Please select your home edition
ETNZShop-Merch-728x90 HR Top

18ft Skiff JJ Giltinan Championship - Race 8

by Frank Quealey 9 Mar 2019 00:59 PST 1-10 March 2019

The New Zealand champion ASCC team of Josh Porebski, Jack Simpson, Dave Hazard, produced a brilliant performance to win Race 8 of the Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship on Sydney Harbour.

Despite the brilliance of the ASCC victory, the defending champion Honda Marine team (David McDiarmid, Matt Steven, Brad Collins) sealed the overall championship victory with an amazing 17 points (15 points, net) from the eight races sailed to date.

ASCC won the start and quickly dominated the fleet, in the light South wind, to lead by 45s after a short beat across the harbour to the windward mark off Clark Island.

The skill of the ASCC team was on display throughout the race as each challenge was repelled before ASCC crossed the finish line 2m3s ahead of Honda Marine, with Finport Finance (Keagan York, Matt Stenta, Charlie Gundy) just 6s further back in third place.

The consistent Winning Group (John Winning Jr.) finished in fourth place, followed by the Australian champion Asko Appliances (James Dorron), and Smeg (Michael Coxon).

With only tomorrow's race still to be sailed to complete the championship, Honda Marine leads with a net 15 points, followed by Winning Group on 22, Smeg on 25, ASCC 31, Asko Appliances 32, and Finport Finance on 53 points.

ASCC maintained the lead on the long spinnaker run to the Obelisk Bay mark, ahead of Honda Marine, Asko Appliances, Finport Finance, Winning Group, C-Tech (Alex Vallings), Vintec (Kirk Mitchell), Birkenhead Point Marina (Marcus Ashley-Jones) and Brisbane 18s (Dave Hayter).

The long work back from Obelisk to Rose Bay produced a close battle in the leading group but the ASCC crew were always in control and maintained a 40s advantage over Honda Marine. Finport Finance was now in third place, however Finport was more than 2m behind the leader.

Positions at the front of the fleet didn't change over the next two legs of the course before Finport Finance made a move which saw her trail ASCC by just a couple of boat-lengths on the second run to Obelisk.

Once again the skills of the ASCC crew was evident as they held off both Finport Finance and Honda Marine and still led by 15s after the fleet reached the Rose Bay mark.

The battle between Honda Marine and Finport Finance continued over the final two legs of the course but ASCC was in a race of her own as she powered away for a great victory.

Early wind predictions for tomorrow are for 18-20 knot NE winds which should some of the most spectacular racing of the entire championship.

The Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship concludes tomorrow, Sunday, March 10.

Results after Eight Races: (One Discard)

2Winning Group (JOHN WINNING Jr / SEVE JARVIN / SAM NEWTON)3342633422
6Finport Finance (KEAGAN YORK / MATT STENTA / CHARLIE GUNDY)9851110823354
10The Oak Double Bay / 4 Pines (ARON EVERETT / COURTNEY MAHAR / HARRY HALL)137119813161273
12Noakesailing (SEAN LANGMAN / ED POWYS / NATHAN EDWARDS)1711912414132080 (JORDAN GIRDIS / TOM QUIGLEY / LACHLAN DOYLE)1014151754172282
15Maersk Line (PERON PEARSE / HARRY CLARK / ELI LIEFTING)262217822761597
16Birkenhead Point Marina (TOM ANDERSON / NICK DALY / JOHN WALTON)6122626141614997
17Rag & Famish Hotel (BRYCE EDWARDS / JACOB BROOM / RORY COX)12131920169102699
18RMarine Pittwater (SIMON NEARN / ALEX GOUGH / BRANDON BUYNIK)20514222120198107
19Marinepool (HEINRICH BAYERN / TOM MARTIN / ANDY MARTIN)161616182323517111
20Ilve (JONO WHITTY / PEDRO VOZONE / MUSTAFA INGHAM)1521261612102521120
21Black Dog (JARROD SIMPSON / CAM MCDONALD / NICK MURRAY)2218221319221216122
22Brisbane18Footer (DAVID HAYTER / ALEX WATSON / ELLIOTT MAHAR)2419201426251118131
23Lumix (KATIE LOVE / CHAD FREITAS / MATT DOYLE)2324181015192423132
24Dal Zotto (JACK SPRAGUE / TIM NARBOROUGH / JOSH FELDMAN)1823211926241819142
25Quality Marine Clothing (YVETTE HERITAGE / MARK MUIRHEAD / DANIEL McLACHLAN)1920232320211924145

The club will have two spectator ferries following the racing.

