Please select your home edition
Vaikobi 2019AUG - Leaderboard 3

55th LBYC Congressional Cup - Day 2

by Betsy Crowfoot 4 Apr 2019 23:42 PDT 3-7 April 2019

Johnie Berntsson (SWE) and his orange-clad Berntsson Sailing Team continued to dominate Congressional Cup racing at Long Beach Yacht Club today, winning all but one race - which went to Ian Williams (GBR).

At the end of Day Two, with the first Round Robins complete and solid headway into round two, Berntsson was 11-1, with Taylor Canfield (USA) putting on the squeeze at 9-2. Ian Williams (GBR) and Scott Dickson (USA) each trailed by one point.

The Congressional Cup is recognized as the grandfather of modern world-class match racing.Founded by Long Beach Yacht Club in 1965, it set the standard for top-level match racing worldwide, pioneering the concept of on-the-water umpiring, in a spectator-friendly venue. Racing for the 55thCongressional Cup trophy, and the esteemed Crimson Blazer, continues through Sunday.

Berntsson, 46, isn't a professional fulltime sailor, like many of his rivals. Competing on the match racing circuit since 2006, just a half-dozen weeks a year, he said, "We know if we do our best, we can beat them but it's hard to be at that level all the time." In that time he's done "about 14 Congressional Cups" admitting he's lost count over the years. He qualified for last year's Congressional Cup through the Ficker Cup, going on to semi-finals, where he finished fourth. In 2017, he was runner up to Williams in the Congressional Cup. But he hasn't donned the Crimson Blazer since 2009.

Sitting at the top of the leaderboard for the second day in a row, Berntsson said, "The crew is doing a really extraordinary job, the atmosphere on board is terrific, and everything is moving in the right direction." But he rejected notions the team has peaked. "We're not doing everything completely right, but we are doing the important stuff right. So I think there is still room for improvement."

Berntsson's one loss today was to Williams, who has a history as does Canfield of ramping up throughout the event. Both ended Day One mid-fleet, but turned on the heat today, wrapping up at 9-3 for Canfield; with Williams and Scott Dickson (USA) tied at 8-4.

Dickson, a long-time member of LBYC, has competed in 20 Congressional Cups, and is the winningest skipper in Ficker Cup history. He said his team is made up of "purely locals, from the local sailing scene."

"I'm very proud of them all, operating at a new level that they're very comfortable at, against a full field of world-class sailors. We've matured as a team, and we're firing on all cylinders. It's really rewarding."

Stage One Round Robins will conclude tomorrow: "moving day" as the racers call it.

Which four teams will advance to the semi-finals? Who, of the six teams eliminated, will look for victory in the fleet race? Or victory in the Junior Congressional Cup races? Follow the action through Sunday, April 7, on-site at Long Beach Belmont Veterans Memorial Pier, where spectators can enjoy the the races and commentary, free, from 11:30AM to 5PM daily or watch the live-streaming coverage and features plus nightly press conferences on Facebook@CongressionalCupand the event website,

Related Articles

Congressional Cup 2020 postponed
Long Beach Yacht Club to announce new dates Long Beach Yacht Club has hoisted the postponement flag, announcing the 56th Congressional Cup regatta and events running up to it - including next month's California Dreamin' Series Long Beach stop and the 2020 Ficker Cup Posted on 15 Mar
55th LBYC Congressional Cup overall
Williams captures fourth Crimson blazer Ian Williams (GBR) and Team GAC Pindar have captured their fourth Congressional Cup win, over Scott Dickson (USA) in final races of the five day series, hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club. Posted on 8 Apr 2019
55th LBYC Congressional Cup day 4
Dickson bumps Berntsson in Semis, will face Williams in Sunday finals In a stunning shakeup, Scott Dickson (USA) defeated Johnie Berntsson (SWE) in the semi-final series of the 55th Congressional Cup at Long Beach Yacht Club and will advance to Sunday's finals to race Ian Williams (GBR). Posted on 7 Apr 2019
55th LBYC Congressional Cup day 3
One spot remains for Stage 2 at Long Beach YC Sweden's Johnie Berntsson continued to dominate the fleet at the 55th Congressional Cup, hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club. Racing continues through Sunday April 7 off the Belmont Memorial Veterans Pier 11:30 to 5:00 daily. Posted on 6 Apr 2019
55th LBYC Congressional Cup day 1
Swede Johnie Berntsson undefeated It's been 10 years since Johnie Berntsson (SWE) won the Congressional Cup, but if today's opener is any indicator, he could be celebrating his decennial anniversary with another Crimson Blazer. Posted on 4 Apr 2019
2019 Long Beach Congressional Cup
Watch top-notch race action free Imagine 50 yard line seats at the Superbowl. Floor seats at an NBA Championship, or behind the dugout at the World Series! Posted on 18 Mar 2019
Canfield returns to defend his title
Line-up set for 55th LBYC Congressional Cup Reigning Congressional Cup Champion Taylor Canfield, USA, has announced he will return to the course April 3 to 7, to defend his title in this sensational Grade One Match Race regatta hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club. Posted on 9 Feb 2019
Team US One Triumphs in 2018 Congressional Cup
Taylor Canfield wins Congressional Cup, American Magic take second after fiery Finals Taylor Canfield and Team US One have won the 2018 Congressional Cup after an intense five-day battle with nine other of the world's top match racing talent; and fierce finals with Dean Barker and Team American Magic, who finished second. Posted on 23 Apr 2018
Congressional Cup: Does Ficker make you quicker?
Congressional Cup: Racing continues off Belmont Pier tomorrow for the Crimson Blazer Stage One of the 54th Congressional Cup regatta wrapped up with the final two races of Round Robins, advancing Dean Barker (USA), Taylor Canfield (USA), Johnie Berntsson (SWE) and Sam Gilmour (AUS) to the semi-finals. Posted on 22 Apr 2018
Barker books berth in Con Cup Semis - three left
Dean Barker (USA) and American Magic remain on top of the leaderboard after Con Cup - Day 3 Dean Barker (USA) and American Magic remained on top, with Taylor Canfield (USA), Johnie Berntsson (SWE), Sam Gilmour (AUS) and Ian Williams (GBR) all within striking distance Posted on 21 Apr 2018
Vaikobi 2019AUG - Footer 1Official-Team-Gear-Navy 728x90 BOTTOMRS Sailing 2020 - Summer Offer - FOOTER