Please select your home edition
Gul 2018 SUP 728x90

Melges 24 European Sailing Series – Lino Favini Cup to declare winners

by IM24CA on 12 Oct 2017
Miles Quinton's Gill Race Team GBR694 with Geoff Carveth in helm at the 2017 World Championship in Helsinki, Finland Pierrick Contin
Expectations are growing for the great finale of the 2017 edition of the Melges 24 European Sailing Series, whose beginning is scheduled for tomorrow, Friday 13th, at noon.

Twenty-five teams from eight countries have already gathered in Luino, on the Eastern shore of Lago Maggiore, ready to start a series of up to eight races that will determine the winner of the 2017 Melges 24 European Sailing Series, 2017 Melges 24 Italian Series, Melges 24 Swiss champion and the winner of the leg itself, called Lino Favini Cup, taking place for the 14th time already.

Current leader of the overall ranking is Gill Race Team by Miles Quinton with Geoff Carveth helming, only crew that has taken part to all the events of the season. The British entry is followed in the overall ranking by the Hungarian guys aboard FGF Sailing Team, who missed only one event in the whole season, and by the twice Corinthian World Champions in 2016 and 2017, the Italians of TAKI 4 by Marco Zammarchi, with Niccolò Bertola in helm.
The top-five is completed by UPUPUP by Bo Boje Pedersen and Seven-Five-Nine, another Hungarian entry, by Akos Csolto.

TAKI 4, after the successes of the season, is tightly holding the leadership in the overall Corinthian ranking, where second place is occupied by the above named Gill Race Team, then followed by Barmaley, Ukrainian crew with Andrea Shafranyuk in helm. The already Corinthian World Champions of Lenny from Estonia are currently ranked in fourth, leaving at their back the German entry White Room.

Among the entries to keep under the spotlight, there will be the 2017 World Champions aboard Gianluca Perego's Maidollis, with the couple Fracassoli-Fonda at helm and tactics, holding currently Lino Favini Perpetual Trophy, that will be assigned to the winner of the 2017 Lino Favini Cup; and Andrea Racchelli's Altea, current holder of perpetual trophy of the Melges 24 European Sailing Series.

RS Sailing BOTTOMNebo 660x82 1Zhik 2018 Yacht 728x90 BOTTOM