Zenza NZ Women’s National Keelboat Championship start Saturday 3 April

Sarah Toothill (BBYC) was one of two women skippers in the 20 strong 2008 Club Marine NZ Keelboat Nationals sailed in the Platu 25’s at Royal Akarana YC

Royal Akarana Yacht Club is running the Zenza NZ Women’s National Keelboat Championships 2009 from 3 – 5 April 2009. This event will be the third high profile event to be held in the new Platu 25 Keelboat Class here in Auckland, NZ.

It is also one of the top Women’s Keelboat Yachting events in New Zealand, and this year’s event has attracted many top female sailors including:

Jan Dawson (reigning champion and NZ Women’s Match Racing Champion 2008)

Jessica Smyth (Ranked 25th on the ISAF Women’s Match Racing Rankings)

And three teams from Melbourne, Australia - all representing Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron, they are skippered by Margaret Ludowyk, Joanne Morley and Janet Dean. The Zenza series is being used as training for the Australian Women’s Keelboat Championships.

The race schedule is as follows:

Friday 3rd April – Practice Day

Friday 3rd April at 7.00pm – Skippers briefing

Saturday 4th – Sunday 5th April – Racing, boats available to take you out on the water Racing from 9.30am until approx 5:30 every day

Sunday 5th April – Prize giving – after 1800 (depending on Finish time of racing)