Please select your home edition
RS Sailing 2019 - Leaderboard

2019 Saint Moritz by GURNERTM Australian Yachting Championship - Day 2

by Lisa Ratcliff 22 Jan 2019 22:56 PST 21-24 January 2019
Khaleesi with Melbourne in the background - Australian Yachting Championship 2019 © Caitlin Baxter

Boats contesting the 2019 Saint Moritz by GURNERTM Australian Yachting Championship shifted gears on day two with the short and sharp mode for the opening windward/leeward races replaced by stamina and picking shifts during the Port Phillip passage race.

Following a light air flat-water start in sou'easters the clouds burnt off and the breeze went right, building steadily throughout the day to a maximum 15-17 knots out of the south-west.

Ray Roberts' slippery Botin 40 Team Hollywood (NSW) narrowly took the corrected time win in IRC division 2 from Bruce McCraken's Beneteau 45 First Ikon (VIC), 19 seconds the difference on handicap over a 24 nautical mile distance race.

Hollywood's tactician David Chapman said "it was a typical start, cloudy and overcast then the breeze went right as forecasted and built, which favoured the boats behind us.

"It was a really good course and the day just got better and better. We've got a couple of new additions in Chris Hosking on main and Ben Durham on runners, both joining us from the TP52 circuit and adding plenty of experience and knowledge."

Team Hollywood's result keeps their perfect scorecard at the championship intact, and they are set to foil McCraken's 2018 Australian Yachting Championship defence.

Matt Allen's Ichi Ban (NSW) led the division 1 fleet of TP52s the 36.5 nautical miles from pillar to post, putting enough distance on the chasing pack to also claim a fourth corrected time win from five starts. They are still only two points clear of Marcus Blackmore's Hooligan and tomorrow's results are crucial in their championship defence.

"It was good to get a bit closer to the others," said Ambition's skipper Chris Dare, the only Melbourne TP52 in IRC division 1 and the newest to the class. "We are having a lot of fun with lots of learning, which is what the regatta is about for us."

In IRC division 3 David Aplin's Whistler, a Mbd 36 from the Derwent Sailing Squadron in Hobart, proved distance racing is their preferred genre. They finally put Shaun Tiedemann's Philosopher, a Sydney 36cr from the same club, on the backfoot in race 5 by taking the handicap win.

Tiedemann and his young crew lead the series by four points with three races remaining going into the closing day.

Craig Unthank's Farrier F22 SKnot is yet to be beaten in the OMR division, now leading the division from Geoff Floyd's Tiger by three points.

Three windward/leewards on Thursday January 24 will complete the IRC championship series for 2019, two for the multihulls. The Bureau of Meteorology's Port Phillip outlook is variable winds below 10 knots around midday tending south-east to south-west 10-15 knots in the afternoon.

The 2020 Australian Yachting Championship are set to be a stand-out, following on from the finish of the 75th Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race and hosted by the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania in early January. Regatta dates are to be announced.

Progressive championship results available here.

For more information visit and /or Facebook page.

Related Articles

2019-20 National Sailing League calendar announced
2019-2020 season roll-out The National Sailing League Oceania is delighted to announce its expansion from the single final launch in season one to at least five fleet racing events across two states making up the 2019-20 calendar. Posted on 13 Aug 2019
Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta final day
Jungle Juice won the last Division 1 race to finish second overall by one point to Chutzpah38. The high-profile crew on Ocean Respect Racing skippered by Pittwater match racing champion, Katie Spithill, did not even get off the start line after an incident which left them with damage and unable to race. Posted on 10 Jun 2019
Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta day 2
Ocean Respect Racing stuck with their winning streak strategy Skippered by past match racing champion Katie Spithill, the M.A.T. 1010 scored a two-minute win over the quickly improving Sydney 38, Chutzpah38, an experienced round the buoys Tasmanian team skippered by Jo Breen. Posted on 9 Jun 2019
Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta day 1
Third is Leo Eeckman (Vic) at the helm of Le Cascadeur, a Southern Ocean 31. Breen, best known for her offshore double-handed sailing skills in the Melbourne-Osaka, is skippering the Sydney 38, Chutzpah38, with a crew of mainly top SB20 round the buoys sailors. Posted on 8 Jun 2019
Hobart girl in Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta
She is among the youngest of nearly 200 women sailors on a record 40 teams. She is among the youngest of nearly 200 women sailors on a record 40 teams from all Australian States and New Zealand. Posted on 8 Jun 2019
Ocean Respect Racing makes it a record 40 entries
For Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta A record 40 entries will take part in the 2019 Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta (AWKR), hosted by Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron (RMYS) over this long weekend. Posted on 4 Jun 2019
Gun entries for 2019 AWKR
30 entries from Australia and New Zealand signed up to take part in 29th AWKR A hot international fleet inclusive of Olympians, short-handed offshore sailors and a foiling Moth building sailor are among the 30 entries from Australia and New Zealand so far signed up to take part in the 29th Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta (AWKR) Posted on 8 May 2019
First entries in for 29th AWKR
Entries are open for 29th Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta Entries are open for Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron's (RMYS) 29th Australian Women's Keelboat Regatta (AWKR) and Victorian competitors are throwing down the gauntlet; many will come fresh from competing in the 2018/19 Port Phillip Women's Championship Posted on 12 Mar 2019
Cavarlo wins Jennifer Goldsmith Trophy
Race 2 of the Port Phillip Women's Championship Series Amanda 'Marnie' Irving and her all-female crew on Cavarlo have won the Jennifer Goldsmith Trophy, Race 2 of the Port Phillip Women's Championship Series (PPWCS), hosted by Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron (RMYS) on Port Phillip today. Posted on 3 Feb 2019
GURNERTM Australian Yachting Championship overall
Three champions successfully defended their divisional titles Light sea breezes 5-8 knots and flatwater closed out the final races on Port Phillip, eight in total for the IRC fleet and six for the multihulls. Posted on 24 Jan 2019
Official-Collection-Navy-alt1 728x90 BOTTOMSOUTHERN-SPARS-OFFICIAL-SUPPLIER-52-SS728-X-90 BottomHenri-Lloyd 2020 FOOTER