Please select your home edition
Allen 2018 UK A4866XB 728x90

QLD Match Racing Championships - Interstate teams to challenge locals

by Tracey Johnstone on 13 Aug 2013
MYC Youth Program Elliott 6s lined up and ready for the QLD Match Racing Championship Gary McCarthy
This year’s Queensland Match Racing Championships have attracted entries from Victoria and New South Wales to compliment the entries from within Queensland.

The Youth, Open and Women’s championships are being hosted by Mooloolaba Yacht Club. Racing will be in Elliott 6s at Mooloolaba on the river right in front of The Wharf Mooloolaba, on Saturday seventh and Sunday 8th September.

Victoria’s Sandringham Yacht Club is fielding a Youth team led by 18-year-old Jack Felsenthal who was awarded 2013 Victorian Youth Sailor of the Year and is a member of the Victorian Institute of Sport’s sailing program.

From New South Wales, 17-year-old Clare Costanzo will lead the Royal Prince Alfred’s Youth and Women’s Team. Costanzo recently competed in the NSW Match Racing Championship finishing in sixth place.

Cruising Yacht Club of Australia will be represented by two Open teams skippered by Evan Walker and Murray Jones. CYCA Match Racing coach Walker won the Australian Match Racing Championship in 2010 and the Hardy Cup in 2008 and 2010. Jones most recently won the 2013 NSW Youth Match Racing Championship.

Queensland’s Southport Yacht Club has fielded two Youth teams. Jack Sherring will lead the boys team while Sophie Lahey the girls team. Sherring has previously won the World Junior Moth Championship and competed in national-level Match Racing. Lahey won the Marinassess Women’s Match Racing Regatta in 2012.

Noosa Yacht and Rowing Club is fielding an Open team led by Klade Hauschildt. The Laser, Etchells and SB20 class sailor won the 2011 QLD Match Racing Championship and placed second in the Open division at last year event. He also placed sixth at the 2012 Australian Match Racing Championship.

Maroochy Sailing Club’s Open team is being led by the club’s vice commodore, Tim Edwards. Edwards and his mature team come to the event with limited experience, but with plenty of enthusiasm for the discipline and the event.

Host club, Mooloolaba Yacht Club, is fielding a youth team led by current Under-21 Laser Standard Wold Champion, Mitch Kennedy. Kennedy and his team of Optimist class sailors, Max Quirk, James Hodgson, Lachlan Young and reserve, Andrew Meligonis, have started training in earnest to prepare for the home event.

A team representing New Zealand is expected to enter later this week, pushing the total team numbers up to 10.

The PRO is International Race Officer Louise Davis while the Chief Umpire is John Middleton from Victoria. Middleton will be presenting a special Match Racing information session to all competitors on the Friday evening before the event commences.

Details of the event are on Mooloolaba website
North Technology - Southern SparsMarine Resources BOTTOMFever-Tree 660x82