Please select your home edition
North Sails 2021 Innovation - LEADERBOARD

Jangada win RORC Yacht of the Year 2020

by Louay Habib 17 Dec 2020 03:29 PST
Jangada, Richard Palmer's British JPK 10.10 announced as RORC Yacht of the Year 2020. L to R: Richard Palmer and Jeremy Waitt with the Somerset Memorial Trophy - awarded for outstanding racing achievement by a RORC Member © RORC

The 2020 RORC Yacht of the Year, winning the Somerset Memorial Trophy is the British JPK 10.10 Jangada, owned by Richard Palmer. Racing with Jeremy Waitt as crew, Jangada was the overall winner of the RORC Transatlantic Race and winner of the Two-Handed Class for the RORC Caribbean 600. Only two other Two-Handed teams have won the award before; Shaun Murphy with Slingshot in 2006 and Nick Martin with Diablo-J in 2012.

For the first time in the history of the club the RORC Season's Points Championship had to be cancelled. Health restrictions made it impossible to run overnight races for all IRC classes. Whilst Richard Palmer was recovering from a knee operation, Jangada was raced Two-Handed by Jeremy Waitt and Shirley Robertson, winning the newly organised Two-Handed Autumn Series.

Since 1965, the Somerset Memorial Trophy has been awarded for outstanding racing achievement by a RORC Member. Despite most of the 2020 season being cancelled, the RORC Committee thought it appropriate to continue with the history of the trophy in highlighting the outstanding racing achievement of Jangada in 2020.

Richard Palmer was asked to comment on receiving the award and what advantages a Corinthian team may have: "I'm delighted for Jangada, for those that have raced onboard, and all the people who support our campaign. As Corinthian sailors we are in control of our campaign, the races we choose, the investment in the boat and the pace we set, which places us under less external pressures or constraints. It is a huge accolade to be recognised by one's peers in such a way."

Jeremy Waitt commented on the win and the keys that have unlocked the success: "When you look down the list of previous winners it's incredible to have Jangada as part of that dynasty of yachts. The whole Jangada team, both ashore and afloat, is very proud to be part of this success.

"Success takes patience and time; for us the real effort has been the last 10 years, both with Jangada Too (J/109) and now with Jangada (JPK 10.10). We have systematically worked our way through our approach and left no aspect unturned to find what it takes to win races consistently at this level. We have been lucky to have some great sailors aboard to coach and feedback about our methodologies and this continues to help us gain the incremental margins."

Jangada is planning to come back racing next year in the 2021 RORC Season's Points Championship, including the Rolex Fastnet Race. For more information:

RORC Yacht of the Year - 2009-2020 winners - Somerset Memorial Trophy

2020 Jangada, JPK 10.10, Richard Palmer
2019 Wizard, Volvo 70, Peter and David Askew
2018 Ichi Ban, TP52, Matt Allen
2017 Lisa, First 44.7, Nick & Suzi Jones (skippered by Michael Boyd)
2016 Teasing Machine, A13, Eric de Turckheim
2015 Azzam, Volvo Ocean 65, skippered by Ian Walker (Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing team)
2014 Antix, Ker 39, Anthony O'Leary
2013 Courrier Vintage, MC34 Patton, Sam Marsaudon & Géry Trentesaux
2012 Diablo-J, J/105, Nick Martin
2011 RÁN, JV 72, Niklas Zennström
2010 Tonnerre de Breskens 3, Ker 46, Piet Vroon
2009 Puma Logic, Reflex 38, (skippered by Philippe Falle)

Related Articles

International fleet set for RORC Caribbean 600
Over 70 teams from 16 different nations are expected to compete Over 70 teams from 16 different nations are expected for the 2023 RORC Caribbean 600, with a dozen or more boats racing in the inaugural RORC Nelson's Cup Series. Posted on 1 Feb
IRC Measurement Manual updated
A comprehensive guide to help ensure good and consistent measurement practice The international IRC rating rule has always been a self-measurement system, and official measurement is not a rule requirement unless the boat needs an Endorsed IRC certificate. Posted on 1 Feb
The record-breaking 2023 RORC Transatlantic Race
Near perfect trade wind conditions for the ninth edition Starting from Marina Lanzarote on the 8th of January 2023, the ninth edition of the RORC Transatlantic Race had near perfect trade wind conditions. Posted on 30 Jan
Upping the ante for the 50th Rolex Fastnet Race
James Boyd reviews some of the latest hardware built or acquired especially for this year's race Names on the Fastnet Challenge Cup include Jolie Brise, Dorade, Myth of Malham, Carina II, Pen Duick III, Condor, Nicorette, Morning Glory, Nokia, Rán 2, Night and Day, Courrier Du Leon and Lann Ael 2, plus the American VO70 Wizard and the Sunrise. Posted on 27 Jan
Pata Negra has won IRC One
Finishing RORC Transatlantic Race along with Pen Duick VI today Marie Tabarly's 73ft ketch Pen Duick VI (FRA) finished the RORC Transatlantic Race on Sunday 22nd January in an elapsed time of 13 days 19 hours 33 mins 53 secs. Posted on 22 Jan
8 boats still racing in RORC Transatlantic Race
There is a warm greeting on the dock 24-7 Following the announcement of Teasing Machine's overall win in the RORC Transatlantic Race, three more teams have finished the 3,000-mile race across the Atlantic Ocean. Posted on 20 Jan
Teasing Machine IRC Overall Winner
Of the 2023 RORC Transatlantic Race RORC Vice Commodore Eric de Turckheim, racing his NMYD 54 Teasing Machine (FRA) is the overall winner under IRC for the 2023 RORC Transatlantic Race. While 10 boats are still racing, none of them can beat Teasing Machine's corrected time under IRC. Posted on 19 Jan
IMA Transatlantic Trophy awarded to I Love Poland
RORC Racing Manager, Steve Cole welcomed special guests to the presentation The Polish National Foundation's Volvo 70 I Love Poland (POL), skippered by Grzegorz Baranowski was presented with the 19th century silver IMA Transatlantic Trophy by the Secretary General of the International Maxi Association, Andrew McIrvine. Posted on 19 Jan
Rush hour in the RORC Transatlantic Race
Four more monohulls completed the race in the space of just nine hours Following the finish of Volvo 70 I Love Poland (POL), four more monohulls completed the RORC Transatlantic Race in the space of just nine hours. Posted on 18 Jan
Canada Ocean Racing finish the Transatlantic Race
Skippers Scott Shawyer and Alan Roberts finish in 9 days, 12 hours, 57 minutes Racing double-handed, skippers Scott Shawyer and Alan Roberts finish the first race in Canada Ocean Racing history. Finishing with a time of 9 days 12 hours 57 minutes 53 seconds places the duo as 2nd in IRC super zero and Monohull Line honors. Posted on 18 Jan
SailGP_Technologies_Metal_1456x180 BOTTOMBlokart SW 728 x 90 BOTTOMArmstrong-Suptonic-728x90-2 BOTTOM