Please select your home edition
Fever-Tree 728x90

2014 CORK Olympic Classes Regatta - Day 3

by Marianne Davis on 19 Aug 2014
CORK Olympic Classes Regatta 2014 CORK
2014 CORK Olympic Classes Regatta - Day three of CORK OCR started off with an unstable easterly breeze in the Kingston harbour. After some waiting the wind switched to the South West and first races started just before 2pm.

This is the final day of racing for the Viper, F18, I14, Kona, RS:X and BIC 293 fleets. Michael Easton and Tripp Burd (NENSA) walk away with first place in the F18 Canadian Championship, Sandra Tartaglino and Alex Shafer (NENSA) and Anthony Boueilh and Maxime Loiselle (BDB) follow in second and third. The Vipers finish their event (Canadian and Great Lakes Championship) with nine races. Steve Conger (CSYC) takes first place, only one point ahead of Steve Champman (BYC) in second. Darren Gilbert (FYC) takes third.

The boards were held ashore before heading to the racecourse as the wind filled in. Title of North American Kona Champion goes to Nevin Sayre (Vineyard Haven YC) with eight bullets in nine races. Second place goes to Andree Gauthier (TWC), followed by Rick Collins (BYC) in third. Jack Feder wins the Silver fleet and Anthony Swaelens (CVDM) raced as the only BIC 293 on the roster.

Competitors in the I14 Canadian Championship finish their event with 11 races on the scorecard. Ian Struthers and Dan Cunningham (RCYC) finished first overall, winning seven of their 11 races. Jason Lemieux and Lauren Laventure (RCYC) and Greg Loffree and Ryan Gareth (RCYC) finished in second and third respectively. In the RS:X 8.5 fleet Laurence Bonneau-Charland (Multivoile) finishes first, followed by Fannie De Alcala (CVDM) who takes title of Canadian Youth Champion and Top Female and Caroline Emmanu De Alcala (CVDM). In the RS:X 9.5 fleet Gabriel Verner Paquette (CVDM) takes the top spot and Canadian Youth Champion title. Jean Sebastien Fugere (Multivoile) and Moahmed Elsafty finish second and third.

With two days of racing to go CST members lead on the single-handed course. In the Brenda Bowskill (RCYC) leads Radial fleet. In the Finn fleet CST sailor Martin Robitaille (RCYC/CVL) is in the lead. Cy Thompson (ISV) is leading the Lasers.

In skiff action CST members David Mori and Justin Barnes (RCYC) continue to Lead the 49er fleet, while teammates Arielle Morgan and Heather Myatt (RSTLYC) move into first in the FX fleet. Both fleets have two days of racing remaining.
Nebo 660x82 3Selden 660x82Fever-Tree 660x82