Please select your home edition
Barton Marine 2019 728x90

Congressional Cup returns with a splash with top-ranked roster at Long Beach Yacht Club

by Betsy Crowfoot 28 May 05:07 PDT 14-19 September 2021
Congressional Cup © Sharon Green / Ultimate Sailing

The excitement of Congressional Cup racing will return to Long Beach Yacht Club September 14 to 19, 2021 when the world's leading match racing skippers compete for this venerated trophy and the prized Crimson Blazer.

"Our lineup is set, with all six World Match Racing Tour Card holders and two wild cards!" exclaimed 2021 Congressional Cup Chair Chris Macy. "That's a testament to the regatta and the prestige that comes with winning the Congressional Cup: the sailing is competitive and hospitality unmatched! That all six Tour Card holders made it a priority to come here illustrates what a marquis event we have been putting on, for 56 years."

This year's Congressional Cup roster includes: defending champion Ian Williams (GBR), Eric Monnin (SUI), Nick Egnot-Johnson (NZL), Maxime Mesnil (FRA), Johnie Berntsson (SWE), Taylor Canfield (USA), Phil Robertson (NZL) and Scott Dickson (USA). Two final skippers will advance from LBYC's Ficker Cup qualifying event, slated for September 10 to 12.

The Congressional Cup was on hold in 2020 due to the pandemic, making 2019 champion Williams the longest reigning title-holder in history. But the six-time World Champion is also a quadruple winner of the Crimson Blazer - 2011, 2012, 2017 and 2019 - and tied with Taylor Canfield, Gavin Brady, Rod Davis and Peter Holmberg with four wins each. If Williams can clinch victory in 2021, he'll also become the winningest skipper in the 56-year history of this prestigious event.

'Not if Canfield has his way! Canfield - with Congressional Cup victories in 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2018 - also has his eye on the title, as he vies with formidable competition to unseat Williams. Monnin is the world's top-ranked match racing skipper; Egnot-Johnson is ranked number three; and Mesnil, number four. Robertson, a two-time World Champion, took second in the 2015 Congressional Cup, and wild card pick Berntsson was the 2009 champion and a three-time runner up. A second wild card selection - based on past Congressional Cup performance - is LBYC member Dickson. A steadfast contender, he's podiumed twice including second place in 2019, and his expertise with the platform and venue are not to be underestimated.

"Every one of these competitors has been here before and made it clear they want to return: we must be doing something right," Macy added. "I'm thrilled to see Phil Robertson return after four years: he's both a fantastic competitor and personality. And Johnie Berntsson is not only a great sailor, but a favorite among our club members. Plus there's the fiery rivalry between Taylor Canfield and Ian Williams... it is stacking up to be an extraordinary event!"

Racing commences Wednesday September 15 with grand prix dueling in the waters off the Belmont Veterans Memorial Pier. The race format includes a Double Round Robin followed by semi-finals and petite finals, with finals on Sunday. Meanwhile, ashore, racers will be hosted by the generous and enthusiastic members of LBYC. More than 300 supporters sign up to volunteer in every aspect of race management, organization and hospitality, making it one of the most unique and sought-after premier yachting events for both fans and competitors alike.

"Long Beach Yacht Club has always been innovative and forward-thinking, while still maintaining our roots and pedigree. The Congressional Cup is one of the most prestigious events in yacht racing, and should be a source of pride for every single member of this club," Macy said. To encourage participation LBYC will host a Volunteer Rally June 27 to introduce members to the many facets of the regatta. "Very few yacht clubs offer their members the chance to rub elbows with this caliber of competitor, or be involved in this level of competition," he asserted.

The Congressional Cup is a World Championship Event in the 2021 WMRT, but is best known as the 'grandfather of match racing.' Founded in 1965 by Long Beach Yacht Club (LBYC), organizers revolutionized the game of match racing with on-the-water umpiring, and by providing a fleet of identical 37-foot Catalina sloops to ensure the competition is a test of skill and strategy. Each race day at 11AM, spectators pour onto the Pier - at 15 39th Place in Long Beach - to watch this unparalleled, world class competition: absolutely free.

Visit for more information on Congressional Cup; go to for details on the World Match Racing Tour.

Related Articles

Dates set for 57th Congressional Cup
Long Beach Yacht Club has announced the 2022 event schedule Long Beach Yacht Club has announced the 2022 dates for the prestigious Congressional Cup and Ficker Cup regattas, according to Chair Lisa Meier. Posted on 7 Nov
Stars+Stripes win the 56th Congressional Cup
Canfield's fifth victory makes him the winningest skipper in history Taylor Canfield's (USA) Team Stars+Stripes has triumphed in the 56th Congressional Cup at Long Beach Yacht Club, capping five-days of high-test competition in this World Match Racing Tour championship event. Posted on 20 Sep
Shaking it up at Congressional Cup
Poole joins Canfield, Berntsson & Monnin in semis It wasn't just the sudden 4.3 earthquake that shook things up at the Congressional Cup this weekend. The spirited racing, which had started Wednesday Sept. 15, found five skippers battling for the final spot in the semi-final round. Posted on 19 Sep
Top 3 set at the 56th Congressional Cup
4th berth up for grabs in the Semi Finals Today the top three skippers racing in the 56th Congressional Cup regatta at Long Beach Yacht Club here cemented their positions in the semi-finals, but the battle is still waging for fourth place and who will advance to the next stage. Posted on 18 Sep
Dynamic day 2 at the 56th Congressional Cup
Rust shaken off as the racers surge into full form It was evident today, on Day Two of the Congressional Cup regatta here, that racers have shaken off any dust or rust caused by the pandemic pause and surged into full form. Posted on 17 Sep
Canfield leads on day 1 of 56th Congressional Cup
Ten of the world's top match racing teams competing in stellar conditions The 56th Congressional Cup is under way, with 10 of the world's top match racing teams competing in stellar conditions off the Belmont Veterans Memorial Pier here today. Posted on 16 Sep
Long Beach Yacht Club Congressional Cup is a 'go'
"We're T-minus two-weeks and counting!" Despite last-minute roster changes and protocol requirements, Macy revealed, "There's a definite buzz at the Club: you can feel the energy building and the excitement, that after two and one half years - this is really happening!" Posted on 4 Sep
Congressional Cup: Volunteer run, volunteer fun
One of the most popular events in the eyes of the pro athletes With just six weeks to go 'til the start of the 56th Congressional Cup, Long Beach Yacht Club has rallied the troops and organized an army of volunteers to orchestrate this world-renowned competition, slated for September 14 to 19, 2021. Posted on 6 Aug
New dates for 56th Congressional Cup
Long Beach Yacht Club's flagship match racing event now to be held in November Congressional Cup Chairman Chris Macy has announced the 2021 event will be postponed to mid-September in light of the status of the COVID-19 pandemic and recovery. Posted on 15 Jan
56th Congressional Cup dates set
Grade One Match Racing competition to be held in May 2021 Founded and hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club since 1965, the Grade One competition is known as the 'grandfather of match racing' and pioneer of on-the-water umpiring that is the standard in yacht racing today. Posted on 28 Sep 2020
Coast Guard Foundation FOOTER 1Hella Dual Colour Floodlights - 728 x 90px - 1 jpg BottomSOUTHERN-SPARS-AGLAIA-SPARS_728X90 Bottom