Please select your home edition
Vaikobi 2019AUG - Leaderboard 2

Watch top-notch race action free at Long Beach Congressional Cup

by Betsy Crowfoot 18 Mar 2019 09:12 PDT 3-7 April 2019
Congressional Cup © Bronny Daniels

Imagine 50 yard line seats at the Superbowl. Floor seats at an NBA Championship, or behind the dugout at the World Series!

Find that hard to envision? What about front-row seats at one of the world's top yacht racing events: the Congressional Cup!

The Congressional Cup is one of the leading match racing events in the sport, bringing top talent from around the globe to contend in thrilling one-on-one bouts on the water. This prestigious Grade One Match Racing regatta, hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club since 1965, returns to Long Beach April 3 to 7, 2019. Top-ranked skippers and their teams vie in double round robins aboard one-design Catalina 37s; squaring off against each rival twice, with the lucky frontrunners advancing into semi-finals and finals.

This exciting competition takes place directly off the Long Beach Belmont Veterans Memorial Pier, where spectators can enjoy the action and commentary Free of charge from 11:30AM to 5PM daily, April 3 to 7.

Compelling and insightful play-by-play will be announced by none other than pro TV personality Tucker Thompson, official Host of the 35th America's Cup. Thompson, a former champion sailor and TV host and producer, will be joined by special guests to emcee five days of Congressional Cup action, live from the heart of the race.

The event is pure excitement, as competitors race so close to the pier, spectators can practically reach out and touch the sails. Commentators explain the ins and outs of match racing, each skipper's maneuvers, and umpires' calls. There will also be music and entertainment, refreshments, bleachers, and an enthusiastic crowd of fellow boaters who convene from far and wide to enjoy the spectacle.

Enjoy this free premier racing experience at Belmont Veterans Memorial Pier, 15 39th Place in Long Beach, CA, where fans will find convenient parking and full facilities.

Can't make it to the waterfront? Friday April 5 through Sunday April 7, Long Beach Yacht Club will offer live-streaming coverage and features to viewers around the globe on Facebook and the event website. Nightly press conferences relevant to the day's racing, and always entertaining will also be live-streamed, starting Wednesday April 3, at approximately 5:30pm.

Who will win the prestigious Congressional Cup trophy and Crimson Blazer an honor bestowed on sailing greats such as Dennis Conner, Dean Barker, Ken Read, Ted Turner and defending champion Taylor Canfield? Follow on Facebook @CongressionalCup or visit

Related Articles

Congressional Cup 2020 postponed
Long Beach Yacht Club to announce new dates Long Beach Yacht Club has hoisted the postponement flag, announcing the 56th Congressional Cup regatta and events running up to it - including next month's California Dreamin' Series Long Beach stop and the 2020 Ficker Cup Posted on 15 Mar
55th LBYC Congressional Cup overall
Williams captures fourth Crimson blazer Ian Williams (GBR) and Team GAC Pindar have captured their fourth Congressional Cup win, over Scott Dickson (USA) in final races of the five day series, hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club. Posted on 8 Apr 2019
55th LBYC Congressional Cup day 4
Dickson bumps Berntsson in Semis, will face Williams in Sunday finals In a stunning shakeup, Scott Dickson (USA) defeated Johnie Berntsson (SWE) in the semi-final series of the 55th Congressional Cup at Long Beach Yacht Club and will advance to Sunday's finals to race Ian Williams (GBR). Posted on 7 Apr 2019
55th LBYC Congressional Cup day 3
One spot remains for Stage 2 at Long Beach YC Sweden's Johnie Berntsson continued to dominate the fleet at the 55th Congressional Cup, hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club. Racing continues through Sunday April 7 off the Belmont Memorial Veterans Pier 11:30 to 5:00 daily. Posted on 6 Apr 2019
55th LBYC Congressional Cup day 2
Johnie Berntsson clings onto the lead Johnie Berntsson (SWE) and his orange-clad Berntsson Sailing Team continued to dominate Congressional Cup racing at Long Beach Yacht Club today, winning all but one race - which went to Ian Williams (GBR). Posted on 5 Apr 2019
55th LBYC Congressional Cup day 1
Swede Johnie Berntsson undefeated It's been 10 years since Johnie Berntsson (SWE) won the Congressional Cup, but if today's opener is any indicator, he could be celebrating his decennial anniversary with another Crimson Blazer. Posted on 4 Apr 2019
Canfield returns to defend his title
Line-up set for 55th LBYC Congressional Cup Reigning Congressional Cup Champion Taylor Canfield, USA, has announced he will return to the course April 3 to 7, to defend his title in this sensational Grade One Match Race regatta hosted by Long Beach Yacht Club. Posted on 9 Feb 2019
Team US One Triumphs in 2018 Congressional Cup
Taylor Canfield wins Congressional Cup, American Magic take second after fiery Finals Taylor Canfield and Team US One have won the 2018 Congressional Cup after an intense five-day battle with nine other of the world's top match racing talent; and fierce finals with Dean Barker and Team American Magic, who finished second. Posted on 23 Apr 2018
Congressional Cup: Does Ficker make you quicker?
Congressional Cup: Racing continues off Belmont Pier tomorrow for the Crimson Blazer Stage One of the 54th Congressional Cup regatta wrapped up with the final two races of Round Robins, advancing Dean Barker (USA), Taylor Canfield (USA), Johnie Berntsson (SWE) and Sam Gilmour (AUS) to the semi-finals. Posted on 22 Apr 2018
Barker books berth in Con Cup Semis - three left
Dean Barker (USA) and American Magic remain on top of the leaderboard after Con Cup - Day 3 Dean Barker (USA) and American Magic remained on top, with Taylor Canfield (USA), Johnie Berntsson (SWE), Sam Gilmour (AUS) and Ian Williams (GBR) all within striking distance Posted on 21 Apr 2018
ETNZShop-SAILRACING-728X90 HR BottomZhik 2020 AnneMarieRindom FOOTERMelges 14 2019 Footer