Please select your home edition
leaderboard with question mark E6 launch 2021

57th Congressional Cup at LBYC - Day 2

by Betsy Senescu 20 Apr 22:24 PDT April 18-23, 2022

All aboard the Congressional Cup express! On Day Two of this world-class match racing regatta, everyone got on board: on the scoreboard that is, in a day of action-packed competition off the Belmont Veteran's Memorial Pier here.

The Congressional Cup regatta is part of the World Match Racing Tour and one of the pre-eminent match racing events in yachting; attracting the top-ranked skippers from around the globe. Founded by Long Beach Yacht Club in 1965, they pioneered the concept of on-the-water umpiring and set the standard for top-level match racing worldwide. This five-day event continues through Saturday April 23.

Under the command of Principal Race Officer John Busch racers completed the first round robin series and dipped into the second today. Long Beach continued to deliver stiff and steady westerly breezes: with more forecast in the days ahead.

Earlier today Pearson Potts (USA) won his first match of the event and picked up the pace from there. "You make the smallest mistake, and you know the guy on the other side will capitalize on it." Harry Price (AUS) also started to get up to speed, after a long gap in racing forced by the pandemic.

At the end of 12 flights, defending champion Taylor Canfield (USA) had continued full steam ahead to the top of the leaderboard at 10 - 2, but not without a pack of hungry rivals on his caboose: Ian Williams (GBR), Johnie Berntsson (SWE) and Chris Poole (USA) all at 8 - 4.

And it was a day of thumps and thrills as the ten teams warmed up, and the action heated up. Chief Umpire Russell Green noted 21 penalty flags in today's six flights, with combative competitors colliding, clipping the Race Committee boat, tangling with each other - and the pin end of the line.

As Nick Egnot-Jones (NZL) put it, "There were lots of flags flying, boats colliding, and a real spectacle. It was high caliber competition."

Jeppe Borch (DEN) and Emil Kjaer (DEN) had dominated last week's Ficker Cup qualifier to fill the final two berths in Congressional Cup. Despite the running start, the youngsters struggled against some of their more seasoned opponents.

Borch (24) is the 2022 Ficker Cup winner and Kjaer (20) won in 2021. Victory in the Ficker Cup is not only a launchpad into Congressional Cup racing, but also a portent: although not necessarily immediate gratification. Terry Hutchinson won Ficker Cup in 1991, and Congressional Cup in 1992. Likewise Simone Ferrarese was the 2011 Ficker Cup champion and 2013 Congressional Cup winner, and Taylor Canfield went on to capture five Congressional Cup titles (2014, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2021) after winning the Ficker Cup in 2013. History heralds good things for these two young teams from Denmark.

Racing continues through Saturday April 23 off the Belmont Veterans Memorial Pier, with shaded stadium seating and live commentary, starting at 11:30AM daily. In addition, Thursday will see a fleet race from the Congressional Cup Stadium course into Alamitos Bay; Friday features the Junior Congressional Cup, after the day's match racing; and during Saturday's finals, there will be a fleet race for the six eliminated teams.

Find up-to-the-minute results at

Live streaming will begin Thursday April 21 - visit or @CongressionalCup on Facebook. For more WMRT information go to

Related Articles

Dates set for 58th Congressional Cup
Long Beach Yacht Club's elite Match Racing event Dates have been announced for the 58th Congressional Cup regatta and Ficker Cup qualifier hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club: with Congressional Cup slated April 18 to 22, 2023 preceded by the Ficker Cup April 13 to 15, 2023. Posted on 11 Aug
57th Congressional Cup at LBYC Overall
Williams finishes 3-1 over Canfield, matches him with most Crimson Blazers in history Ian Williams (GBR) and Team Gladstone's Long Beach have won the 57th Congressional Cup – and a fifth iconic Crimson Blazer, defeating the defending champion Taylor Canfield (USA). Includes full replay of Finals and Petit Finals. Posted on 24 Apr
57th Congressional Cup at LBYC day 4
We meet again - Williams and Canfield in Congressional Cup showdown Great Britain's six-time match racing world champion Ian Williams (Team Gladstones Long Beach) and USA's Taylor Canfield (Stars+Stripes Team USA) have advanced to the final of the 57th Congressional Cup in Long Beach, CA. Posted on 23 Apr
57th Congressional Cup at LBYC day 3
Canfield, Williams, Berntsson, Pool advance to Semis Taylor Canfield (USA), Ian Williams (GBR), Johnie Berntsson (SWE) and Chris Poole (USA) have advanced to the semifinal stage in the 57th Congressional Cup, after a dicey day of sailing in winds grazing the top range for the Catalina 37 fleet. Posted on 22 Apr
57th Congressional Cup kicks off
Stiff breeze and competition as Canfield guns for unprecedented sixth title A morning of fanfare: an evening of glitz. And in between — five hours of high-octane sailing! The 57th Congressional Cup kicked off today with a bookend of exciting events including a rededication of the racecourse with local dignitaries Posted on 20 Apr
57th LBYC Congressional Cup preview
This year's all-star lineup includes five-time winner and defending champion Taylor Canfield Long Beach Mayor Robert Garcia will help Long Beach Yacht Club kick off the 57th Congressional Cup regatta with a ribbon cutting and re-dedication of Congressional Cup Stadium. Posted on 6 Apr
Lofty lineup for 57th Congressional Cup
Canfield, Williams return among field of world's top ranked skippers Long Beach Yacht Club is ramping up for Congressional Cup 2022 with an all-star lineup including more than half of the world's top-ranked match racing skippers! Posted on 24 Feb
Dates set for 57th Congressional Cup
Long Beach Yacht Club has announced the 2022 event schedule Long Beach Yacht Club has announced the 2022 dates for the prestigious Congressional Cup and Ficker Cup regattas, according to Chair Lisa Meier. Posted on 7 Nov 2021
Stars+Stripes win the 56th Congressional Cup
Canfield's fifth victory makes him the winningest skipper in history Taylor Canfield's (USA) Team Stars+Stripes has triumphed in the 56th Congressional Cup at Long Beach Yacht Club, capping five-days of high-test competition in this World Match Racing Tour championship event. Posted on 20 Sep 2021
Shaking it up at Congressional Cup
Poole joins Canfield, Berntsson & Monnin in semis It wasn't just the sudden 4.3 earthquake that shook things up at the Congressional Cup this weekend. The spirited racing, which had started Wednesday Sept. 15, found five skippers battling for the final spot in the semi-final round. Posted on 19 Sep 2021
Sea Sure 2020 - SHOCK-WBV - FOOTERHella Dual Colour Floodlights - 728 x 90px - 6 jpg BottomSelden 2020 - FOOTER