Please select your home edition
Upffront 2020 Foredeck Club SW LEADERBOARD

Rolex Giraglia – Honour to the winners and eyes on 2019 edition

by Yacht Club Italiano 16 Jun 2018 09:37 PDT 16 June 2018
Prizegiving at the Yacht Club Italiano © Rolex / Kurt Arrigo

The quaysides of the Yacht Club Italiano packed with boats of all sizes and origins were the suggestive backdrop to the closing ceremony of the Rolex Giraglia 2018. Exactly where once Guglielmo Marconi's Elettra rode proudly at anchor, today saw the prize-giving ceremony that brought an end to 10 electrifying days.

The winner was Momo, whose crew proudly displayed on the dais the victor's battle flag while the President of the YCI, Nicolò Reggio, had kind words for the guys of the Club who had tirelessly helped anyone who needed it and had been awarded the Lanza Prize, instituted in memory of Antonio, who had been much more than just a member for the Yacht Club Italiano.

Gian Riccardo Marini, MD of Rolex Italia, officially confirmed the finish in Montecarlo for 2019, highlighting Nave Italia and her message: support for children with psychic and motor problems through teaching applied to the sea. Then it was the turn of the winners in the various classes, the Liguria Region, here represented by councillor Ilaria Cavo, and the yacht owners, who thanks to the precious support of the lightning fast BMW drivers, left Genoa promising to be back next year to give battle once again. On the sea. Because on dry land, this year more than ever, there was the confirmation that in the Rolex Giraglia the winners are always sharing and passion for the sport.

So the regatta ended this morning at the cut-off time of 11 o'clock and with the prizegiving in the village set up for the crews in front of the headquarters of the Yacht Club Italiano.

Here are the winners in the various classes of the Rolex Giraglia 2018

Rolex Challenge Trophy: MOMO – Dieter Schön
Class ORC Group B: Tekno – Piero Arduino
Class ORC Group A: Leaps and Bounds – Jean Philippe Blancpain
Class ORC Group 0: Phoenix – Tarnaky Przmyslaw
Class IRC Group B: Chestress – Giorgio Anserini
Class IRC Group A and Marco Paleari Challenge: Freccia Rossa - Vadim Yakimenco
Class IRC Group 0 and Bellon Challenge Trophy: Cannonball – Dario Ferrari
IMOCA Class: SMA – Paul Meilhat
YCI and YCF prize for Marina Militare: Deneb - Marina Militare Italiana
Highest Scoring IMA member Trophy: Momo –Dieter Schön
Nucci Novi Challenge: Skorpios – Andrey Konogorov
Sergio Guazzotti Challenge: Cannonball – Dario Ferrari
Beppe Croce Trophy: Magic Carpet Cubed – Lindsay Owen-Jones
BMW Prize: Cannonball – Dario Ferrari
Levainville Trophy: Momo - Dieter Schön

The full listings on

Zhik 2020 AnneMarieRindom FOOTERC-Tech 2020 Tubes 728x90 BOTTOMRS Sailing 2020 - Summer Offer - FOOTER