zach Doerr & Vad Shablinsky from NEKA Sailing for best ORC performance doublehanded; a tie for the Roddie Williams Team Race Trophy, Larchmont YC made up of In Theory, Phantom, and Warrior Won and Pequot YC made up of Libertas, Madison and Tacktile and George Lauder Trophy for best performance by a vintage boat to Plantir 5, June and Amanda Kendrick's J/44.

"Thank you to all the teams, volunteers, and sponsors who made the Block Island Race this year a great success," said event chair John Troy. "We wish all the teams taking on the Bermuda Race next month the best of luck and we will see you all back here next year."

Keep up with the latest news about the Block Island Race here.

View full results here...

Related Articles

2023 Annapolis-to-Newport Race update
33 boats already registered for race, starting on June 2nd As of January 26th, 33 boats have begun the process to prepare for the 39th edition of the race. There are entries reflected in all five classes offered: ORC, ORC Cruiser, ORC Racer-Cruiser, ORC Double Handed and PHRF. Posted on 27 Jan
Callisto wins the 35th Pineapple Cup
The Silver perpetual trophy was presented at the Awards Evening Last night the Montego Bay Yacht Club celebrated Callisto Racing, Pyewacket70 and Rikki in the 35th edition of the Pineapple Cup - Montego Bay Race. Callisto Racing, owned by Kate and Jim Murray is the overall winner of this edition of the Pineapple Cup. Posted on 27 Jan
Line honours for Pyewacket70 in 35th Pineapple Cup
Finishing with an elapsed time of 2 days, 18 hours, 15 minutes and 19 seconds Pyewacket70, the modified Volvo70 owned by Roy P. Disney crossed the Appleton Estate finish line of the 35th Pineapple Cup - Montego Bay Race this morning at 08:20:19 to capture line honors. Posted on 25 Jan
Second race start of the 35th Pineapple Cup
Pyewacket70 and Callisto get off to screaming starts Pyewacket70, the modified Volvo70 owned by Roy P. Disney and Callisto Racing, owned by Kate and Jim Murray got off to a flying start in the second start of the 35th Pineapple Cup - Montego Bay Race. Posted on 23 Jan
Pineapple Cup-Montego Bay Race underway
Rikki got off on a perfect start in a light, but building, southeasterly Rikki, the young Rhode Island based crew, was the lone team to start today at 1105 ET, giving them a 27-hour head start on the remaining two teams Callisto and Pyewacket70. Posted on 21 Jan
35th Pineapple Cup Race starts tomorrow
An 811-nautical mile sailing race sailed biennially The Pineapple Cup-Montego Bay Race, an 811-nautical mile sailing race hosted biennially by the Montego Bay YC and Storm Trysail Club, with support from platinum partner Appleton Estate, is excited for the start of the 35th edition of the offshore classic. Posted on 20 Jan
2-week countdown to the 35th Pineapple Cup!
Montego Bay Yacht Club is in full preparation mode With less than two weeks to go until the start of the 35th Pineapple Cup-Montego Bay race, the Montego Bay Yacht Club is in full preparation mode for the first event held post-pandemic. Posted on 9 Jan
Fort Lauderdale to Key West Race Preview
SORC Islands in the Stream Series update The 2022-2023 Islands in the Stream Series kicked off the season with the famous "blast across the Stream"- the Nassau Cup Race. Then, after a brief respite, the fleet sailed the 60.0nm Miami to Palm Beach Race. Posted on 7 Jan
Block Island Race Week hits 100 boats
Sign-ups show no signs of slowing as new teams continue to join 100 boats have registered for the 30th Annual Block Island Race Week presented by Margaritaville next for Summer 2023 and sign-ups show no signs of slowing as new teams continue to join the ranks across divisions. Posted on 30 Nov 2022
Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta - One to remember
Over 260 college sailors came from all over the country to compete After the 2020 Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta was canceled due to Covid, hopes were high for 2021, but were dashed when the racing was called off due to strong wind and waves. Posted on 11 Oct 2022
North Sails 2021 Innovation - FOOTER