Wet and windy for Flying Dutchmen Worlds

Olaf Ballerstein - Zobst Wellensiek, Germany - Flying Dutchmen Worlds day one.
Alan Henderson
The 2014 Flying Dutchman World Championships started at Largs, Scotland on Monday 14th July. Competitors withstood a tough introduction, in a war of attrition with the conditions. Southerly winds of up to 22 knots in gusts and heavy rain gave a stirring start, with many boats capsizing and suffering gear breakages.

82 Capsizes and breakages affected many competitors today - FLYING DUTCHMAN WORLDS DAY 1
Alan Henderson

Only half of the fleet of 42 boats were still standing and able to answer the call for the second of the two races sailed today. The first race was held over a long initial leg of two miles, but after visibility closed in, the second race was over a reduced course size of just one mile, but sailed over three rounds of the shorter course, rather than two large rounds.

But the change in course size made no difference to former World Champions Szabolcs Majthenyi and Andras Domokos, of Hungary, who opened the week with two emphatic race wins to establish an early lead in the Championship. They won both races by over two minutes to show their class in these fresh wind conditions.

Also scoring very well were current World Champions Enno Kramer and Ard Geelkerken from the Netherlands. They opened with a third place, then improved with a second place in the second race.

To complete a formidable trio of current or former World Champions at the top of a very competitive event, former World Champions the brothers Jorgen and Jacob Bojsen-Moller, from Denmark, lie in third overall.

73 The fleet heads to windward - FLYING DUTCHMAN WORLDS DAY 1
Alan Henderson

The depleted fleet in the second race meant opportunities for those who remained, and for instance Germany’s Jan Lechler and Jens Salow took an eleventh place in the second race after opening with a 19th place.

'Championships are meant to be challenging; this was true Championship sailing', said Austria’s Philipp Zingerle.
Racing among this international gathering from eleven countries worldwide will continue tomorrow with another two races.

Results, Race one
1. Szabolcs Majthenyi - Andras Domokos, HUN
2. Kilian Konig - Johannes Brack, GER
3. Enno Kramer - Ard Geelkerken, NED

Race two
1. Majthenyi - Domokos
2. Kramer - Geelkerken
3. Jorgen and Jacob Bojsen-Moller, DEN

FD World Championships 2014 Largs sailing Club Results as of 16:24 on July 14, 2014 Overall Sailed: 2, Discards: 0, To count: 2, Entries: 42, Scoring system: Appendix A
1stHUN70FD26Szabolcs MajthenyiAndras Domokos1.
2ndNED26FD38Enno KramerArd Geelkerken3.
3rdDEN21FD01Jorgen Bojsen-MollerJacob Bojsen-Moller5.
4thGER113FD19Kilian KonigJohannes Brack2.
5thHUN13FD25Andras SuliDavid Papp6.
6thGER88FD16Kay-uwe LudtkeKai Schafers8.
7thGER28FD12Olaf BallersteinZobst Wellensiek7.
8thAUT38FD01Chrisophe AichholzerPhilipp Zingerle9.
9thGER98FD17Schmuel MarkhoffMichael Matscheroth11.
10thCZE21FD42Jiri Hruby
11thITA7FD28Alberto BarenghiGabor Koles12.
12thITA94FD30Pierfrancesco EustachiPaolo Rossi14.
13thGER100FD18Jan LechlerJens Salow19.
14thNED18FD36Frank NooijenSjors Riemslag13.
15thGER12FD11Ernst GretenDetlef Kruger15.
16thGBR389FD10Glyn SheffieldChris Rutter17.
17thGBR387FD08Jon WilliamsAlex Rogers24.
18thGBR380FD06Julian BridgesJack Wild23.
19thGER133FD21Elisa KoenigAlexander Schmidt25.
20thGER1777FD23Hartmut WesemullerHolger Wesemuller21.
21stITA4FD28Nicola VespasianiFrancesco Vespasiani4.043.0 DNC47.047.0
22ndHUN11FD24Gabor Gaborjani SzaboBela Argay43.0 DNC9.052.052.0
23rdAUS7FD01Edward CoxPeter Bevis16.043.0 DNC59.059.0
24thGER66FD14Kurt PrenzlerWolfgang Hoft18.043.0 DNC61.061.0
25thNED341FD40Ronald StalmanDurk Zandstra20.043.0 DNC63.063.0
26thGER123FD20Martin KrumhaarUwe Stemmler22.043.0 DNC65.065.0
27thUSA3FD41Paul HemkerRichard Phillips26.043.0 DNC69.069.0
28thITA20FD28Giacomo Samuelli FerettiTommaso Samuelli Feretti43.0 DNC43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thNED16FD35Robert DeLangePieter Zandstra43.0 DNC43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thNED20FD37Carlo BrugmanWim Brugman43.0 DNC43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thNED29FD39Durk SchroorWiecher Leidekker43.0 DNF43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thGER172FD22Marc StrittmatterJohn Maguire43.0 DNC43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thMEX125FD31Rodolfo Valdes GarciaSatiago Ayala Cortina43.0 DNF43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thMEX126FD32Javier ValdesPablo Valdes43.0 DNF43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thNED5FD33Fred SchaafKlaas van der Spek43.0 DNC43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thNED10FD34Lotje MeijerLouis de Ruiter43.0 DNC43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thGER40FD13Bernd SchreiberCarsten Jacob43.0 DNC43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thGER87FD15Hans-Peter SchwarzRoland Kirst43.0 DNC43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thGBR310FD04Chris NicolDawn Macrae43.0 DNF43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thGBR373FD05Rosie PyeNeil Pye43.0 DNC43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thGBR382FD07Peter DoranPhilip Kyewski43.0 DNF43.0 DNC86.086.0
28thGBR388FD09Tony LyallColin Burns43.0 DNC43.0 DNC86.086.0