Please select your home edition
Highfield Boats - Sailing - LEADERBOARD

Cape to Rio Hall of Fame - Lunch with the race legends

by Simone Balman 13 Nov 2019 05:14 PST 4-11 January 2020
Cape to Rio - Hall of Fame © Alec Smith / Image Mundi

On Monday, Cape to Rio 2020 Race Officer John Martin caught up with some very old friends for lunch, one thing that they all have in common besides their passion for the sea is the Cape to Rio Race.

The race has forged friendships that have lasted for decades.

John Martin, who is this year's Race Officer, besides as a competitor, has been actively involved in the Race over the years. He was Race Chairman in 2009 (to Salvador) and 2011 (to Rio).

During his ocean racing career of some 40 years, John Martin is arguably the most capped Springbok for Ocean Racing having been awarded colours 8 times. He skippered famous yachts such as Voortrekker II (Tuna Marine) and Allied Bank (both 60ft monohulls) achieving notable success in six Transatlantic Races; Two Round the World Single-Handed Races, winning three legs; State President's Sports Award (Gold) twice; Yachtsman of the Year - twice; three times winner of the Gordon Burnwood Trophy for Outstanding Yachting Achievements in South Africa.

Over the course of his illustrious career, John and Sir Robin Knox Johnson became firm friends.

In 1969, Sir Robin became the first person to perform a single-handed non-stop circumnavigation of the globe. Along with Sir Peter Blake, he won the second Jules Verne Trophy, for which they were also named the ISAF Yachtsman of the Year award.

Sir Robin, Leslie Williams and their crew, which included Peter Blake, took line honours of the inaugural 1971 Cape Town to Rio Race. In 2007, at the age of 67, he set a record as the oldest yachtsman to complete a solo round the world voyage in the Velux 5 Oceans Race. In 1996, Sir Robin established the first Clipper Round the World Yacht Race and has since worked with the Clipper Ventures company as chairman.

Also old friends, John and Bernhard Teuteberg joined the Navy at the same time and "slung hammocks" aboard the good ship SAS Jan van Riebeeck and they sailed Flying Dutchmen together as Midshipmen.

Bernard is older brother to Hanno Teuteberg who skippered "Broomstick" (a locally manufactured maxi) in the 1993 race managed to beat rival Parker Pen across the line by just five hours, to take line honours in a time of 15 days, 3 hours and 10 minutes - a new record time. Bernard crewed with Bertie Reed in the 1976 race on Voortrekker and is now retired as Deputy Chief of the Navy.

Hanno Teuteberg has not only won the Cape to Rio race, line honours once and twice in the handicap class, but has now also since retired as Deputy Chief of the Navy.

Between these four sailing legends, they have millions of sea miles under their keels, but the enduring friendships that have withstood the test of time and tides, can only serve as an inspiration to the younger generation setting out on their first #adventureofalifetime.

Related Articles

Cape2Rio Race announces first single-handed entry
The name Kuttel is not a new one in the world of local and ocean racing circles His brother Edward "Teddy" Kuttel continues to race actively out of Cape Town. The Kuttel sons have continued this enjoyment of ocean racing, participating together to race the Class 40 "Privateer" double-handed in the 2014 Cape2Rio race. Posted on 13 Jan
Virtual Cape2Rio Race to start on 2nd January
As a celebration of the 50th Anniversary of the event Online navigation is a great way to hone your skills, to understand the science of weather routing and the interpretation of data now so readily available via the advent of cloud computing. Posted on 20 Dec 2020
Criloa set to return for Cape to Rio 2023
A historic entry with an all-female crew An entry by Carina Magri Seixas, "CarinaJoana" to her friends, has been received to sail the race in the magnificently maintained Impala 35 Criloa. Posted on 5 Dec 2020
First Multihull entry for Cape2Rio 2023
Aventureiro 4 is an Outremer 51 belonging to Johan "Hans" Hutzler Entries and expressions of interest in the 2023 Cape2Rio race keep rolling in and the Royal Cape Yacht Club and Iate Club do Rio de Janeiro are delighted to have received the first Multihull entry. Posted on 16 Nov 2020
Cape2Rio 2023 first entry received
The Botin56 'Black Pearl' is announced as the first official entry Royal Cape Yacht Club and Iate Clube do Rio de Janeiro are delighted to announce the first official entry for the Cape 2 Rio Race 2023. Posted on 11 Nov 2020
50th anniversary of Cape2Rio date announced
A blue water dash across the South Atlantic Ocean in 2023 Cape2Rio2023, The Royal Cape Yacht Club, Cape Town South Africa in conjunction with the Iate Club Rio de Janeiro are proud to announce that they will proceed with the running of another edition of this Iconic Ocean Racing Classic. Posted on 3 Oct 2020
LoveWater take line honours in Cape2Rio2020 Race
Maserati's second was not fast enough for a handicap win Maserati needed to finish by 14:26 UTC to hold onto the handicap lead they had held for many days. Sadly for them, they just didn't have enough wind to keep up the exciting charge to the end, and finished 15:39. Posted on 20 Jan 2020
Luke Scott on the Cape to Rio Transatlantic Race
An interview with Luke Scott about the Cape to Rio 2020 Transatlantic Race I checked in with Luke Scott, race chair of the Cape to Rio 2020 Transatlantic Race, to learn more about this exciting offshore race. Posted on 1 Jan 2020
Cape2Rio2020: LoveWater arrives in Cape Town
The trimaran is one of the top 10 fastest ocean crossing yachts in the world Hopeful Cape to Rio 2020 yacht race winner, LoveWater, sponsored by JSE listed HomeChoice International Ltd and skippered by Craig Sutherland is expected to arrive in the V&A Waterfront this evening. Posted on 12 Dec 2019
Cape2Rio2020 Ocean Race: #Sail4Good
Freedom Sail Round Robben Island taking place on Monday The Cape2Rio2020 Ocean Race supports positive and constructive efforts to improve and assist a broad spectrum of causes close to the hearts and minds of competitors and race supporters, by using the race as a platform to showcase and promote good. Posted on 12 Dec 2019
Cyclops 2020 - SmartlinkNano - FOOTERHenri-Lloyd 2021 INEOS TEAM UK - FOOTERNorth Sails 2019 - NSVictoryList - Footer