Yngling Australian Championship next the World titles in Sydney

Australian Yngling Championship 2011
The 2011 Yngling Australian Championship, held on Sydney Harbour this past weekend by the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, was decided by a single point.

YAUS57, crewed by Michael Nash, Mel Nathan and Greg Harnett, won the championship from defending National champions Hamish Jarrett, Federico Lauro and Alana Bracken, sailing Miss Pibb.

In a remarkably close series between the sixteen boats that contested the six race series, the defending champion needed to win the last race to retain the title. Miss Pibb finished second.

YAUS57 finished the regatta with a 2-1-1-2-2-6 score for a net eight points, while Miss Pibb scored 1-2-3-1-3-2 for nine points. Although Michael Nash has sailed in the Yngling class on and off for the past ten years, this is his first championship win.

Overall third place went to Street Hassle, helmed by Michael Nash’s brother Adrian with Sean Edminson and Max Van Het Hooft as crew, finishing on thirteen points. Former National champion David Chapman finished fourth overall while the other heat winner was Shining Star (Chris Harper) which took out the final race.

Sailing conditions were ideal over the weekend. On Saturday, the nor’easter ranged from 15—23 knots with an incoming tide. On Sunday, the NE breeze continued at 7-17 knots.

The competition and the sailing conditions were a great preview of expected conditions for the World Championship which the Squadron will host in early January.

About 45 boats are expected to compete, representing Australia, Austria, Canada, Denmark, Germany, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Sweden and Switzerland.

The Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron is conducting two World championships in 2012 as part of the celebrations for its 150th anniversary, firstly for the International Ynglings in early January and then the International Etchells in late February.

Current Australian champion Michael Nash racing on Sydney Harbour.