Please select your home edition
North Sails 2019 - NSVictoryList - Leaderboard

2020 SB20 Tasmanian Championship on the River Derwent - Preview

by Jane Austin 11 Feb 15:15 PST 15-16 February 2020
The Tasmanian SB20 fleet provides lots of action in the Banjos Shoreline Crown Series Bellerive Regatta © Jane Austin

The 2020 SB20 Tasmanian Championship will be decided on the River Derwent in Hobart this weekend, 15-16 February 2020.

The event, which is part of the Bellerive Yacht Club's Banjo's Shoreline Crown Series Bellerive Regatta, will be another tough battle for the local boats with some of the top performers from last year's SB20 World Championship back on the water to contest the two-day event.

The Porco Rosso team, skippered by Paul McCartney with Ed Snowball, will be defending their title which they won convincingly from Frazer Read (Pinch) and Nick Rogers (Karabos) in 2019.

Porco Rosso welcomes back current SB20 Australian Champion David Chapman (Chappo) who was onboard as tactician and mainsheet trimmer in Singapore last week, due to the unavailability of Elliott Noye. The team placed third in the SB20 Singaporean Nationals and eighth in the Asian Grand Slam and Asia Pacific Championship, after illness robbed them of a day's racing.

"While having Chappo onboard isn't a permanent change, we are in effect a new crew working to gel as quickly as we can. Chappo gives me confidence in my helming which is important as I haven't been on the stick for a while. Communication is fast and direct, so we need to be on the ball and ready to respond, even if we aren't exactly sure why sometimes," said McCartney. Chapman will be sailing with team on the last twilight race this week before the Championship gets under way.

Challengers on the racecourse who will be in on the hunt for the perpetual trophy include Andrew Smith (Imp), who will be back on the water after a solid break following his 2019 international campaign, while 2017 Australian SB20 Champion and world-class sailor Brett Cooper (Aeolus), is always tough to beat on the Derwent.

Both will face some stiff opposition from SB20 Australian Class President Stephen Catchpool (Rebellion), David Graney (Wedgewood), Phil Reid (Mind Games) and Scott Glanville (Blue Gull), who have been consistent performers in the pre- and post-Christmas summer pennant series. The start line will see one all-female crew and three youth teams including two from The Hutchins School Sailing Academy.

Race results can be found here

Related Articles

2020 SB20 League at Birzebbuga Sailing Club
Organised by the SB20 Malta Association over the weekend The fifth ranking race of the 2019/2020 SB20 league was held on the 15th and 16th February. Organised by the SB20 Malta Association and hosted by Birzebbuga Sailing Club, the event also garnered the support of Yachting Malta. Posted on 18 Feb
2020 SB20 Tasmanian Championship overall
Victorian father and son combination sail to victory Victorian father and son combination Chris and Lockie Dare with Ben Lamb from NSW sailed their SB20 Ambition to victory today in the final day of racing in the Tasmanian SB20 Championship. Posted on 16 Feb
2020 SB20 Tasmanian Championship, day 1
Victorian Chris Dare leading the Championship Victorian father and son combination Chris and Lochie Dare with Oliver Tweddell (Ambition) are leading the Tasmanian SB20 Championship which is sailed as part of the Banjo's Shoreline Crown Series Bellerive Regatta on the River Derwent in Hobart. Posted on 15 Feb
Successful rehearsal for SB20 Worlds 2021
SB20 Grand Slam Week 2020 concluded with record number of participating boats The SB20 Asian Grand Slam Week from 5-9 February 2020 at ONE degrees15 Marina Sentosa Cove has been a great practice regatta for the SB20 World Championship 2021. Posted on 14 Feb
Youth Keelboat Academy launches in Essex
An initiative of Marconi Sailing Club A new Academy opens in Essex this week that aims to help young people aged between 14 and 24 to develop their skills to sail and race keelboats, whether for pleasure, or racing at national level. Posted on 4 Feb
SB20 Summer Pennant Series in Hobart races 4 & 5
Blue Gull and Cook Your Own Dinner joint winners on performance handicap In a series that seems jinxed by the weather gods, the fleet was facing a hefty 30 knot sea breeze an hour before the start of sailing, but fortunately the wind dropped enough to get the fleet under way. Posted on 2 Feb
SB20 Grand Slam Week preview
One year countdown to the Worlds at the same venue in Singapore The SB20 Asian Grand Slam Week will be on 5-9 February 2020 at ONE degrees15 Marina Sentosa Cove. The event will combine two regattas: the Singapore National Championship and the Asia Pacific Championship (APAC). Posted on 31 Jan
SB20 Summer Sailing on the River Derwent
A wild time sees wind, rain, thrills and spills The Tasmanian SB20 fleet had a wild time on the River Derwent on the second night of sailing in the Post-Christmas Summer Pennant Series. While the forecast thunderstorm didn't eventuate, the fleet was buffeted by shifting winds of up to 30 knots Posted on 26 Jan
Spring Bay Mill sponsor SB20 Australian Champs
Next year's championship will be sailed on Spring Bay Spring Bay Mill, owned by Australian environmentalist, philanthropist and sailor Graeme Wood AM, has been announced as the naming rights sponsor for the 2020 SB20 Australian Sailing Championship. Posted on 17 Dec 2019
Cowes Week announces the Official Charity for 2020
Scaramouche Sailing Trust gets youngster from North London into sailing Cowes Week Limited is delighted to announce that the Official Charity for the 2020 edition of the regatta will be Greig City Academy's, Scaramouche Sailing Trust. This six year old school sailing club, which became a charity last year Posted on 15 Dec 2019
ETNZShop-Merch-728x90 HR BottomMarine Resources 2019 - FooterVaikobi 2019AUG - Footer 3