Please select your home edition
Upffront 2020 Foredeck Club SW LEADERBOARD

2000 Class Millennium Series 2020 Event 2 at Keyhaven Yacht Club

by Keyhaven YC 7 Sep 2020 21:23 PDT 5-6 September 2020

The weekend of 5th-6th September had Keyhaven Yacht Club successfully host one of the 2000 Class Association events. Chairman of the 2000 Association, Kev O'Brien congratulated KYC on a 'magnificent achievement to support the event so well on land and water within the limits of Covid-19 restrictions'. It attracted not only local Competitors but also, others from as afar afield as Rutland Water SC and Snettisham Beach SC (Norfolk).

Organised by the 2000 Class Association, the two days of racing had shifty NW to W to WSW wind ranging from 12-18 knots. There was good competition across the fleet and lots of progress during the weekend. The gusts of Day One caught out a few of the sailors with a number of capsizes in the three races.

The 2000 National Champions Rob and Sarah Burridge had some issues when they hooked a lobster pot in the second race which took of their rudder and damaged the pintail so they had to retire to the Clubhouse to effect repairs.

Simon Horsefield and Katie Burridge had a fantastic day with 3 wins back to back. Keyhaven Sailors, Cy & Lisa Grisley and Matt Wright & Alex Pepper, were close to each other all day but Cy and Lisa took advantage of the tide in the second race to escape and take a second place.

Rob and Sarah Burridge came back strong and got a first in the fourth race but Simon Horsfield and Katie Burridge took the fifth race leaving them as the overall winners on 4 points. Second overall was the Class Chairman Kev O'Brian and Gemma Burridge and third overall was Ed and Ruben Dodwell, Ruben also won the first junior as well having sailed exceptionally well on Day Two.

There was some close racing for the local sailors with the first Keyhaven Yacht Club boats in 4th and 5th with equal points, Cy and Lisa Grisley taking 4th on countback.

Excellent racing was had by all, so much so that KYC look forward to a return visit from the 2000 Association in 2021.

Overall Results:

PosSail NoHelmCrewClubR1R2R3R4R5Pts
1st22658Simon HorsefieldKatie BurridgeWeirwood SC111‑214
2nd22674Kev O'BrienGemma BurridgeWeirwood SC332‑4311
3rd22632Edward DodwellRuben DodwellRAFYC8‑1133418
4th2397Cy GrisleyLisa GrisleyKYC726‑8621
5th22340Matt WrightAlex PepperKYC‑6556521
6th2458Rob BurridgeSarah BurridgeWeirwood SC2RTD(DNC)1223
7th22564Helen PhillipsAndrew PhillipsCardiff Bay YC56‑105723
8th22547Mark FoleyLaura Holmes‑ShortSnettisham Beach SC444(DSQ)DNS29
9th21439Jon HarveyRichard EdwardsKYC‑148971034
10th2214Malcolm LeeClaire LeeKYC117‑129835
11th22281Martin BarkerJoanne KirbyLilliput SC9107‑121238
12th23Joe GallivanCharles BellLTSC10(SCP)811938
13th22352Mike McEwingImogen McEwingRAFSA / Rutland12‑1311101144
14th21549Charlie AnsteeTim AnsteeKYC1614(DNC)151459
15th21995John TurnerRob TarbardKYCRTD12(DNC)14RTD61
16th21592Rob FarquharsonHelen FarquharsonKYC15RTD(DNC)131561
17th21893Ben RossAndy CoddLTSC(DNC)DNCRTDDSQ1364
18th22160Robin DentPenny DentKYC13RTD(DNC)DNCDNC69

Related Articles

Staunton Harold 2000 & RS200 Open
A thoroughly enjoyable day on the water On the day early heavy rain eased to show almost perfect sailing conditions. Race officer Alan Bennett set good windward leeward courses and provided a rapid turn around of races. Posted on 12 May
2000s and RS200s at Staunton Harold in May
The club's first open meeting of 2021 Staunton Harold SC looks forward to welcoming LDC 2000 and RS200 sailors on Saturday 8th May to our first Open event of 2021. Posted on 20 Apr
2000 Class Association hold virtual livestream
For the 2020 Millenium Series prize giving The 2000 Class delivered their Millennium Series 2020 prize-giving via livestream. The stream was broadcast on Friday 19th Feb, hosted by Kev O'Brien (2000 Chair). The top 4 places were awarded trophies that were mailed before the livestream. Posted on 22 Feb
Astral Azure 2000 Nationals prize draw extended
Event to be held at the excellent Royal Torbay Yacht Club Due to Lockdown 3 we're extending the time limit for entries to the Astral Azure Nationals to be entered into the draw for a FREE ENTRY! Posted on 11 Jan
Noble Marine 2000 Class sponsor for 2021
Renewed support for the class from the boat insurer We're extremely pleased to announce that Noble Marine Insurance have renewed their sponsorship of the 2000 Class for 2021. Posted on 10 Jan
2000 Class Millennium Series sponsor announced
West Country Boat Repairs support the six events in 2021 The Series will be two inland events and four sea rounds all in spectacular locations from Derbyshire in April down to Hampshire from April to September. Posted on 29 Dec 2020
2000 Class announces 2021 schedule
A full programme of events after the shortened 2020 season The 2000 Class is pleased to announce a full programme of events for 2021, after a shortened 2020 season. The 2000 Class will benefit from two series, as well as three coaching events. Posted on 25 Nov 2020
2000 Millennium Series Event 3 at Itchenor
A small but quality fleet of ten visiting boats A small but quality fleet of ten visiting boats, two from Wales, joined one home boat at Itchenor Sailing Club on the weekend of the 12/13th September for round 3 of the 2000 class Millennium series. Posted on 15 Sep 2020
Astral Azure 2000 Class Nationals overall
Sarah and Rob Burridge take the title when last races cancelled No covid-safe sailing has been possible yesterday or today due to Storm Ellen. Thus Tuesday evening's results are final! Congratulations to Sarah and Rob Burridge the 2020 champions. Posted on 21 Aug 2020
Astral Azure 2000 Class Nationals at Brixham day 3
Three races run but Storm Ellen may have curtailed the event A confident race officer, the excellent Sean Semmens of BYC expected a stronger breeze than Monday. So assured, the fleet set sail driftily across the millpond of the bay. Posted on 19 Aug 2020
Highfield Boats - SW - FOOTERVaikobi 2021 FlexForce - FOOTERCyclops 2020 - SmartlinkNano - FOOTER