Please select your home edition
September 2022

Transpac Trophy haul for Warrior Won

by Transpacific Yacht Club 27 Jul 2021 22:43 PDT From July 13, 2021

An enduring service provided by the Transpacific Yacht Club is maintaining one of the largest and most impressive perpetual trophy collections in the ocean racing world. Dozens of works of art crafted in silver, pewter, brass and bronze, along with traditional Hawaiian materials like Koa wood, canvas, cord and reeds, have accumulated over the 115 year history of this race, first sailed in 1906.

Deeded by numerous past winners and generous patrons of the Transpac, these trophies are not only stunningly beautiful, they are a visual reminder of the admiration and respect conferred to those who not only complete the 2225-mile course from Los Angeles to Honolulu, but excel in the face of tough competition as well. To be on the podium with your team at the Transpac awards thus makes you part of ocean racing history.

In lieu of the normal Awards Ceremony gala held for all crews at the end of the event, this year awards were conferred in three separate and smaller ceremonies for the top three teams in each race division, along with special trophies that pertain to entries in those divisions. Today this was done for the corrected time victors in Divisions 3, 4, 5 and 6, with these being, respectively: Chris Sheehan's Pac 52 Warrior Won winning the Albert Soiland Trophy; Jack Jennings Santa Cruz 70 Pied Piper winning the Los Angeles YC Trophy; Bob Pethick's Roger 46 Bretwalda3 winning the TPYC Cup; and John Shulze's Santa Cruz 50 Horizon winning the City of Long Beach Trophy - all are creations in heavy cast bronze.

TPYC also recognizes the historic importance of navigators in this race, so each winning team's navigator was also presented with an award. And in recognition of how the weather may change between race start dates, awards were also given for corrected time excellence among several divisions in the same start date. For the groups who started on Friday, July 16th, the winner in corrected time of the Morgan Adams Memorial Trophy is Bretwalda3.

Three other awards were presented that represent outstanding achievement: the First to Finish Merlin Trophy awarded to Warrior Won who was the first to finish without use of non-manual power systems. The King Kalakaua Trophy was also awarded to Warrior Won for being first to finish in corrected time, and a sentimental favorite, the Don Vaughn Trophy, given to the most valuable crew member on the overall winning team as voted by the crew. This was awarded to Collin Leon (shown at right with TPYC flag officers), the boat captain on Warrior Won, for his outstanding work in organizing the program - the boat, the crew and all the complex logistics for this US East Coast-based team - to help produce their outstanding results and an impressive trophy haul for one team.

"I'm humbled to accept this," said a modest Leon. "This team was outstanding to work and sail with, and our skipper Chris [Sheehan] has throughout been a strong motivating force to inspire everyone to dig deep to get the very best.

"The Transpac is so special," said Leon. "Even with a team that has been on some of the toughest races in the world, everyone loved this race."

Next for Warrior Won is for Leon to disassemble the boat to ship to San Diego on Pasha Hawaii, where it will be trucked to Florida in anticipation of a winter season of training and racing starting in November, with a long-term tour expected of other ocean races around the planet.

The beaming smiles of this team on the dais with their armfuls of trophies said it all.

For more information visit

Related Articles

Who will be the 45th entry in the 2023 Transpac?
The entry list is growing steadily in the 52nd running of the biennial Los Angeles to Honolulu race The entry list is growing steadily in the 52nd running of the biennial Los Angeles to Honolulu race, known to all as the Transpac. Posted on 9 Nov
Historic offshore yacht marks 40th entry
Solomon Ka'ne's Leglus is the 40th entry to next year's Transpac Solomon Ka'ne's Leglus, a 1986-built Ohashi 52, is the 40th entry to next year's 52nd edition of the 2225-mile Los Angeles-Honolulu Transpac Race. Posted on 28 Oct
First pre-race Transpac Seminar on Nov 9th
The first of a series of seminars organized by the Transpacific Yacht Club For many offshore sailors, participation in the 2225-mile biennial Transpac race from Los Angeles to Honolulu is a bucket-list experience, the race of a lifetime. Posted on 14 Oct
Entries open for Transpac 2023
First entry is Fast Exit II for the Los Angeles to Honolulu race The Transpacific Yacht Club is pleased to announce that the entry process is now open for the 2023 edition of the Los Angeles to Honolulu Transpacific Yacht Race. Posted on 27 May
Transpac 2023 - Save the dates
The longest and oldest among the world's classic ocean races The Board of Directors of the Transpacific Yacht Club are pleased to announce that start dates are now chosen for the 52nd biennial running of the Los Angeles to Honolulu Transpacific Yacht Race, better known as the Transpac. Posted on 26 Feb
Jesse Osborn is Rudiger Award winner
Osborn wins Mark Rudiger Award After careful review of the materials submitted to support his application, a review panel from the Transpacific Yacht Club have determined that Jesse Osborn wins the Mark S. Rudiger Celestial Navigation Trophy for the recently completed 2021 Transpac. Posted on 22 Aug 2021
Final awards at 51st edition of Transpac
The podium finishers in Divisions 7 and 8 were given their awards today Transpacific YC Commodore Jim Eddy led the crowd of Transpac sailors and their friends and family with this traditional greeting that has so many meanings in Hawaiian: Hello, Welcome, Goodbye, or as an expression of love and affection. Posted on 28 Jul 2021
Division 1 and 2 winners crowned at Transpac
Record runs coming into the docks are starting to sound routine By now the stories of massive waves, sustained high speeds, and record runs coming into the docks at this year's Transpac are starting to sound routine. Posted on 26 Jul 2021
Waves of teams are finishing strong in Transpac
Waves of competitors coming across the finish line at Diamond Head Having start dates staggered this year over five days and near-perfect strong breeze over the 2225-mile course has resulted in the first big wave of competitors coming across the finish line at Diamond Head today in the 51st edition of Transpac. Posted on 25 Jul 2021
Pyewacket wins Barn Door Trophy
Setting 24 hour record in the Transpac Five days, 16 hours, 53 minutes and 20 seconds since starting off San Pedro in Los Angeles last Saturday, the team on Roy Disney's turbo Volvo 70 Pyewacket crossed the finish line at 2:53 AM at Diamond Head to be first to finish in this year's Transpac. Posted on 24 Jul 2021
Zhik 2022 Choice of Champions FOOTERSelden 2020 - FOOTERHenri-Lloyd 2022 November - Gore-Tex - SW FOOTER