Please select your home edition
Mackay Boats

Palma plays host to final Melges 40 Grand Prix

by Melges 40 on 14 Nov 2017
The prestigious waters of Palma de Mallorca, Spain will act as center stage for final Melges 40 Grand Prix showdown of 2017 Melges 40
Hosted by Real Club Nautico de Palma, the Melges 40 fleet is set, ready and fully prepared to race the final event of what has been an incredible, inaugural Grand Prix season.

The 2017 Melges 40 Grand Prix circuit has completed two events (Porto Cervo and Valencia), and thus far it has been all about Alessandro Rombelli's STIG. He has won both appointments, demonstrating that for now he has not only the fastest Melges 40 on the water, but potentially the most skilled team in the fleet. They have been the only ones to have successfully taken advantage and put to good use, the potential of the brand new Melges 40.

Every regatta has been extremely tight and hard fought - Palma will be no different. So much will depend on each team and their ability to sail well, sail clean and sail fast. This venue will put teams to the ultimate test as the breeze is expected to be perfect for the event.

Richard Goransson's INGA with Cameron Appleton as tactician is ready to step up to a lead role in the fleet as he finished in Valencia on a high-note. Goransson's team has been working hard and fine-tuning during recent weeks, so hopefully it will pay off in Palma.

The same can be said for Valentin Zavadnikov's team from Monaco - Dynamiq Synergy Sailing Team with Ed Baird as tactician. They've come to Palma with one goal - to capture their first Melges 40 win.

After his official debut in Valencia, Japan's Yukihiro Ishida at the helm of Sikon Spirit of Samurai is excited about racing his Melges 40 in Palma. And most appropriately, he welcomes highly-celebrated tactician Manuel Weiller to the team.

Racing starts at 13.00 on Wednesday, November 15 kicking off a maximum 10-race series program.

The Melges 40 Grand Prix is proudly supported by Helly Hansen, Garmin Marine and Barracuda Communication.

Entry list
1.) Valentin Zavadnikov/Ed Baird; MON-13, DYNAMIQ - SYNERGY SAILING TEAM
2.) Richard Goransson/Cameron Appleton; SWE-42, INGA
3.) Yukihiro Ishida/Manuel Weiller JPN-40, SIKON
4.) Alessandro Rombelli/Francesco Bruni; ITA-4, STIG
Marine Resources BOTTOMZhik 2018 Dongfeng 728x90 BOTTOMNebo 660x82 3