The ferries will be leaving Double Bay Public Wharf.

Those wanting to go on the ferries to view the racing should make sure they don't leave it too late to purchase their tickets.

For those who can't make it onto the water Live streaming is available on 18FootersTV.

Related Articles

18ft Skiff Australian Championship day 5
A clear victory for the defending champions on a busy Sydney Harbour The defending champion Shaw & Partners Financial Services team of James Dorron, Harry Bethwaite and Steve Thomas (replacing Tim Westwood on the day) led all the way against a strong fleet to score a clear victory. Posted today at 8:29 am
18ft Skiff Australian Championship day 4
Two spectacular wins by Tech2 on Sydney Harbour Two spectacular wins by Jack Macartney, Charlie Wyatt and Trent Barnabas on Tech2 in Races 6 and 7 of the Australian 18ft Skiff Championship on Sydney Harbour has given the team a nine points lead in the series with just two more races to be contested. Posted on 16 Feb
18ft Skiff Australian Championship day 3
Race 5 abandoned Winds in excess of 35 knots, which battered Sydney waters all day, forced the Australian 18 Footers League to abandon Race 5 of the Australian 18ft Skiff Championship, which was scheduled to be contested on Sydney Harbour today. Posted on 9 Feb
Historic 18 Footer Australian Championship overall
Nine skiffs contest the Galloping Ghost Trophy The 2020 Historic 18 Footer Australian Championship for the Galloping Ghost Trophy was conducted by the Sydney Flying Squadron in conjunction with the Australian Historical Sailing Skiff Association (AHSSA), on Sydney Harbour over 3 races Posted on 8 Feb
18ft Skiff Australian Championship day 2
Smeg team record a double victory on Sydney Harbour The Smeg team of Micah Lane, Ricky Bridge and Peter Harris recorded a double victory on Sydney Harbour today when they scored two come-from-behind wins in Races 3 and 4 of the Australian 18ft Skiff Championship. Posted on 2 Feb
18ft Skiff Australian Championship day 1
Finport Finance team totally dominate the racing The Finport Finance team of Keagan York, Matt Stenta and David Ewings totally dominated the racing in a 8-12 knots SSE wind to lead the fleet after the two-race opening day. Posted on 19 Jan
18ft Skiff NSW Championship overall
Tech2 showed that the Winning Group may have a tougher battle ahead The Winning Group team of John Winning Jr., Seve Jarvin and Sam Newton didn't start in today's final race of the NSW Championship as the team had already won the title but today's winner Tech2 showed that the Winning Group may have a tougher battle ahead. Posted on 12 Jan
18ft Skiffs: 'The Ocean Challenge'
One of the most spectacular 18ft Skiff races in the sport's more than 125-year history When the Australian 18 Footers League's 2019-2020 Season resumes racing on Sunday, January 12, it will be 35 years since the club celebrated its 50th Anniversary in January 1985 by staging a unique event. Posted on 8 Jan
18ft Skiff NSW Championship Race 4
Smeg sailed beautifully in 12-16 knot NE wind to take the win The Smeg crew of Micah Lane, Ricky Bridge and Peter Mackie sailed beautifully in the 12-16 knot NE wind to take out Race 4 of the NSW Championship, but it was the second-placed Winning Group which has wrapped up the championship Posted on 15 Dec 2019
18ft Skiff Supercup on Sydney Harbour
Eight former JJ Giltinan champions and other top 'guest' skippers race The Australian 18 Footers League conducted the second 'Supercup' on Sydney harbour this evening when they invited eight former JJ Giltinan (world) champions as well as several other top names from the world of 18ft Skiff Racing to become guest skippers. Posted on 13 Dec 2019
SOUTHERN-SPARS-AGLAIA-SPARS_728X90 BottomETNZShop-SUPPORTERRANGE-728x90 HR BottomNaiad 660x82px_Rescue