Please select your home edition
Gul 2019 GAMMA Leaderboard

2019 Saint Moritz by GURNERTM Australian Yachting Championship overall

by Lisa Ratcliff 24 Jan 2019 01:45 PST 21-24 January 2019
Ichi Ban and Ambition in close company on day 3 - 2019 Saint Moritz by GURNERTM Australian Yachting Championship © Caitlin Baxter

Three champions successfully defended their divisional titles and one new 2019 Saint Moritz by GURNERTM Australian Yachting Championship winner was declared after Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron rolled out a full series over three days.

Light sea breezes 5-8 knots and flatwater closed out the final races on Port Phillip, eight in total for the IRC fleet and six for the multihulls.

Matt Allen's Sydney-based TP52 Ichi Ban top-scored across many of the seven windward/leewards plus the single passage race to record a series win by three points from Marcus Blackmore's Hooligan. This is Ichi Ban's second consecutive championship win.

"Our success was based on teamwork and everything we've learned about the boat over the last year," suggested Allen's longtime tactician Gordon Maguire. "Things go wrong but when they do there's never a witch hunt, we just get back in the game. It was a big deal to beat Hooligan, we have the greatest respect for them as competitors they are not an easy nut to crack. After consistent sea breezes for the first two days today was really flakey, nine knots at the top of the rig and five on the water; nothing was dead certain," Maguire added.

Next for Ichi Ban is the Festival of Sails at Geelong then Port Lincoln Race Week.

Geoff Boettcher's TP52 Secret Mens Business had its moment of glory in race seven, leading the others to the top mark by taking the left-hand side of the track off Brighton Beach. The South Australians went one better by winning race eight outright which put them within a point of equaling second overall.

"It was an excellent series but it was hard work, especially the long race as I had a hip operation six weeks prior," Boettcher said. "Mentally the aim was to have surgery then recover to be at the champs - I knew the boys wanted to be here. The last couple of races were excellent - four boats within cooee of each other."

Clear IRC division 2 winner, Ray Roberts' Botin 40 Team Hollywood, staged a near clean-sweep of the championship. Bruce McCraken's Ikon finally beat the red-shirts in the final race as Melbourne sweltered in 40 plus degrees on Thursday January 24, 2019, but it didn't make a dent as the single second place became Hollywood's dropped score.

"We had fantastic racing with the two Beneteau 45s and on many occasions there were only seconds between us on time," Roberts said. "Division 2 was excellent; the starts were aggressively fought, and we had to use our best tactics. We were very impressed with the race committee and how they structured the courses. Kevin [Wilson] and his team did a very professional job on the racetrack."

Next for Roberts is trying to win the title of Asian Yachting Champion racing his JV TP52, also called Team Hollywood, at two key regattas in Asia in May.

Tasmanian IRC division 3 winner Shaun Tiedemann is proud of his young Sydney 36cr crew from Hobart, whose average age is 23 excluding the skipper, was able to defend their 2018 crown. "They are all ex-Cadet sailors including my son Sam and they've come back to keelboat sailing on Philosopher, which is important for the sport. I get to sail with my son and he gets to sail with his mates."

Defending OMR champion Craig Unthank, skipper of the Farrier F22 SKnot from Hastings Yacht Club, says it's their first time finishing with a perfect scoresheet. "We had a good crew and good racing and it was a really well organised event," Unthank praised.

The sport's national body Australian Sailing thanks principal race officer Kevin Wilson and staff and volunteers from RMYS for staging a successful championship. The championship baton now goes to the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania and the dates for the 2020 Australian Yachting Championship have been confirmed for January 3-5, immediately following the 75th Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.

Many in the championship fleet have a day to recover before lining up on Saturday morning at the top of the bay for the Festival of Sails' opening Melbourne to Geelong Passage Race, the start of three days of racing out of the Royal Geelong Yacht Club over the Australia Day long weekend.

Find final results here

For more information visit and /or Facebook page.

Related Articles

2019-20 National Sailing League calendar announced
2019-2020 season roll-out The National Sailing League Oceania is delighted to announce its expansion from the single final launch in season one to at least five fleet racing events across two states making up the 2019-20 calendar. Posted on 13 Aug 2019
Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta final day
Jungle Juice won the last Division 1 race to finish second overall by one point to Chutzpah38. The high-profile crew on Ocean Respect Racing skippered by Pittwater match racing champion, Katie Spithill, did not even get off the start line after an incident which left them with damage and unable to race. Posted on 10 Jun 2019
Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta day 2
Ocean Respect Racing stuck with their winning streak strategy Skippered by past match racing champion Katie Spithill, the M.A.T. 1010 scored a two-minute win over the quickly improving Sydney 38, Chutzpah38, an experienced round the buoys Tasmanian team skippered by Jo Breen. Posted on 9 Jun 2019
Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta day 1
Third is Leo Eeckman (Vic) at the helm of Le Cascadeur, a Southern Ocean 31. Breen, best known for her offshore double-handed sailing skills in the Melbourne-Osaka, is skippering the Sydney 38, Chutzpah38, with a crew of mainly top SB20 round the buoys sailors. Posted on 8 Jun 2019
Hobart girl in Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta
She is among the youngest of nearly 200 women sailors on a record 40 teams. She is among the youngest of nearly 200 women sailors on a record 40 teams from all Australian States and New Zealand. Posted on 8 Jun 2019
Ocean Respect Racing makes it a record 40 entries
For Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta A record 40 entries will take part in the 2019 Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta (AWKR), hosted by Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron (RMYS) over this long weekend. Posted on 4 Jun 2019
Gun entries for 2019 AWKR
30 entries from Australia and New Zealand signed up to take part in 29th AWKR A hot international fleet inclusive of Olympians, short-handed offshore sailors and a foiling Moth building sailor are among the 30 entries from Australia and New Zealand so far signed up to take part in the 29th Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta (AWKR) Posted on 8 May 2019
First entries in for 29th AWKR
Entries are open for 29th Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta Entries are open for Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron's (RMYS) 29th Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta (AWKR) and Victorian competitors are throwing down the gauntlet; many will come fresh from competing in the 2018/19 Port Phillip Women's Championship Posted on 12 Mar 2019
Cavarlo wins Jennifer Goldsmith Trophy
Race 2 of the Port Phillip Women's Championship Series Amanda 'Marnie' Irving and her all-female crew on Cavarlo have won the Jennifer Goldsmith Trophy, Race 2 of the Port Phillip Women's Championship Series (PPWCS), hosted by Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron (RMYS) on Port Phillip today. Posted on 3 Feb 2019
GURNERTM Australian Yachting Championship day 2
Pretty Port Phillip shines for passage race Boats contesting the 2019 Saint Moritz by GURNERTM Australian Yachting Championship shifted gears on day two with the short and sharp mode for the opening windward/leeward races replaced by stamina and picking shifts during the Port Phillip passage race. Posted on 23 Jan 2019
Melges IC37 2019 FooterRS Sailing 2019 - FooterNaiad 660x82px_Rescue