Please select your home edition
Zhik 2018 Yacht 728x90

Copa del Rey - Unstable wind conditions on day six

by Icarus sailing media on 4 Aug 2013
32 Copa del Rey Mapfre Martinez Studio/ Copa del Rey Mapfre
32nd Copa del Rey Mapfre finished today in Palma de Mallorca, although with irregular sailing conditions but that allowed to sail at least one race in all classes.

There are four Spanish teams amongst the eight winners: 'Movistar', 'Rats on Fire', 'Vamos Spain' and 'Turismo do Algarve'. The rest of the winners are British 'Alegre', American 'Quantum Racing' and Italians 'B2' and 'Margherita'. Prince Felipe, who skippered 'Aifos', will hand the trophies tonight.

The 32nd Copa del Rey Mapfre finished today on the sixth day of competition in the Bay of Palma. The unstable wind conditions complicated the Race Committee’s work today, and therefore, several classes couldn’t sail a second race.

The winners of the 32nd Copa del Rey Mapfre are: British 'Alegre' in the class Hublot IRC 0, Italian 'B2' in Hublot IRC one, American 'Quantum Racing' in Gaastra IRC 52, Spaniards 'Rats on Fire' in G.H. Mumm ORC one, 'Movistar' in G.H. Mumm ORC two, and 'Vamos Spain' in Nespresso Soto 40, Italian 'Margherita' in La Caixa X-35 and Spanish 'Turismo do Algarve' in Mahou J80.

Hublot IRC zero: 'Alegre'
Andres Soriano’s team 'Alegre' won his second back to back Copa del Rey Mapfre , after conquering it last year in the Soto 40 class. This time he takes the victory in the class Hublot IRCzero, after an intense duel with Sir Peter Ogden’s, also British, 'Jethou'. The Mills 72 design 'Alegre', launched just three months ago, scored a fourth and a first today. 'Jethou' -who won the first race of the day- and George Sakellaris’ American 'Shockwave' complete the podium.

Hublot IRC one: 'B2'
Michele Galli’s 'B2' confirmed his power in the Hublot IRC one class by winning the only race sailed today. The Italian boat finished the 32nd Copa del Rey Mapfre winning seven out of ten races, leaving few options to its rivals. Second place went to Mergui Mikael’s French 'Team Vision Future', and third place to Riegel’s German 'Speedy'.

Gaastra IRC 52: 'Quantum Racing'
'Quantum Racing' scored a second and a first result today in order to be declared winner of the 32nd Copa del Rey Mapfre in the Gaastra IRC 52 class. The boat skippered by Ed Baird, won six out of the 11 races sailed, finishing the regatta seven points ahead of Niklas Zennström’s 'Rán' (SWE). Third place is Alberto Roemmers’ 'Azzurra' (ITA). Today, Tony Langley’s 'Gladiator' (GBR) broke the trio’s supremacy, winning the first race of the day.

G.H. Mumm ORC one: 'Rats on Fire'
'Rats on Fire' made it very clear he is the winner of the 32nd Copa del Rey Mapfre in the G.H. Mumm ORC one class winning the last race. Rafael Carbonell’s boat track record this week of competition includes five out of ten possible victories, and a fifth as their worst result. The two boats that complete this podium are, 'Grupo Clínico Dr. Luis Senís' (ESP) skippered by Axel Rodger and Natalia Brailou’s 'Natalia' (ROU), who today scored their worst results this week, with a 24 and a 30 respectively.

G.H. Mumm ORC two: 'Movistar'
Team 'Movistar' has achieved its fifth title in the Copa del Rey Mapfre , sixth for its owner and skipper Pedro Campos. The Galician boat had a sublime week, scoring six first places, three seconds and a third, this last one on the last race of the championship. The podium is completed with Javier Banderas’ 'X-Spain' (ESP), skippered by Iñaki Castañer, and Joan Cabrera’s 'Airlan-Aermec' (ESP), skippered by Teo Matheu who won the last race.

Nespresso Soto 40: 'Vamos Spain'
Luis Martin Cabiedes’ 'Vamos Spain', skippered by Pichu Torcida, has achieved an excellent overall victory after a very regular week, and with a fifth as their worst result. Today he had enough to secure the title with a third place in the only race sailed. Cabiedes’ team finished the 32nd Copa del Rey Mapfre with a total of 30 points, six ahead of French 'Antares', winner of the last race. The third place went to Horacio Pávez’s Chilean 'Mitsubishi Motors', skippered by Juan Reid, the only non-European team in the class.

La Caixa X-35: 'Margherita'
Roberto Mazzucato’s 'Margherita' defended its title from 2012 after a wonderful week where all his results were above third. The full Italian podium is completed with Alessandro Solerio’s 'Lelagain' and Emilio Bruschi’s 'Xsuntleones'. Today’s victories went to 'Xsuntleones' and Javier Sanz’s 'Red Eléctrica de España'. With this victory, 'Margherita' becomes the new X-35 European Champion.

Mahou J80: 'Turismo do Algarve'
The Mahou J80 Class had a main protagonist throughout the whole week: 'Turismo do Algarve' skippered by Portuguese Hugo Rocha. The 2013 world champion won ten out of the 12 races sailed, including both today. He finished 13 points ahead of Carlos Martinez’s second-placed 'Deltastone', winner in 2012. Third place went to José María Van der Ploeg’s 'Factor Energía', who chose not to compete in the last race of the day.

Prince Felipe will present the prize giving ceremony of the 32nd Copa del Rey Mapfre , which will be held tonight at 21h00 in the cultural center of Ses Voltes in Palma.

The 33rd Copa del Rey Mapfre will take place in August second to ninth, 2014.

Group R.1 R.2 R.3 R.4 R.5 R.6 R.7 R.8 R.9 R.10 R.11 R.12 Overall


IRC 52




Fever-Tree 660x82Southern Spars - 100Nebo 660x82 2