Please select your home edition
Edition
sMRT AIS Man Overboard Beacons AUS / NZ

Interpretation and Diagrams on 'Canting Keel'

by America's Cup Measurement Committee on 17 May 2007
Alinghi’s keel strut and bulb at the Unveiling. It is not known which team has lodged the latest Request for Interpretation ACM2007/Steffano Gattini

In the first week of May the America's Cup Measurement Committee released their latest decision relating to the use of a canting keel in the 2007 America's Cup.

For the first time drawings were released which show what was intended by the canting keel.

The concept is that the keel strut is retained inside a keel box and is allowed to cant to leeward just prior to tacking. When the boat is tacked the keel is initially offset and provides original righting moment before returning to the centre position.

the advantage of such a mechanism would be that it would provide additional righting moment just after the boat tacked, giving more power and acceleration, but increasing leeway slightly.

The Interpretation and four diagrams that form part of the Interpretation follow:

 ACC Version 5.0 Public Interpretation No 38    

May 8, 2007                                                                             

In response to the following:

Please issue a Public Interpretation in response to the following questions to clarify the restrictions under ACC Rule (Version 5.0) on altering the support of a fixed appendage to vary the heeled righting moment while racing:

                        1.         With reference to the answer in the second paragraph of PI 32, does the term

                        ‘components’ include reference t
a) hydraulic cylinders,
b) locking systems, or
c) structural response damping systems
any of them, with moving parts or variable geometries?

2.                   2.         With reference to answer 4 of PI 22, would a fixed appendage supporting structure that deforms gradually over time, either due t a) creep, b) passive locking system, or c) the presence of a damping system, contravene the requirements for a fixed appendage within Rule 17 or any other Rule?

3.                   3.         With reference to answer 9 of PI 22, would the requirements for a fixed appendage of Rule 17 also be contravened by the constraint of a fixed appendage in a deflected position arising from the hydrodynamic and gravitational forces as described in answer 4 of the same PI 22? (i.e., Is it permissible to constrain a fixed appendage, by a mechanism which would maintain the deflection either to one side or the other, while deflected to leeward before tacking resulting in some deflection to windward, or less deflection to leeward, on the new tack?) (See as examples Figures 1 & 2).

4.                   4.         Would the answer to the previous questions be similar if the fixed appendage, or its supporting structure, was not fully constrained but instead restrained thus producing a similar but time dependent behavior when changing tacks (ie, the fixed appendage would gradually return to have similar deflection to leeward on both tacks over some finite period of time)? (See as an example Figure 3).

5.                   5.         Would the control or adjustment of the constraint or restraint of a fixed appendage while racing contravene rule 17? (See as an example Figure 4).

INTERPRETATION:

1.         Yes. However, any component as described with moving parts or variable geometry shall be fixed, and if deemed necessary by the Measurement Committee, disabled to prevent movement, alteration or adjustment whilst racing.

1.                   2.         Yes, an appendage that is supported by structure that alters the deflection of the appendage due to gradual deformation either due to creep, a passive locking system or a damping system would be considered to be a moveable appendage. If the axis of rotation of the appendage is not at an angle to the MWL plane exceeding 45 degrees then it will not comply with Rule 17.10 (b).

2.                   3.         Possibly. The definition of “fixed” as used in Rule 17 would be contravened if a fixed appendage was constrained by a mechanism which would maintain the deflection to leeward before tacking resulting in some deflection to windward, or less deflection to leeward, on the new tack.

3.                   4.         Yes. See answer 3 above.

4.                   5.         Yes. See answer 3 above.

The supplied attached sketches form part of this interpretation

END

This interpretation is made by the Measurement Committee in accordance with Rule 3.3 of Version 5.0 of the America’s Cup Class Rule.

Ken McAlpine ACC Technical Director




North Sails Loft 57 PodcastSea Sure 2025Allen Dynamic 40 Footer

Related Articles

Galicia 52 Super Series Royal Cup Day 3
Platoon Aviation turn up the heat but don't dent American Magic Quantum Racing's lead After a disappointing first regatta of the season when they finished in an uncharacteristic last position in Saint-Tropez, the fortunes of the German flagged 2023 52 SUPER SERIES overall champions Platoon Aviation seem to have turned for the better.
Posted today at 8:15 pm
Diverse international fleet for 5th AEGEAN 600
The race start is a little over 1 month away In a sign that this newest of the world's 600-mile classic offshore races has reached maturity, organizers from the Hellenic Offshore Racing Club are pleased to announce yet another large international fleet will be assembled for the 2025 AEGEAN 600.
Posted today at 6:03 pm
America's Cup: Another sponsor signs for Italians
Luna Rossa has announced that Unipol has renewed its trust in the team Luna Rossa has announced that Unipol has renewed its trust in the team and will accompany it as an official sponsor for the duration of the 38th America's Cup.
Posted today at 2:50 pm
SailGP: Media Conference concludes in New York
The media conference ahead of the Mubadala New York Sail Grand Prix has concluded, without any speci The media conference ahead of the Mubadala New York Sail Grand Prix has concluded, without any special points being revealed, save for Brazil lending a crew member to Germany.
Posted today at 1:37 pm
A decade of pushing the boundaries at A+T
Celebrating 10 years of the world's best yacht instruments 2025 marks a decade of pushing the boundaries of quality and customer service in the global yachting industry for A+T Instruments.
Posted today at 11:00 am
Hugh Jackman and Ryan Reynolds Take the Helm
As Co-Owners of the 'BONDS Flying Roos' Australia's SailGP Team Today Australia's three-time SailGP champions have unveiled a new identity as well as two new co-owners - Hugh Jackman and Ryan Reynolds - who join Driver and CEO Tom Slingsby in leading the freshly rebranded BONDS Flying Roos SailGP Team.
Posted today at 10:56 am
Should SailGP ditch the wings?
As SailGP resumes in New York this weekend, we ask the question As SailGP resumes in New York this weekend, we ask the question of whether the F50's solid wingsails should be ditched and replaced instead with twin-skin mainsails, in a similar way to what is used on the AC75 and AC40 of the America's Cup.
Posted today at 10:48 am
CYCA and RFBYC announce partnership
To host Australia's premier match racing events The Cruising Yacht Club of Australia and Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club are pleased to announce a joint partnership between the two Clubs to host Australia's premier match racing events in January each year.
Posted today at 9:55 am
Port Phillip Double-Handed Perpetual Cup
66 sailors on 33 boats take part in one of sailing's more demanding formats Melbourne was at her autumnal best on Sunday the 18th of May delivering ideal conditions for the 2025 Ocean Racing Club of Victoria's (ORCV) Double-Handed Yacht Race around Port Phillip.
Posted today at 8:45 am
2025 Santa Maria Cup in Annapolis, USA Day 1
Racing in Women's World Match Racing Tour Event 2 underway Perfect conditions graced the opening day of the 2025 Santa Maria Cup in Annapolis, USA, Stage 2 of the 2025 Women's World Match Racing Tour following the tour season opener in San Francisco last week.
Posted today at 5:40 am