Please select your home edition
Marine Resources 2019 - Leaderboard

18ft Skiff JJ Giltinan Championship - Race 8

by Frank Quealey 9 Mar 00:59 PST 1-10 March 2019

The New Zealand champion ASCC team of Josh Porebski, Jack Simpson, Dave Hazard, produced a brilliant performance to win Race 8 of the Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship on Sydney Harbour.

Despite the brilliance of the ASCC victory, the defending champion Honda Marine team (David McDiarmid, Matt Steven, Brad Collins) sealed the overall championship victory with an amazing 17 points (15 points, net) from the eight races sailed to date.

ASCC won the start and quickly dominated the fleet, in the light South wind, to lead by 45s after a short beat across the harbour to the windward mark off Clark Island.

The skill of the ASCC team was on display throughout the race as each challenge was repelled before ASCC crossed the finish line 2m3s ahead of Honda Marine, with Finport Finance (Keagan York, Matt Stenta, Charlie Gundy) just 6s further back in third place.

The consistent Winning Group (John Winning Jr.) finished in fourth place, followed by the Australian champion Asko Appliances (James Dorron), and Smeg (Michael Coxon).

With only tomorrow's race still to be sailed to complete the championship, Honda Marine leads with a net 15 points, followed by Winning Group on 22, Smeg on 25, ASCC 31, Asko Appliances 32, and Finport Finance on 53 points.

ASCC maintained the lead on the long spinnaker run to the Obelisk Bay mark, ahead of Honda Marine, Asko Appliances, Finport Finance, Winning Group, C-Tech (Alex Vallings), Vintec (Kirk Mitchell), Birkenhead Point Marina (Marcus Ashley-Jones) and Brisbane 18s (Dave Hayter).

The long work back from Obelisk to Rose Bay produced a close battle in the leading group but the ASCC crew were always in control and maintained a 40s advantage over Honda Marine. Finport Finance was now in third place, however Finport was more than 2m behind the leader.

Positions at the front of the fleet didn't change over the next two legs of the course before Finport Finance made a move which saw her trail ASCC by just a couple of boat-lengths on the second run to Obelisk.

Once again the skills of the ASCC crew was evident as they held off both Finport Finance and Honda Marine and still led by 15s after the fleet reached the Rose Bay mark.

The battle between Honda Marine and Finport Finance continued over the final two legs of the course but ASCC was in a race of her own as she powered away for a great victory.

Early wind predictions for tomorrow are for 18-20 knot NE winds which should some of the most spectacular racing of the entire championship.

The Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship concludes tomorrow, Sunday, March 10.

Results after Eight Races: (One Discard)

2Winning Group (JOHN WINNING Jr / SEVE JARVIN / SAM NEWTON)3342633422
6Finport Finance (KEAGAN YORK / MATT STENTA / CHARLIE GUNDY)9851110823354
10The Oak Double Bay / 4 Pines (ARON EVERETT / COURTNEY MAHAR / HARRY HALL)137119813161273
12Noakesailing (SEAN LANGMAN / ED POWYS / NATHAN EDWARDS)1711912414132080 (JORDAN GIRDIS / TOM QUIGLEY / LACHLAN DOYLE)1014151754172282
15Maersk Line (PERON PEARSE / HARRY CLARK / ELI LIEFTING)262217822761597
16Birkenhead Point Marina (TOM ANDERSON / NICK DALY / JOHN WALTON)6122626141614997
17Rag & Famish Hotel (BRYCE EDWARDS / JACOB BROOM / RORY COX)12131920169102699
18RMarine Pittwater (SIMON NEARN / ALEX GOUGH / BRANDON BUYNIK)20514222120198107
19Marinepool (HEINRICH BAYERN / TOM MARTIN / ANDY MARTIN)161616182323517111
20Ilve (JONO WHITTY / PEDRO VOZONE / MUSTAFA INGHAM)1521261612102521120
21Black Dog (JARROD SIMPSON / CAM MCDONALD / NICK MURRAY)2218221319221216122
22Brisbane18Footer (DAVID HAYTER / ALEX WATSON / ELLIOTT MAHAR)2419201426251118131
23Lumix (KATIE LOVE / CHAD FREITAS / MATT DOYLE)2324181015192423132
24Dal Zotto (JACK SPRAGUE / TIM NARBOROUGH / JOSH FELDMAN)1823211926241819142
25Quality Marine Clothing (YVETTE HERITAGE / MARK MUIRHEAD / DANIEL McLACHLAN)1920232320211924145

The club will have two spectator ferries following the racing.

