Please select your home edition

Eric Twiname Youth and Junior Team Racing Championship winners decided

by Lindsey Bell on 24 Oct 2012
MCS1 (Under 19 Youth Winners) - 2012 RYA Eric Twiname Youth and Junior Team Racing Championships Nigel Vick
The opening day at the 2012 RYA Eric Twiname Youth and Junior Team Racing Championships this weekend, 20th-21st October, made for an action packed conclusion to the regatta, with Not the Spinnaker Team and Magdelen College School claiming the Junior and Youth crowns respectively.

Oxford Sailing Club, Farmoor Reservoir, was hit by light winds on Saturday, which meant no racing was possible for the 24 Junior (under 16) teams and 23 Youth (under 19) teams competing for Championship honours, leading to an intense racing schedule on Sunday when conditions had improved.

In the Junior competition, contested in RS Fevas, Not the Spinnaker Team (Spinnaker SC, Ringwood) and Team from South, comprising sailors from the Royal Lymington Yacht Club, made it through to the final with an unblemished record of eight wins from eight races, while HISC Black (Hayling Island) and Cardiff Bay YC, with seven race wins apiece, were left to fight it out in the third place play-off.

The south coast HISC sailors claimed bronze 2-1 over their Welsh rivals, while in the final, Not the Spinnaker Team took control to overcome Team from South 2-0 and claim the 2012 RYA Eric Twiname Junior Team Racing Championship title.

In the Youth event, sailed in Fireflies, MCS (Magdelen College School, Oxford) assured themselves of at least a silver medal when both of their competing teams set up a head to head in the first semi-final. It was MCS 1 who progressed with a 2-0 victory over their teammates, while Sevenoaks A and Ladico Race Team battled it out for the remaining spot in the final, with Ladico pulling through with a 2-1 win.

MCS 1 ensured some silverware remained in the event’s host city, claiming a 2-0 win in the final and the Youth Championships title over Ladico Race Team, while Sevenoaks A claimed the final podium spot with a 2-0 victory over MCS 2 in the third place play-off.

Tim Hall, RYA Competitions Manager and Event Director, commented: 'Although we had a slow start to the regatta due to the weather, the event proved as popular as ever and has a well-justified and popular position in the Junior and Youth Racing calendar.

'Congratulations go to Not the Spinnaker Team and MCS 1, for their Championship-winning efforts, and huge thanks must go to Oxford Sailing Club who hosted us fantastically in their new Sport England-funded club house.

'Our numerous volunteers and umpires did a wonderful job over the weekend, and were determined not to let the conditions on Saturday get the better of us, while the Wilson Trophy team from West Kirby provided some superb commentary for us which really added to the event.

'We’re very grateful for the continued support of the Eric Twiname Trust in the staging of this event, which provides a fantastic opportunity for young sailors to hone their racing skills and close boat on boat tactics.'


1st – Not the Spinnaker Team
Robbie King and Daniel Burns
Jo Burns and Adele Young
Milo Gill-Taylor and William Bedford

2nd – Team from South
Jenny Cropley and Issy Welch
Max Moyles and James Eales
Alex King and Pippa Cropley

3rd – HISC Black
Anna Prescot and Jess Eales
Lauren Miles and David Brand
Jess Hammet and Hattie Lucas-Clement


1st – MCS 1
Guy Dixon and Joe Gough
Josh Adams and Nic Upton
Sam Jenkins and Owen Hallet

2nd – Ladico Race Team
Owen Bowerman and Alice Masterman
Morgan Peach and Harry Bowerman
Matt Venables and Will Alloway

3rd – Sevenoaks A
Imogen Smith and Amy Swinglehirst
Massimo Mazzotini and Nic Yau
Ben Moverly-Smith and Flora Donald

Full results are available here RYA website

Marine Resources BOTTOMZhik 2018 Yacht 728x90 BOTTOMFever-Tree 660x82