Please select your home edition
Festival of Sails 2020 GIF - LEADERBOARD

84th Australian 12ft Skiff Championship at Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron

by Richard Billett 24 Apr 02:06 PDT 19-22 April 2019
Race 1 start - 2019 Australian 12ft Skiff Championships © Beryll Roberts

Waterloo Bay turned up the volume for the 12ft skiffs, who enjoyed epic wind conditions at the Royal Queensland Yacht Squadron for the 4-day event, despite the odd rain squall.

Eventual winners, Nick Press and Andrew Hay on Sydney Sailmakers showed consistency throughout the 6-race series to post no worse than a 2nd place across the line. Each podium skiff enjoyed a race win, with Brett Hobson and Jeremy Jones on Geotherm taking the squall-ridden Race 2 and defending champion Richard Billett and Cameron McDonald on Carbon Chandlery taking Races 1 and 5.

The invitation sprint race saw some tight racing with only 6 seconds separating the first 4 boats. Most races saw these top 4 exchanging the lead numerous times before the winner made a move to take the flag.

The small but competitive fleet reveled in the 15-20 knot winds with the trademark Waterloo Bay chop making for lots of air time and sketchy gybes for many through the downwind gate. The strong southerly wind took a few casualties with it, but most held together and race times were close.

The handicap champion, taking home the Colin Clark Memorial Trophy north to Gladstone, was Mitch Brown and Damien Van Deudekom on Chaos & Anarchy after a consistent and improving weekend.

The Underall champion was posthumously given to Paul O'Malley-Jones and Stephen Tapsall on Giddy Up, after their large first lap lead died as a result of some deep mine shaft work in Race 6.

The event prize sponsors, and Carbon Chandlery provided their wares for the winners and the regatta merchandise of towels was remarkably suitable for the rainy weather.

Next year's event will be back in Sydney and possibly around the New Year period due to the Interdominions in Wellington, NZ being scheduled for 23-29 February 2020.

Overall Results:

PosBoat NameSkipperCrewR1R2R3R4R5R6Pts
1Sydney SailmakersNick PressAndrew Hay2211217
2GeothermBrett HobsonJeremy Jones41233211
3Carbon ChandleryRichard BillettCameron McDonald14421812
4Giddy UpPaul OMalley‑JonesSteve Tapsall333DNF6318
5LCC Asia PacificJono TempleRichard JonesDNS5565526
6Tank GirlBen GuymerShaun Thompson108654DNS33
7The BirdJamie McCruddenGlenn Farquhar76898736
8The WingmanJames FlemingJono Andersen6DNFDNS49638
9Chaos & AnarchyMitch BrownDamien Van Deudekom891077940
10Southport SailsMurray PressScott Hobson979810DNS43
11GizmoJames BirdsallEwan Duckworth5107DNSDNSDNS48
12SkollBen AustinRobbie PolecDNSDNSDNSDNSDNS456

Related Articles

Lane Cove rebuilds club & spirit stronger
Lane Cove 12ft Sailing Skiff Club experienced the most devastating event in its history a year ago Just about one year ago, the Lane Cove 12ft Sailing Skiff Club experienced the most devastating event in its history, when a fire tore down its major boat storage shed and decimated a number of prized boats. Posted on 6 Sep
2019 12ft Skiff Port Jackson Championship
Sailed on an unusually empty Sydney harbour The NSW 12ft Skiff Fleet contested the Port Jackson Championship yesterday in 14-18 knots Westerly on an unusually empty Sydney harbour. The event marks the last interclub of the season and a final tune up before next month's Australian Championship Posted on 18 Mar
12ft Skiff Interdominion Championship overall
NSW's Press and Hay are undisputed champions The Geotherm crew of Brett Hobson/Jeremy Jones were the undisputed winners of the final race, but NSW sailors Nick Press/Andrew 'Noddy' Hay (Sydney Sailmakers) have decisively won the Your Move Conveyancing 12ft Skiff Interdominions. Posted on 12 Jan
12ft Skiff Interdominion Championship day 5
Queenslanders notch up first win - Press and Hay on fire Queensland's Richard Billet and Ben Cross (Carbon Chandlery) have notched up their first victory on the penultimate day of the Your Move Conveyancing 12Ft Skiff Interdominion Posted on 11 Jan
12ft Skiff Interdominion Championship day 4
Press and Hay all the way From the Sydney Flying Squadron, host of the event, you can't see what is happening on the Harbour weatherwise, so crews were choosing their rigs based on a predicted 15-18 knot southerly Posted on 9 Jan
12ft Skiff Interdominion Championship day 3
A ship, seen by some, played a big part in determining the outcome of race 5 The gun Sydney Sailmakers crew of Nick Press/Andrew Hay from Lane Cove 12ft Sailing Skiff Club won the earlier Race 4, but while leading Race 5, were in a blind spot, only spying a ship at the last minute. Posted on 8 Jan
12ft Skiff Interdominion Day 2
Geotherm leads but Sydney Sailmakers on the warpath There was no mistaking Sydney Sailmakers' Race 3 win. They won by more than three minutes, with the Brad Phillips/Harry Bethwaite crewed Terms & Conditions second and Geotherm third. Posted on 6 Jan
Aussie Skiffs 13 & 16 Footers Nationals day 6
Day six saw two Aussie Champions crowned Manly Surf n Slide 16ft Skiff Racing Team took out back to back championships after a closely fought match race with Koreman Marine. Posted on 5 Jan
12ft Skiff Interdominion Day 1
Geotherm strikes while iron is hot Day 1 of the Your Move Convenyancing 12ft Skiff Interdominion provided both thrills and spills in a stiff southerly that kicked in just before the 3pm start on Sydney Harbour today, with Brett Hobson/Jeremy Jones crewed Geotherm winning a battle of wills. Posted on 5 Jan
Aussie Skiffs 13 & 16 Footers Nationals day 5
Race six oplayed out in 10 to 12 knots of wind on Waterloo Bay At the start of the day three teams were separated by single digit points at the top of the 16's; Koreman Composites, Manly Surf n Slide and Starr Facility Services. Posted on 4 Jan
SOUTHERN-SPARS-AGLAIA-SPARS_728X90 BottomVaikobi 2019AUG - Footer 1Festival of Sails 2020 GIF - FOOTER