Please select your home edition
North Sails 3Di 60 - 728x90

2014 NZL Laser National Championship- Andy Maloney has comfortable win

by Sail-World on 19 Jan 2014
2013 Laser Nationals Winner, Andy Maloney sailing in the 44 Trofeo Princesa Sofia Mapfre Medal Race

NZL Sailing Team member Andy Maloney has won the 2014 Laser Nationals which have concluded at Nelson Yacht Club

The last two days were sailed in the typical Nelson seabreeze - making up for the first two days of the regatta when just one race was able to be sailed.

Second overall in the standard rig was Nicholas Heiner (NED) with Thomas Saunders (NZL) in third. Maloney had a relatively comfortable win, taking the lead after the third, and penultimate day.

In the Laser Radial fleet, 2012 Olympic Representative, Sara Winther, turned in an excellent performance to win, in an Open fleet. Trent Rippey was second with Sefton Cole in third.

Chris Decke (Onerahi YC) won the Masters Standard fleet. With Scott Leith (Murrays Bay SC) dominating the Masters Radial fleet.

French Bay sailor, Lachy Grimwade had a narrow three point win in the Laser 4.7 fleet.

Summary of the days' racing at the 2014 Laser Nationals sailed at Nelson.

Day 1 - light and tricky - only one race
Day 2 - no racing due to strong winds
Day 3 - Nelson as advertised - strengthening sea breeze - 4 races for open divisions and 3 for masters
Final Day 4 - Another Nelson beauty - strengthening sea breeze - four races for open divisions and three for masters

Insun - AC ProgramZhik 2018 Hyeres 728x90 BOTTOMMarine Resources BOTTOM