Please select your home edition
Highfield Boats - Sailing - LEADERBOARD

2019 Derwent Sailing Squadron Autumn Short-Handed Series: Father and son success

by Peter Campbell 28 Apr 2019 00:23 PDT
Trouble's short-handed crew got out of trouble in the SW gust on the Derwent today - 2019 Derwent Sailing Squadron Autumn Short-Handed Series © Peter Watson

Southern Tasmania has some unique yacht racing events, such as a series of regattas on the River Derwent and down the D'Entrecasteaux Channel, the circumnavigation of historic Bruny Island and the Autumn Short-Handed Series which began today.

Despite an ominous forecast for the Derwent, 30 of the 38 entries turned out on a chilly and windy autumn Sunday morning, all but three bigger boats crewed by just two sailors.

Father and son crew of Angus and Fynn Sprott were among them, scoring an impressive outright division win on a torrid opening day on the river.

Angus is immediate past Commodore of Sandy Bay Sailing Club while teenager Fynn has moved through the off-the-beach sailing ranks from Optimists to high-performance 29er skiffs.

Sailing Sea Temple, a Beneteau Oceanis 440, the Sprotts took fastest time and first place on PHS handicap in Division 4 (non-spinnaker).

A fleet of 30 yachts, all sailing short-handed, turned out on a chilly and windy autumn morning for the first of five Sunday morning races. Three divisions sailed with spinnakers, two non-spinnaker, in the shifty south to south-westerly breeze that gusted to 30 knots.

With a dark and gloomy weather forecast for the River Derwent it was with some trepidation that RO Gilbert Leitch sent the fleet of 30 short-handed boats on their way for race one of the series.

"Gilbert showed excellent judgement in keep the course close to the windward shore and when the forecast wind did arrive, halfway through the race with up to 30 knots SW gusts, the yachts had an offshore wind and flat water," commented Derwent Sailing Squadron sailing operations manager Peter Watson.

"The first three divisions went to the Manning Reef mark, followed by a short reach to the Nutgrove mark and then a wild run downwind to the start mark off Castray.

"It is a tribute to the seamanship of competitors that there were no retirements and no reported major breakages," added Watson who, as usual, captured the action on his camera.

The Sprott father and son are among several family combinations, including husband-and-wife crews, competing in the Autumn Short-Handed Series, a unique event in Australian sailing.

The Sprotts sailed Sea Temple to victory in Division 4 from Greg Biscup's King Fisher and Adele, sailed by Ross and Mick Clark.

Division 1 is a spinnaker division for bigger boats sailed with a crew of three and race on saw Ian Snape's Elan S4, Frontline, outsail David Aplin's Whistler and Gary Cripps' Guilty Pleasures VI.

Champion helmsmen Michael Cooper and Sam Tiedemann combined to outsail the mainly SB20 opposition in Division 4 (spinnaker), winning from (Phil Reid and crew) and Brainwave (Colleen Darcy and Scott Brain).

Naval architect Fred Barrett and crew John Wearne won Division 2 (spinnaker) with the Barrett-designed sports boat, Fang to the Max. Runner-up was Jiyuu, sailed by Peter and Karen Davis, third place going to Temptation (Steve Harrison and Ben Tanton).

Division 3 (non-spinnaker) attracted the biggest fleet and saw the closest competition with Jim Thorpe and Peter Smart sailing the Beneteau First 33.7, Hydrotherapy to a 10 second win on corrected time from the Hanse 400e Illusion (David Brett and Sam Johnson).

Sydney Hobart Yacht Race veteran Ed Psaltis and his crew, Graham McKibben, took fastest time and third on handicap with Psaltis' Sydney 36, Midnight Rambler. Psaltis, who won the 1998 Sydney Hobart, has recently re-located to Tasmania, and this was his first race with the local fleet.

Late entries have lifted the total fleet for the DSS Autumn Short-Handed Series to 38 boats, ranging from the Spacesailor 24, Kingfisher, to the Bakewell-White 39-footer, Wild West.

Related Articles

Mid-July return of Derwent yacht racing?
The Combined Clubs Committee finalises plans for a proposed joint six-race Winter Pennant Series Sunday, July 19 is looking as the possible date for the resumption of yacht racing on Hobart's River Derwent. Posted on 23 May
SB20 Australian Championship overall
Young guns take the crown The Taz Racing Team youth team of Will Sargent (19), Jacob McConaghy (18), Ed Reid (14) and Harry Gregory (12) have taken the SB20 Australian fleet by storm winning the Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship on Spring Bay in Triabunna. Posted on 9 Mar
Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship day 2
Cooper takes the reins in Triabunna Tasmanian sailor Brett Cooper (Aeolus) has taken a commanding ten-point lead in the SB20 Australian Championship, sailed from the Spring Bay Boat Club in Triabunna, with one more day of sailing to come. Posted on 9 Mar
Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship day 1
Spring Bay swell no problem for Rogers The big seas of Spring Bay are already coming under the spell of experienced SB20 sailor Nick Rogers (Karabos) in the Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Championship. Posted on 7 Mar
Spring Bay Mill SB20 Australian Champs preview
2019 champion Michael Cooper will be defending his title The Australian SB20 fleet is contesting its national championship on Spring Bay on the east coast of Tasmania this long-weekend in a first for the fleet. Posted on 5 Mar
Welcome sign, not toll booth, nor boom gate
The question of participation is the proverbial whipping boy of yachting Quite possibly, and even more so than keels of Unobtanium and constantly dynamic sail membranes filled with Helium, the question of participation in our sport is the proverbial whipping boy of yachting. Posted on 9 Feb
Harcourt Hobart King of the Derwent
NSW yacht Zen crowned the overall winner The NSW yacht Zen has been crowned overall winner of this year's Harcourt Hobart King of the Derwent. The TP52 owned and skippered by Gordon Ketelbey sailed a perfect tactical race to finish 3rd over the line and win IRC on handicap. Posted on 2 Jan
2019 Launceston to Hobart Race prize-giving
Victorian sailor Tim Olding and his crew declared the overall winner Its official, Victorian sailor Tim Olding and his crew sailing the Summit 35, Vertigo, was this afternoon declared the overall winner of the Riversdale Estate Wines L2H 2019. Posted on 31 Dec 2019
2019 Launceston to Hobart Race overall
Smith wins eighth consecutive line honours Hobart sailor Gary Smith has again taken out line honours in this year's Launceston to Hobart Yacht Race. Smith sailing his Bakewell-White yacht Fork in the Road has defended his title for his 8th consecutive line honours win. Posted on 29 Dec 2019
2019 Launceston to Hobart Race day 3
Vertigo takes the handicap lead Veritgo, from the Royal Yacht Club of Victoria, has taken the handicap lead in this year' s Riversdale Estate Wines Launceston to Hobart yacht race. Posted on 29 Dec 2019
Vaikobi 2019AUG - Footer 2Upffront 2020 Foredeck Club SW FOOTERETNZShop-SAILRACING-728X90 HR Bottom