The ferries will be leaving Double Bay Public Wharf.

Those wanting to go on the ferries to view the racing should make sure they don't leave it too late to purchase their tickets.

For those who can't make it onto the water Live streaming is available on 18FootersTV.

Related Articles

Allspars 18ft Skiff Solent Grand Prix Series R3
Fleet into the groove for the season with some close racing The weekend saw the third round of the Allspars Solent Grand Prix Series which has kept the UK 18ft Skiffs busy and well trained for the first half of the season. Posted on 13 May
Allspars 18ft Skiff Solent Grand Prix Series R2
Weather gods both kind and cruel to the U.K. The weather gods were both kind and cruel to the U.K. 18ft skiffs last weekend for the second round of the Allspars Solent Grand Prix Series. Posted on 27 Apr
Allspars 18ft Skiff Solent Grand Prix Series R1
Two days of great racing from Calshot Last weekend, the U.K. 18ft Skiff fleet launched their 2019 season with two days of racing out of their base on the Solent. Posted on 5 Apr
Allspars sponsor 18ft Skiff Solent GP Series
UK 18ft Skiff fleet build on the success of the Calshot based 2018 events Allspars are delighted to announce that they will be sponsoring the UK 18ft Skiff Grand Prix fleet, for this year's Solent Grand Prix Series. Posted on 2 Apr
18ft Skiff Queen of the Harbour 2019
Corinne Feldman crowned in traditional Sydney skiff season closer Corinne Feldman today became the 2019 18ft Skiff Queen of Sydney Harbour when she teamed with Jack Sprague, Tim Narborough and her son, Josh Feldman on Dal Zotto to win the Australian 18 Footers League's time-honoured Queen of the Harbour race. Posted on 17 Mar
Buckland and McDiarmid reflect on JJ Giltinans
Seven times winner of the JJ's Andrew Buckland and Honda's David McDiarmid reflect on Kiwi dominance In the 2019 JJ Giltinan series NZ's Honda Marine won the JJ's with a race to spare and dominated the series with five wins from nine races, seven times winner Andrew Buckland, and winning skipper David McDiarmid looks at the reasons why. Posted on 13 Mar
Honda Marine go back to back with a race to spare
Successful JJ Giltinan defence capped off with a win in the final race The New Zealanders on Honda Marine, David McDiarmid, Matt Stevens and Brad Collins were formerly announced as back to back JJ Giltinan trophy winners in the 18ft Skiff after winning the championship with a day to spare. Posted on 12 Mar
18ft Skiff JJ Giltinan Championship race 9
Honda Marine became the Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan champions New Zealand's Honda Marine 18ft Skiff team of David McDiarmid, Matt Steven and Brad Collins became the Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan champions today, when they successfully defended the title they won last year on Sydney Harbour. Posted on 10 Mar
JJ Giltinan proving to be a regatta for the ages
In Sydney, New Zealand's defence of the JJ Giltinan Championship is progressing well In Sydney, New Zealand's defence of the JJ Giltinan Championship is progressing well with two races left in the regatta. Posted on 8 Mar
18ft Skiff JJ Giltinan Championship races 6 & 7
ASCC and Honda Marine share the honours The New Zealand 18ft Skiff teams ASCC and Honda Marine shared the honours with comfortable wins in Races 6 and 7 on Day 5 of the Winning Group 2019 JJ Giltinan Championship on Sydney Harbour today. Posted on 7 Mar
Zhik 2018 Kollition 728x90 BOTTOMMelges IC37 2019 FooterMarine Resources 2019 - Footer