Please select your home edition
Sealegs - More Fun 728x90-2

Saga wins Royal Hobart Regatta's historic Lipton Cup

by Peter Campbell 12 Feb 05:48 PST 12 February 2018
Chris Sheehan's Young 88 won the Lipton Cup. © Peter Watson

Bellerive Yacht Club member Chris Sheehan sailed his Young 88 Saga to victory in the Royal Hobart Regatta's historic sailing trophy, the Lipton Cup.

The Cup is decided on the best corrected time under PHS scoring by yachts in all four divisions of the Combined Clubs summer pennant series.

Multiple, but unsuccessful America's Cup challenger Sir Thomas Lipton presented the cup for competition between yachts on the River Derwent in 1912. Initially it was given to the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania who late dedicated it to the Royal Hobart Yacht Club.

The support of the Combined Clubs in recent years has brought yachting back into the Royal Hobart Regatta, now 180 years old, with the fleet today sailing past the regatta grounds to round a mark just south of the Tasman Bridge.

To decide the Lipton Cup, all divisions today sailed the same course around river marks on a day when the wind fluctuated from 0 to 18 knots in strength and from WNW to SW (and in between) during the afternoon.

Saga won line and handicap honours in Group 3 with a PHS corrected time of one hour 14 minutes and 42 seconds, just 16 seconds lower than Group 4 winner Innovator (Ian Smith and Dean Aberley).

In Combined Club pennant results, Saga won Group 3 PHS from Silicon Ship (Gordon Clark and David Wyatt), third place going to Madman's Woodyard (Andrew Wise).

Saga also won the AMS category of Group 3, beating Steve Chau's Young Lion and Rumbeat (Justin Barr).

Fastest boat in the entire fleet was Toby Richardson's X&Y which also took first place in Group 1 PHS from the Farr 40 Wired (Sam Boyes) and War Games (Wayne Banks-Smith).

Under AMS scoring, Jeff Cordell's B&G Advantage, took first place in Group 1 from Philosopher (Shaun Tiedeman) and Tas Paints (Ian Stewart).

Fronting up on the race course again after competing in the Bruny Island circumnavigation race on Saturday, Philosopher won the Group 1 IRC category, as the Sydney 36cr did in the Bruny race. B&G Advantage placed second, War Games third.

The flukey winds caught out several Group 1 boats with Filepro finishing 11th in fleet, Wild West 12th and Madness 13th across the line in the 13 boat fleet.

The syndicate-owned Twitch had an outright PHS win in Group 2, taking the honours by just 50 seconds on corrected time from Illusion (David Brett), the two crossing the line 55 seconds apart. Illusion won Group 3 AMS from 42 South (Mark Ballard).

Group 4 saw another outright win for Innovator (Ian Smith and Dean Aberley), second place on PHS scoring going to Spinner (Peter Limb) and Wayatih (Allan Morgan).

Related Articles

Stormforce winds hit Hobart again
For the second time in ten days For the second time in ten days, Hobart and parts of south-eastern Tasmania have been hit by severe weather with winds in the early hours of Tuesday, reaching 113km/hour in the Tasmanian capital and 144km/hour on Mount Wellington. Posted on 23 May
Combined Clubs Summer Pennant Series final race
Don Calvert adds yet another two summer pennants to his remarkable career Hobart's senior racing yachtsman Don Calvert has added yet another two summer pennants to his remarkable career with his 33-year-old Castro 40, Intrigue. Posted on 18 Mar
International 2.4mR Australian Championship
Matt Bugg's eight consecutive 2.4mR Australian title win World ranked Tasmanian sailor Matt Bugg has shown over the weekend he has lost none of his seamanship and tactical skills in the International 2.4mR yacht, the class in which he won a silver medal at the Rio Paralympics. Posted on 12 Mar
Bruny Island Race double to Off-Piste
Paul Einoder's small yacht swept across the River Derwent finish line In the pitch darkness of the early hours of this morning, Paul Einoder's small yacht Off-Piste swept across the River Derwent finish line of the 89-nautical mile Bruny Island Yacht Race, 14th and last in fleet. Posted on 11 Feb
Classy fleet for Saturday's Bruny Island Race
Australia's oldest long distance inshore/offshore race The Bruny Island Race takes the fleet through the tricky inshore reaches and bays of the D'Entrecasteaux Channel and also the potentially rough ocean of the Tasman Sea along the seaward coastline of Bruny Island and across Storm Bay. Posted on 7 Feb
SB20 World Championship in Hobart overall
Viva le France Young French skipper Achille Nebout, sailing Le Reservoir/Mazet & Associase, today brilliantly won the 2018 World championship for the SB20 one-design sports boat class on Hobart's River Derwent. Posted on 11 Jan
SB20 World Championship in Hobart day 4
Two races sailed in moderate breezes Tasmanian sailor Michael Cooper has fought back in his bid to win the 2018 SB20 World championship, but the competition is fierce with two French and a British boat his rivals for victory on the Derwent today (Thursday). Posted on 10 Jan
SB20 World Championship in Hobart day 3
Export Roo slides down the leaderboard Export Roo, skippered by prominent local yachtsman Michael Cooper, began day three with consistent sailing, notching up a second and a seventh place in the 59 boat fleet. Then came race eight of the 12 boat series with a disastrous 32nd. Posted on 9 Jan
SB20 World Championship in Hobart day 2
Marvel moves up the leaderboard British yachtsman Richard Powell snatched victory on the final spinnaker run of race five of the SB20 Worlds today, ending a boat-for-boat duel between Tasmanians Brett Cooper and Michael Cooper. Posted on 8 Jan
2018 SB20 World Championship action-shots
Jane Austin was on the water to capture the action on day 2 Photographer Jane Austin provided this gallery of images from 2018 SB20 World Championship at River Derwent Hobart. Posted on 8 Jan
Nebo 660x82 1RS Sailing BOTTOMMarine Resources BOTTOM