Please select your home edition
Allen Brothers

Epic Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta for J/crews at Larchmont Yacht Club

by J/Boats 20 Oct 2019 05:45 PDT 11-13 October 2019
2019 Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta © Steve Cloutier

Initially established in the early 1970's by "The Corinthians" that ran the regatta until 1999, the collegiate offshore regatta was then picked up by Storm Trysail Club. The invitational regatta is held annually out of Larchmont Yacht Club, who is a co-organizer of the event, in addition to the Storm Trysail Club and Foundation.

For the 2019 edition, the STC Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta was hosted by LYC from October 12th to 13th for forty-eight college teams from across the country and Europe. Of those 48-boats donated by owner/sponsors, fully thirty-nine of them were J/Boats owners (81% of the fleet). In short, it is a J/Boats College Offshore Regatta due to the amazing generosity and passion for sailing from J/Boats owners.

The dozen-boat J/105 class was won by the U.S. Naval Academy team sailing on CONUNDRUM, skippered by Nick Walden with crew of Luke Gillcrist, Sam Hall, Jack King, Zach Medeiros, and Eddie Rankin. Second was Boston University sailing RAVEN, skippered by Stanley Schreyer with crew of Collin Alexander, Jim Collins, Liam Dwyer, Emily Garrard, Matt Hamelsky, and Teo Waalberg. Third place went to Stevens Institute of Technology sailing MAGIC, skippered by Matt Roleke with crew of Aidan McEnroe, Townsend Morey, Mack Totman, Jesse Stevenson, and Alex Wiggins.

The nine-boat J/109 class had close-racing amongst the top five teams. Winning was Jacksonville College on GUARDIAN J, skippered by Telmo Basterra with crew of Sam Baker, Telmo Basterra, Grace Benzal, Logan Brickhouse, Ian Hunter, Jarret Monroe, and Stephen Streater. Second was University of Rhode Island sailing EMOTICON, skippered by Cecilia Schneider with crew of Parker Colantuono, Peter Gunn, AJ Kozaritz, Aidan Naughton, Ryan Palardy, and Chris Pearson. Third place on a tie-breaker was the Virginia Tech University team sailing ZIG ZAG skippered by Linda Lovelace with crew of Gustav Berner, Jack Carroll, Allie Champion, Oscare Johansson, Jackson Livanec, and Reid Shanabrook.

In the J/44 Class, winning the James Bishop Memorial Trophy was the U.S. Naval Academy on MAXINE. Their team was comprised of skipper Hayden Kuzemchak with crew of Kaitlyn Boyle, Brett Eckert, Tim Forman, Zach Krause, Matt Malone, Kevin Navarro, and Phillip Smith. Second was US Merchant Marine Academy on VAMP, with Ken Luczynski as skipper. Then, rounding out the podium was the Maine Maritime Academy on BREAKAWAY with Taylor Martin on the wheel.

Winning the PHRF Medium Class was the Fordham University Team sailing the J/124 TENEBRAE, with skipper Tucker Hersam with crew of Matt Alfano, Will Dumke, Eddie Harrison, Sam Johnson, Porter Kavle, Declan Lombard, and Scott McKenzie. Third went to Michigan State University sailing the J/112E REVIVER, skippered by Connor Baker with crew of Tim Dickey, Adeline Grootendorst, Brenna Hover, Corinne Nedeau, Charlie Parker, Teddy Prokop, Eva Rossell, Ella Wynsma, and Murphy Wynsma.

