Please select your home edition
Rooster GETSEASMART 728x90

Bellerive Yacht Club Winter double for Jeff Cordell

by Peter Campbell 8 Sep 12:33 PDT
Jeff Cordell's Mumm 36, B&G Advantage ended up winning both the AMS and PHS scoring categories of Division 1 of his club winter series. © Peter Watson

Bellerive Yacht Club member Jeff Cordell, one of southern Tasmania's great supporters of yacht racing as a strong competitor and honorary administrators for the past 30 years, yesterday scored a well-deserved double victory in his club's Winter Series with his ageless Mumm 36, B&G Advantage.

Although beaten on AMS corrected time in the final of the five-race BYC/Hobart Jaguar Land Rover Winter Series, B&G Advantage won both the AMS and PHS scoring categories of Division 1.

Cordell has raced the Mumm 36 extensively in combined club harbour races and also offshore with success, also becoming the inaugural Tasmanian champion yacht under AMS scoring and also holds the unofficial title of Mumm 36 'world champion.'

Yesterday's final BYC winter race, sailed in perfect conditions on the Derwent, saw B&G Advantage narrowly beaten on corrected time by the MBD 36 Whistler, the first win for its new owner, former Sharpie Australian champion Drew Latham.

Michael Denney celebrated his birthday by taking third place in Wild West, ensuring the Z39 third place in AMS overall, B&G Advantage finishing with a net four points, Whistler seven points and Wild West 11 points.

In Division 1, PHS final results, B&G Advantage finished with a net 11 points, Wild West 12 points and Mike Pritchard's Cookson 50, Oskana third overall on 14 points.

BYC Vice-Commodore Ian Marshall scored his second consecutive win by taking out Division 1 PHS yesterday from Whistler and Wild West, B&G Advantage placing fifth on corrected time.

Yesterday's race saw the River Derwent debut of the Sayer 40, Runaway, which sailing partners Jo Breen and David Aplin recently bought and have entered the Rolex 75th Sydney Hobart Yacht Race. Runaway finished last in the Division 1 fleet.

Another regular supporter of summer and winter river racing and most Tasmanian offshore races, Stewart Geeves, also took out the AMS and PHS overall double in Division 2 with his Young 88, Footloose.

Footloose won its fourth race of the Winter Series yesterday to win the AMS series overall with a net four points from Ian Stewart's Southern Swordfish (11 points)and Anthony Ellis' Moonshadow (12 points). Trouble (Dave Willans) won the Division 2 race on PHS, but it was not good enough to beat Footloose overall. Footloose net score was 10 points, Trouble 12 and Southern Swordfish 15.

Only four boats contested Division 3 (PHS) and only two points separated the top three boats at the end of five races, Sundance (Don Bailey) finishing on a net seven points, Innovator (Ian Smith and Dean Aberle) eight points and Southern Cross (Wayne Pitt) nine points.

Related Articles

Elliott Noye new Tasmanian SB20 champion
Held at the Crown Series Bellerive Regatta Crown Series Bellerive Regatta has become a major annual event on the calendar of Hobart's fleet of SB20 sports boat sailors, this year again using the regatta on-the-water expertise to conduct their Tasmanian State championship. Posted on 18 Feb
Crown Series Bellerive Regatta 2019
Jeff Cordell has won a somewhat rare collection of trophies Bellerive Yacht Club member Jeff Cordell has won a somewhat rare collection of trophies in the weekend's Crown Series Bellerive Regatta with his Mumm 36 yacht B&G Advantage. Posted on 18 Feb
Crown Series Bellerive Regatta 2019
MOB - Man, woman and girl on the River Derwent A strong sea breeze kicking up choppy waters on the Derwent caused some havoc in today's Crown Series Bellerive Regatta, causing three MOB (man overboard) situations. Posted on 16 Feb
AMS championship at Crown Series Bellerive Regatta
Sailors launch Tasmania's biggest regatta Keelboat racing in Hobart has been given significant boost in next month's Banjo's Shoreline Crown Series Bellerive Regatta with the inaugural Australian Measurement System (AMS) Tasmanian Championships being held as part of the event. Posted on 31 Jan
Crown Series Bellerive Regatta 2019 preview
All set for a great weekend of fun afloat and ashore The annual Crown Series Bellerive Regatta on the River Derwent is known among yachties as being all about Performance Handicap (PHS) yacht racing, and keelboat owners and their crews have a great weekend of fun afloat and ashore. Posted on 25 Jan
King of the Derwent - Hobart's ionic river race
Lawless - King of the Derwent for 2019 Lawless, skippered by prominent Port Dalrymple Yacht Club member Stephen McElwee, today placed first on IRC corrected time to win the KOD, outsailing a fleet of yachts that had contested all three long ocean races that finished in Hobart last weekend. Posted on 2 Jan
Hobart Combined Clubs Summer Pennant Race
Hat-trick to Derwent doyen Don Calvert The doyen of Hobart keelboat racing, Don Calvert, has given himself an early 83rd birthday present, scoring a hat-trick of wins with his 34-year-old yacht Intrigue in the Combined Clubs Summer Pennant on the River Derwent. Posted on 11 Nov 2018
Combined Clubs Summer Pennant on River Derwent
near galeforce sou'-westery makes for a wild day for sailing A near galeforce sou'-wester came roaring up the River Derwent at more than 30 knots this afternoon, playing havoc with the Combined Clubs Summer Pennant race, with a man overboard (MOB) situation, a dismasting and other gear damage Posted on 27 Oct 2018
Isle of Caves double to Philosopher
Australian Yachting Championship IRC division winner on great form Judging by her double win overnight in the Isle of Caves race. Shaun Tiedemann's Philosopher is already showing the right form to successfully defend her Australian Yachting Championship IRC division title on Melbourne's Port Phillip next January. Posted on 25 Oct 2018
Hobart Combined Clubs Inshore Series day 1
Memorable day for Paul and Michelle Boutchard Paul Boutchard and his wife Michelle today returned to yacht racing on the River Derwent in their J35 Mem after a break of more than a year, and scored four Division 1 wins. Posted on 20 Oct 2018
Vaikobi 2019AUG - Footer 3WindBot-COACH-660x82SOUTHERN-SPARS-AGLAIA-SPARS_728X90 Bottom