Then ten-boat PHRF Small Class was dominated by all J/Teams. It was a formidable fleet with equally phenomenal competition. The top six boats all finished, essentially, in a massive tie-breaker. The podium was determined on a FOUR-WAY tiebreaker at eight points each! LOL! And fifth was determined on a two-way tiebreaker at nine pts each! Hokey Smokes Bullwinkle, I'm confuzzzed! Winning was Yale University on the J/100 BLACKCOMB with a 7-1 tally for 8 pts, skippered by Emery Wallace with crew of Jacob Asher, Chris Chaumont, Liv Mosnoi, Martin Tipton, and Adam Wolnikowski. Second was University of Toledo on the J/88 YONDER with 1-7 scores for 8 pts, skippered by Ethan Taylor with crew of Brandon Austin, Kaitlin Conner, and Eric Lynch. Third was University of Maryland sailing the J/88 OH JEE with a 6-2 record, skippered by Cole Daitch with crew of Mike Bisson, Chuck Cannon, Natalie Jones, Madelie Mulligan, and Rachel Prucnal.

Thanks to all the J/Boat owners and sailors that made this regatta possible. Lots of fun was had by all by the 400+ college sailors! Click here for STC Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta scores. Click here for more STC Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta sailing information

Related Articles

J/88 North Americans at Larchmont
John Sommi's Cloud 9 triumphs The regatta started with a coastal storm on Thursday, with steady winds of 35 knots and gusts exceeding 45 knots, leading to an abandonment of all racing for the day. Four races were held on day two in a shifty NW wind of 20 knots, gusting to 28. Posted on 21 Oct 2019
Edlu Distance Race preview
It is one the "must-do" events on western Long Island Sound The Spinnaker course is 32.0nm from the Larchmont Breakwater to Gong 11B off Eaton's Neck and back. The Non-Spinnaker course is approximately 20.0nm. Posted on 10 May 2019
LOKI three-peats J/109 North Americans
David Rosow's team from New York have won the coveted title for the third time The Larchmont YC hosted the 2018 J/109 North American Championship for a very competitive twenty-boat fleet on western Long Island Sound. The fleet was treated to a very wide range of racing conditions over the span of ten races! Posted on 22 Oct 2018
2018 J/109 North Americans preview
A total of twenty entries from across the board After an incredibly successful weekend introducing young college sailors to the wonders of big-boat sailing, the J/109 fleet now changes tacks and focuses on their 2018 J/109 North American Championship. Posted on 10 Oct 2018
Butch Ulmer on the 2018 J/109 North Americans
An interview with Butch Ulmer about the 2018 J/109 North Americans I checked in with Butch Ulmer, principal race officer for the 2018 J/109 North Americans, via email, to learn more about this highly competitive One Design regatta. Posted on 8 Oct 2018
Ron Weiss on the Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta
An interview with Ron Weiss about the 2018 Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta I checked in with Ron Weiss, Chairman of the Storm Trysail Communications and Sponsorship Committee, about the 2018 Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta. Posted on 1 Oct 2018
"Can One" Evening Racing announcement
A J/105 one-design start offered this season The "Can One Evening Race Association" is happy to offer a J/105 one-design start this season in their Thursday night series. Posted on 11 Feb 2018
Stella Artois J/105 North Americans overall
Terry McLaughlin & Rod Wilmer's Mandate rules It took until the sixth race of the Stella Artois J/105 North American Championship before another team could cross the finish line ahead of Terry McLaughlin and Rod Wilmer's Mandate. Posted on 23 Oct 2016
Stella Artois J/105 North Americans day 3
Terry McLaughlin & Rod Wilmer's Mandate nearly flawless Terry McLaughlin and Rod Wilmer's Mandate built a perfect scoreline through five races at the Stella Artois J/105 North American Championship, until Bruce Stone and Nicole Breault's Good Trade won Saturday's final race. Posted on 22 Oct 2016
Stella Artois J/105 North Americans day 1
Mandate leads the pack in New York Terry McLaughlin and Rod Wilmer's Mandate revelled in the blustery conditions on day one of the Stella Artois J/105 North American Championship, hosted by Larchmont Yacht Club in New York. Posted on 21 Oct 2016
Melges 14 2019 FooterHighfield Boats - Sailing - FOOTERNorth Sails 2019 - NSVictoryList - Footer